Ratings based on 756 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Nice hotel but price of parking felt like a ripoff

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Cons: Conspicuous notice of parking fees so the consumer gets an accurate picture of what he/she will be paying.
I was very discouraged upon check in to find out I had to pay $27 for parking. I was in town for one night and this seemed very excessive. There was no conspicuous notice about this when I book the room through Expedia. I picked the hotel based on price and location. There were better deals in similar locations. The hotel staff was nice enough to reduce my parking fee to $15 upon hearing my complaint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great Area to Stay In

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Accessible, well kept, beautiful grounds.
Cons: Not really anything.
Location: Great plaza area shopping and restaurants.
The hotel is very easy to access from Orange County airport. It is within a comfortable walking distance to a large shopping area with wonderful restaurants. The room was spotless and I enjoyed the suite feeling of it. I will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Rooms Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Katie, we are so happy our convenient location met your travel needs and that you had such a great experience staying with us. The best compliment we can receive is a return visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Regards, Joel Landrus Rooms Operations Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Convenient to area. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Musty odor in room; had to buy air freshener.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to leave feedback. We were happy to hear that you were pleased with the location of our property and that are staff were friendly and helpful. Our staff truly cares about providing each guest with excellent service, so we are so glad to read comments such as yours. We do apologize for any unpleasant odor in your room, and our housekeeping director has been notified of your concerns. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you will choose us again the next time you are in our area. Joel Landrus Rooms Operations Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A few missed details

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Checked in a found parking was very pricey, no free wifi and the hot tub was broken. All would have been deal breakers for me. That said a good location and nice rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Rhanda Richardson, General Manager & Proud Partner, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit this review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room as well as our great location. We're sorry to hear about your experience with our hot tub and we appreciate your feedback regarding parking. We do offer complimentary wifi to Marriott Rewards members, and the program is free to join. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future for a flawless visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nickle and dime disappointment

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Water pressure, update the rooms, better thermostat on the climate control, better TV, lower in suite internet rates,
Location: Near by there are a couple malls, starbucks, and a few restaurants. Not all within walking distance though.
When we checked in, I asked for a quite room. We were given a room right across from the elevator lobby, overlooking a busy intersection. For someone who is a light sleeper this was less than ideal. The shower had very little water pressure and using it was a kin to bathing in a bird bath. The A/C worked too well, but the thermostat did not work well enough so you would get frozen, then cook, freeze then cook. The fridge in my room was turned off, which was just another annoyance to add to the list, if the hotel turns the fridge off between guests they should turn it on before you check in or leave some kind of a note. Lastly for a pricey hotel, they attempted to nickle and dime you at every turn, wifi has a daily fee, wired internet has a daily fee, parking has a huge daily fee. Staying here is not worth while, go somewhere else because the fees will negate any savings and cost you more in the long run.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Rhanda Richardson, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your honest review with us. We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy a five-star stay with us. Thank you for filling us in. We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a seamless stay in every way. Rhanda Richardson, General Manager & Proud Partner with Travel Costa Mesa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great hotel & professional staff

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Good food quality, very helpful and respectful staff.
Cons: At beginning of my stay I did not have my credit card so I had to put down cash and they did not have the cash @ checkout and I had to get a check.
Location: Great swimming pool outside, fast internet, close to the shopping center and easily accessible by bus.
The hotel experience was great overall. Staff were very professional and helpful. I was amazed by the initial encounter to get our rooms. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Rhanda Richardson, General Manager & Proud Partner, Hotel Management
Thank you for this excellent 5-star review, Mohammad! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your recommendation. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel. Awesome suites

Posted May 29, 2017
Love this Hotels. Suites are beautiful!!! $27 for parking is way too much but besides that it is excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Rhanda Richardson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We're thrilled that you love staying with us. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Rhanda Richardson, General Manager & Proud Partner with Travel Costa Mesa
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Dated fixtures, they try to nickel and dime you

Posted May 29, 2017
Reception tried to charge an extra $20 to upgrade from one king bed to two beds and told me this was "normal". I ended up with one full and one twin. Huh? Self parking is $27 per night!!! Wi-Fi is a extra charge so I used my cell phone hotspot the whole time. Room fixtures were a bit dated, but acceptable. Maid service doesn't seem to know the difference between items which are clearly trash and not. Hmm. Fiji water in the room is $3 so if you want to make coffee in the morning it will cost you more than Starbucks. On the flip side, all rooms seem to have balconies to allow for fresh air which is a huge plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Rhanda Richardson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Cathleen. I'm sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. I truly appreciate all of your honest input and hope to have the chance to exceed your expectations in the future. Rhanda Richardson, General Manager & Proud Partner with Travel Costa Mesa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Close to Segerstrom Theatre and shopping

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Proximity to shopping.
Great staff and good fitness center and pool. Near a huge mall and a ton of restaurants. Try to get a lake view!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Rhanda Richardson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Thomas! We're thrilled that you loved our location, staff and fitness center. Should your travels ever bring you back to the area, we hope you'll return to the Costa Mesa Marriott! Rhanda Richardson, General Manager & Proud Partner with Travel Costa Mesa
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted May 9, 2017
I had a lovely time staying at the Costa Mesa marriot! My only concern was with check in and check out. Although I did arrive 30 minutes prior to check in, the person at the front desk was a little sassy to me. I was staying for 14 nights so I expected to be greeted with kindness. Check out was fine, however, they didn't explain to me about the wifi and how I would be charged extra bc I chose the faster internet. (I'm a rewards member) they did take off the charge though, so I appreciate that. I would stay here again in a heart beat!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Rhanda Richardson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! While we're glad you had a great time, we're sorry to hear about your check-in experience and we appreciate you filling us in. We hope to welcome you back for a five-star stay soon. Rhanda Richardson, General Manager & Proud Partner with Travel Costa Mesa