Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey uk

great place to stay for a short break

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The position and the standard
Cons: Breakfast waiters to be more aware of second orders for coffee.....appreciate they need to clear tables for the nex guests.
Excellent hotel, informative reception staff, lovely rooms overlooking swimming pool. Lovely views in restaurant overlying harbour, breakfast was good with excellent range, only thing that let down breakfast was waiters who were attentive to take your first coffee order but very slow to get refills....only criticism. You definitely need a car if you want to see some of the fantastic beaches and sights, although the hotel does run a shuttle bus to two beaches nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by The Management , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for staying at Grand Hotel Poltu Quatu and that you spent some time to leave your kind review. We' re very excited to learn that you enjoyed with us and that you appreciated the structure of our Resort, our service and attentive staff. Concerning your feedback about our Restaurant, surely, we have taken note of your suggestions, really important to us in order to improve. Thank you again for choosing us during your vacation, we hope to welcome you again next summer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stoke on trent

Lovely hotel breakfast staff really good and nice

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Don't bother with lunch expensive and takes 45 minutes to prepare a simple salad and some of the staff a bit surly Overal impression really lovely hotel and location is fantastic but it does not provide a 5 star service that its classification claims Stayed in better 3 star hotels for service
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful hotel but expensive

Posted Sep 18, 2016
We had a great experience on the beautiful Sardinia!!!:)
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by The Management , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We first of all thank you for having chosen to spend your holidays in our hotel. We would like to thank you for the feedback that is really appreciated. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time in Sardinia, staying in the Grand Hotel Poltu Quatu. We do hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel, Warm regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 5 start hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
The breakfast was absolutely amazing . The room was smelly and bad was not comfortable. The furniture was outdated. This is more a 4 start hotel than a 5 star hotel, but the breakfast was the best we had in the whole trip.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Excellent stay. The hotel is located at a beautiful small marina but provides free shuttle service to 3 different beaches (5 mins to 15 mins) with private areas and complementary chairs and umbrellas
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Basel, Switzerland

Great hotel at the bottom of a fjord

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Location, room, breakfast, service.
Cons: Access to beaches and information about them is not very precise. More tour options organised by the concierge people would be convenient.
Location: See above. Not much to do except to rest. With a car (we didn´t have it) the options increase exponentially.
We had a great time in this very pleasant hotel hidden at the end of a natural fjord in Costa Smeralda. It´s pricey, but it´s also worth it. Hotel rooms are huge, pool is nice (though the employees at the bar can be a bit inattentive sometimes), the "town" is nice and charming, and the breakfasts are nothing short of spectacular. The location is nice but hard to go around without a car: this is not located in an urban setting, so there are no cafes, or shopping or many restaurants. The restaurants you can access without a car are those that belong to the hotel complex, but they are good nonetheless. Beaches are not great though, but you can find acceptable options.
4 out of 5
by Mrbus460

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
No pool view in my room no sauna Iam not sure real suite as I book Crazy price in bar and restaurant
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful resort but little to do for kids

Posted Aug 11, 2016
We spent 2 weeks here in a beautiful double bedroom appartment with view of the marina. Unfortunately there were no kids activities for a sporty 10 year old - except for the pool and a kids club for a much younger audience. The hotel has a great football pitch but it was locked up and cost 80 Euros/ hour to rent. No activities were offered. The hotel provides buses to 3 beaches - only the furthest away direct at the Costa Smeralda is beautiful and we spent mist of our time there. The smaller ones were full of algae when we visited and had no toilet facilities. A diving club nea the resort offers great excursions to Tahiti/ Maddalena but kids have to be very confident swimmers to jump off the boat and swim to the beaches. We had our own rental car, otherwise it can feel claustrophobic just in the resort. Overall a beautiful and relaxing holiday in a very well kep resort but not the best place for active teenagers or older kids.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Typical Sardinia

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Room size (superior room), breakfast, gym, architecture around complex, shuttle bus to beaches
Cons: Better accessibility for prams (and wheelchairs), updated resort maps and signs
Location: Poltu Quatu has a few decent dinner (and fewer) lunch options. A taxi to Porto Cervo (3km away) is extremely expensive (€25). Shuttle to nice beaches.
Hotel and overall development is tastefully done. It is purpose built like everything else in the Costa Smeralda, but generally looks quite charming. I would warn parents with prams or anyone with a wheelchair that there are a lot of steps in the common areas and marina. The hotel was comfortable and our superior room was large and had two balconies. The décor was fine without being inspirational. As seems to often be the case in Sardinia, the extra charges are very high. While hotel breakfast was great, the price of bottled water or light lunch around pool was high. A simple (though delicious) pasta for my 2-year old was €19. I expect a large resort like this one to offer some kind of basic kids' option for a more reasonable price. However, my biggest issue (by far) was the inaccurate signage around the resort complex. Several restaurants that I had seen on the website at time of booking were still sign posted. However, they had either closed or changed names. In the latter case they were replaced by a much more expensive option (Bahia > Bluebec). Furthermore, the newspaper shop seemed to have disappeared as well. Yet all of the 'helpful' signage around the resort suggested they were still there. Only after two days did I realize that these were completely inaccurate. When I mentioned this to hotel management they basically shrugged their shoulders. How difficult would it have been for the resort to update these ahead of the season!?!?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Неплохая пятерка

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
Воду ставили в номер не каждый день, неудачно установлен в номере кондиционер, дует прямо на кровать. В остальном неплохая пятерка, хорошие завтраки, внимательный персонал, хороший ресторан.