Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from devon

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Amazing location. Fantastic staff.great views.not a luxury hotel.who cares.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
What a fantastic hotel. We only stayed her for one night and so wished it was much longer. We arrived at about 2pm and didn't leave the hotel until we checked out the following day. Such a beautiful relaxing hotel. The bedroom was very clean with a very big bed. We had a patio area that backed on to one of the 7swimming pools with a path that led down to a private beach. Just amazing I will definitely be going back for longer
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2016
requires updating , poor food. would not reccomend this hotel
1 out of 5
by Jon from St Albans

Great Location, Overpriced, Needs Refurbishing

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic setting but that is the only positive. I paid €340 per night for 3 nights in advance. No hot water between 6pm and 8pm every evening, probably because of demand on an out of date system at that peak time, but not acceptable for this price - complained about this on two evenings, but absolutely nothing was done and no response was given. No sun-beds available at all for three days- when I pay this price I don't think its unreasonable to expect a to be guaranteed a sun-bed. People but towels down on a number of beds each in different places and often do not actually using them most of the time. On the second day I got up at 7am and there were no beds available as people had simply left towels in the same place overnight. There are no checks to see if the people using the sun-beds are actually staying at the hotel - many clearly weren't. Complained about this to both the beach boy and reception - again absolutely nothing was done about it. On check out I complained about this and said I had paid a high rate in good faith but had not received what I should have for the high price I had paid. I was told they could not offer any compensation but would get the Director Mr Rugi to contact me (he wasnt available) - and yes you guessed it I never heard from him
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Peaceful, convenient setting

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: First, the lovely setting. The hotel is kid friendly but not overrun- in fact a better place for older children. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Replace the beds. And get rid of sunbed hogging. They already only give one free beach towel per person, so they have no fear of making silly rules.
Location: Lots of pizzerias, restaurants and shops nearby and the boat departure for the Maddalena Islands. Easy access to markets, other towns, etc with a car
Located in a small but beautiful garden setting, Grand Hotel Smereldo is removed enough to feel private but close enough to restaurants and shops only a five minute walk away. The layout of pools on small, staggered levels allows everyone to find quiet space with a view and some privacy. The small but private beach is great for a dip in the gorgeous, clear and calm sea. The hotel highlights were efficient, friendly and helpful staff and a very accommodating chef who catered for four picky vegetarians by adding dishes to the menu each night or just adapted what was there so that we could eat well and amply. The hotel just needs to replace the back-punishing beds; even if you can adapt to them during the stay, the adjustment at home has been painful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the beach

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Good hotel with access to the beach. Stunning view from the room. Just enough sunbeds for everyone. However the breakfast is disappointing and the beds are very uncomfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Beautiful setting and superb service. We were particularly grateful for the shower and dressing room that allowed us to stay after check out on our last day.Thanks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: See above comments
Cons: More taxis nearby
Location: See comments above
In a central position close to restaurants bars and shops. Also lots of trips available nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient location, nice staff.

Posted Jun 24, 2016
comfortable stay.nice staff, on the beach and near amenities.
1 out of 5
by CLARE from Weymouth

Faded

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great position by the sea and with its own private beach. Also very pleasant gardens. However the public and private rooms are all rather old fashioned and faded. The food is poor especially breakfast with watered down fruit juice and vile coffee. There is no bar service around the pool areas. They say they are a four star hotel, I cannot agree with that rating.