Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely pool and bar area

Posted Aug 2, 2015
A great place as a base, you need a car to get out and about. Ideal transfer distance from airport. Hotel is very clean, staff very helpful and friendly. Wifi not great in the hotel but ok in the pool bar. Entertainment lovely but a little more variety over 7 days would be good. Food very good, we preferred to eat out in the local towns so just b&b, which was excellent. Bar drinks and snacked reasonably priced with a good variety. Would go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2010 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Well worth a visit

Posted Jul 28, 2010
Great hotel. Incredibly relaxing and yucked away in the hillside. If you like exploring, you will need a car. If you like relaxing, the pool side bar is tremendous (lots of fun cocktails and very reasonable.) The food was great too, and it's a (fairly brisk) 20 minute walk up the road to San Pantaleo where there a few more nice restaurants and a particualrly pleasant bar by the piazza. There were quite a few people there with young kids. They seemed well occupied during the middle of the day (leaving the poolside quiet and relaxing) and there was plenty for them to do the rest of the time to ensure it didn;t turn into a hotel full of screaming children. All in all, a very chilled out, re-charging holiday in a wonderful setting.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LONDON

Nice for a few days

Posted Jul 10, 2009 on Hotels
Stayed for 3 nights in a room on 4th floor with sea view balcony. Room was nice, bathroom small but not a problem. Nice pool and grounds - the hotel was quiet so that helped. Breakfast buffet was as expected. Main disappointment was evening meal. Buffet starters were fine, although as noted by someone else did not seem to get topped up. Main courses uninspiring and bland and deserts not good except the icecream.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany

Overall Hotel Review

Posted Jul 3, 2008 on Hotels
"A 4-star hotel, with a 3-star attitude". Just some food for thought...you must have a rental car, otherwise you'll be stranded - not within safe walking distance of anywhere. Also, I hope the beach shuttle service doesn't forget about you - unpleasant experience. Last negative thing: checkout is at 11AM sharp, no exceptions, even if you do ask 2 days prior. Besides that, hotel is in a secluded area, with an awesome view of the surroundings. Nice pool, average drink prices, expensive dinners (unless on special plan), clean rooms, quiet area, & good kitchen staff. Would recommend for couples & not for those seeking nightlife or a town/city atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Manchester

The Tea and Coffee Making Facilities left a lot to be desired!

Posted May 8, 2008
A very good hotel in a beautiful setting. Minutes from the village San Panteleo which has some good restaurants for all wallet sizes. The trattoria on the main road is highly recommended for a tasty 'wood fired oven' pizza. Only problem with the hotel was the lack of a kettle in the room, which 'as a brit' you expect to be in every hotel, but does that say more about the brits than the hotel? Overall, a great holiday destination, especially early in the season whilst it's still quiet but sunny and warm. Car is essential to enjoy the best of the area!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from LONDON

Hotel Rocce Sarde - Get away from it all

Posted Sep 29, 2006
Located high in the hills overlooking and the Bay of Cugnano and very close to the picturesque village of San Pantaleo, this hotel is a relaxing retreat that offers visitors stunning views of the surroundings. The hotel facilities were very good (such as the beach shuttle) although we found that some of the amenities indicated on the website were absent (e.g., DVD players in rooms) or seasonal (e.g., water aerobics). While this did not detract from a perfectly relaxing break at a hotel that formed a perfect base for the exploration of Costa Smeralda, Palau and further afield, it is noteworthy. Food served at the hotel was very good and flexible enough to accommodate vegetarians or those with other special dietary requirements despite it ostensibly offering only a set menu each day. The staff were very accommodating although their command of English was not universally very high. The staff seemed more fluent in German (possibly due to the high numbers of German visitors there). Hotel Rocce Sarde is very close to some wonderful beaches with Baia Sardinia, Porto Rotondo, and Cala di Volpe all nearby. Also nearby are many signs of the prehistoric Nuraghic culture. We found an exploration of La Maddalena Archipelago an absolutely essential part of any trip to the island. This area also offered Scuba diving and snorkelling. Good hill walking is also plentiful. Recommended.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not Great

Posted Sep 10, 2006
If you're expecting a good four star hotel you will be disappointed. We found the staff to be unhelpful and occasionnally rude. The pool area looked a lot better in the photos and the restaurant was stuck in the 1980s. We stayed in a "suite" which was large but badly designed so that you couldn't see the view (which was fantastic) without going out onto the terrace. The best things about the hotel were the location and the price. If these are your main criteria for a hotel, the Rocce Sarde would be an ideal hotel for you but if you're looking for some luxury, look elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cranleigh

Rocce Sarde - A Relaxing Hotel in the Hills

Posted Aug 15, 2006
Beautiful location in the hills above Portisco and close to the picturesque village of San Pantaleo. Stunning views. Hotel facilities, pool, gardens all excellent. Food especially good and varied every day. In fact we ate in more often as the week progressed due to the high quality. Staff very helpful. Calm atmosphere. Very close to some wonderful beaches. Good hill walking. Highly recommended. Also very safe for children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Caterham

Lovely honeymoon in this fantastic hotel!

Posted Jul 13, 2006
This hotel has got to be one of the nicest hotels I think you will find in northern Sardinia I think. When we arrived we had been upgraded to a sea view room and had a bottle of champagne and some biscuits for is on arrival. The staff spoke good english and were very helpful. The pool and bar was a lovely place to relax and chill out and the food in the main hotel was of a very high standard. One night we had a set menu that was very nice and another was a buffet with so much fresh food and hundreds of puddings you really didn't know what to choose. There is plenty of car parking but I would stress you must hire a car because you really are up a mountain with not alot within walking distance. The nicest beach we found was in Golfo Aranchi which was fine sand and crystal blue sea, about 20 mins drive from the hotel. Anyone going for a relaxing break or like us a honeymoon I 100% recommend this hotel and island.