Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Claire from Piha New Zealand

Perfect to get away from the crowds

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
We had a great time. The pool is great and the staff lovely. You need a car as some great beachs are only 20 to 40 mins away. Also great places to eat near by. Totally recommend it .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Luogosanto

Posted Sep 1, 2011 on Hotels
The San Trano and Luogosanto is about a 20 minute drive to the nearest beaches - so not ideal if you don't wat to drive or like your sea view! But the views of the local countryside from the San Trano are stunning. But we love the town with its 2-3 bars and coffee shops and a couple of eateries and the hotel is ideally situated in the town and very clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast is more than adequate. One small issue with the hotel is that it does get used for touring coach parties, so it can become a bit over-run in the evening when the coaches arrive - the upside is that it's then empty during the day!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sussex england

lovely hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2009
Lovely hotel in small village,great views.Staff very friendly and helpfull.Very quiet when we stayed with only a couple of coach parties of older people staying.Really need a car otherwise quite isolated with only 2 pizza restaurants within walking distance a supermarket and a bar in the village.Very rural and not for those wanting night life, although a lovely place to come back to at the end of a day out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire, UK

Ideal Base for exploring the North of Sardinia

Posted Sep 15, 2009
Hotel San Trano served as an ideal base to travel around the Northern part of Sardinia. The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming, the rooms very clean and tidy. Despite our room looking out only at the swimming pool the views from the terrace were breathtaking and were a perfect excuse to prolong breakfast. From the hotel the nearest beaches were accessible within 20 minutes drive by car with the Costa Smeralda well within 40 minutes drive; other places well worth a visit including Tempio Pausania and Monti Limbara, were also close by.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good value

Posted Jul 11, 2009 on Hotels
Don't stay here if you don't have a car. Best to get that out of the way. Hotel San Trano is possibly the best value hotel in Sardinia. It's just a bit out of the way, but if you got wheels then it's not a problem. Complimentary breakfast is ok. Dinner is excellent, three course meal for between 10 and 20 euros. 4 euros for a half litre of house wine. Good-sized rooms, clean and bright. Satelite TV with bbc, sky and fox news, plus numerous sport and music channels. Decent enough pool. Friendly service. No complaints at all. Despite the remote location, Luogosanto is a good base to explore Sardinia. Costa Smeralda, Palau, Santa Gallura are within 30-40km. Sassari/Alghero is about a two hour drive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

a hermitage with luxury

Posted Jul 6, 2009
The hotel was beautiful, the garden was beautiful, the pool was beautiful, the view was beautiful and the staff were lovely, gentle polite people. I will be going back the first chance I get and have already recommended it to all my friends. Thank you again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peterborough

Impressed with hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2009
Staff were friendly, hotel was very clean and comfortable. Large bedroom, nicely furnished. 3 course menu in hotel restaurant - great food and good size portions, so value for money. Nice pool, but need to remember swimming hats, which is common in Italy. Hire car is a must - hotel is a great base for exploring interior and coast. We would definately go back and recommend to others.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel in Luogo Santo

Posted Sep 4, 2008
We stayed there for a week. It was very pleasant stay! Staff were very helpful and some spoke good English. Room was clean and spacious. One down side was the location: had to drive miles to the beaches! But you can hire mountain bikes at the hotel and enjoy rolling hills of northern Sardinia.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Crawley

Home From Home

Posted Aug 21, 2008
I had read a little about this hotel, seen a few pictures and that the food was good - more about the food later. It was reasonably priced too, but a little distant from the main town/s around 30mins by car. I thought I would give it a go though. And what a very very pleasant surprise it was. The hotel feels like a home from home; it is family owned and run and you are made to feel part of an extended family, by the owner and staff there. The room was very comfortable and kept very clean, I slept like a baby in the provided bed and had a delightful balcony and view of the surrounding mountains. Now the food - the breakfast was a simple continental style buffet - cereal, croissants, etc. But the treat came at evening dinner - wow!!! Fresh ingredients, fresh fish, it all looked great and tasted even better, I cleaned my plate each and every night and it was really something to look forward too - 12/10 hmmmm. If you want the feel of a home from home, with 5* Food, fresh mountain air then San Trano set high in the mountain village of Luogosanto is definitely the one for you. If visiting Sardinia then I would go back again and again. Just with car rental next time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

We were spoilt!

Posted Aug 18, 2008 on Hotels
This hotel is at the top of a mountain in a most beautiful, quaint village. The view from our balcony at the front of the hotel gave a view of the village and surrounding mountains; it was stunning. The service was friendly, helpful and informative; we were given details of surrounding spots of local interest. The food was the best we had in Sardinia and reasonably priced. A perfect venue which we hope to return to one day soon.