Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Live music

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Stop live music
Live music two nights which made it impossible to sleep in our room room number 204 nice room but right above the bar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Lovely Hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Was in Palau for a long weekend, and was ideal for a nice relaxing short break. Small beach only a few minutes away, just past the harbour. Madellena Island only 20 minutes away by ferry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Lovely hotel, great location for all ages & needs

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Very clean, furnished classic Sardinian style. Staff very helpful and friendly. Cool, quiet room. Continental breakfast good. Bar, relaxing. Great!
Cons: This was a great holiday - no improvements necessary! We long to go back again. We want to give special thanks to Anya, Alessandro, Elenor, Pierra (?)
Location: The nearby beaches are pleasant, but quieter, picturesque beaches only a short drive away and are beautiful. Do try a boat trip - 35 - 400 euros pp!
We booked Hotel Vecchia Fonte after reading guests ratings, and then had serious worries that we had got it wrong this time. We worried that Palau was a small town but not a quaint old Sardinian town, by a car park, busy port with ferry boats, but all of our worries were unfounded. Palau is easy to get to from Olbia airport, the hotel very easy to find. The town is a fairly basic small town, but there is some interesting typical Sardinian architecture. Palau is a happy place - there are restaurants, cafes, pizzerias to suit all tastes and budgets - the standard of food excellent. Try a different place most nights, but then find the one that you like best and go back there - the staff will remember you and welcome you as friends. On our second night there was dancing in the square by the hotel and the local people, young and old, all joined in with obviously traditional Sardinian style 'Strictly' dancing. Even the children stayed out with their families until very late. The market is every night, next to the hotel, great for browsing after a delicious meal finished off with a yummy ice cream.The Sardinian people are lovey, warm and welcoming and can't do enough to help you. Most speak a little or a lot of English, but if not,don't worry, hand gestures work just as well!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This is THE place to stay.

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Had a wonderful experience. Clean. Friendly staff. Good food. Centrally located. Very highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

centrally located

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Blue and cream, traditional Sardinian patterned designed rooms were stunning, large comfortable, and kept immaculately clean. Sound proofed windows..
Cons: The reception staff were polite and professional. They need to mentor a younger member of staff in the bar who does nt have the same skills.
Location: The location is perfectly centrally located with convenient car park outside. Good choice of excellent restaurants close by. Must visit nearby island
Paulau is a small fishing port with day and night ferry crossing terminal to the nearby Maddelena Island. An attractive resort, the newly built town has small streets with shops, cafes, piazza's and restaurants. There was a busy market on Friday mornings, outside the hotel. All the facilities were in walking distance from the hotel including the port. The restaurants offered very good food, eg. fish dishes, pasta and pizza, not too pricey. We were nt disappointed with any of the restaurants. Although it was quiet and the end of season, we liked this town and were pleased with the choice we had made to stay here. There are even one of two beaches within walking distance. However, we needed a car to see the local region and beaches. Paulau was a good base to explore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

La Vecchia Fonte

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff who made sure we had a most enjoyable holiday in Sardinia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Cons: poor wifi and average breakfast
Great experience - only issues was poor wifi in the room and the breakfast was average
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly hotel, great location

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Very helpful. Traditionally Sardinian rather than possessing the bland decor of a chain hotel.
This hotel is set amongst the restaurants and bars in Palau, close to the Marina, giving it a lively and convenient feel. A nightly market made sure that the atmosphere was good. Throughout the stay the hotel staff were happy to make suggestions on where to go, where to eat etc, and to help with making reservations. Before booking, I had read reviews warning of noisy bars nearby and how they caused disturbance through the night. This was not my experience - yes there were bars around the hotel, but they did not continue into the early hours and so did not disturb sleep. I would suggest that, if customers want peace and quiet during their stay in Palau, there are many places to stay in the middle of the countryside away from civilisation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Great location for exploring the area. hotel is by the port and in the heart of the town. Attentive, helpful and polite staff. very clean rooms and a nice buffet breakfast. Highly recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Nice quaint hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Had wonderful experience at the hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast every morning was delicious with many choices for breakfast. The beds a little hard for my liking but the room was prefect for me.