Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely time but hotel is getting tired

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Overall we had a lovely stay but the hotel is getting a bit tired in places. The food was amazing and the staff were very friendly and some areas of the hotel are really stunning eg the white sunset terrace with outstanding views (although watch out for the cactus needles!). Some areas are very tired however eg the tennis court, and the grass around the pool area makes it feel a bit dilapidated. It definitely needs a bit of a refresh and they should concentrate on the areas they are good at and not try to do too much as they are spreading themselves too thinly st the moment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel hidden in gorgeous countryside

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: The hotel, bars, restaurant, food and most importantly there service were all excellent and cannot be faulted.
Cons: We had a lot of 'migies' in the bathroom when we left the window open (day or night). Something to stop this happening would be welcome.
Location: From the hotel I was able to go on long walks (hikes), canoeing and I visited breath taking beaches and ate pizza in pretty little towns.
We stayed for seven nights at the beginning of April. We wanted somewhere which would serve as a base from which to explore the east side of the island. We wanted the hotel to be a quite retreat to enjoy in the morning and evenings. It was just what we wanted. The hotel is beautiful and set in gorgeous countryside. No corner has been neglected. There is no end of interesting things to explore and discover. Of particular interest is the bars and restaurant which I highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Su Gologone Hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2015
The hotel was amazing ! We stayed for 10 days as a family of 3 and I could not fault anything. The setting was spectacular, the food was fantastic and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. This hotel is different to a standard Hilton or Marriott and that was what we hoped for and particularly liked when we were there. The pool was great - no need to fight to get a sunbed ! The bars were excellent and the restaurant choices and quality were exceptional. I read reviews before I booked the hotel and they were overwhelmingly positive but with the odd negative review. For those people that were negative all I can think is that these people do not like something unique or they prefer the blandness of a typical 4 star standard hotel. The hotel is probably more appropriate for adults and/or older children and if you struggle with steps this may not be the best hotel for you as there are lots. In conclusion we had an amazing stay and I would strongly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice enough, but not as advertised

Posted Jun 15, 2015
This is a small country hotel on a island full of sunshine. Rooms were spotless and our junior suite, suited as well as it was light and airy with super views and very private. This is not the same for other rooms which seem to be tucked away under trees etc, so no view at all. Our balcony was very small, space for two chairs and nothing else - great view over the valley though. Do not expect the facilities advertised to be available. This hotel promises a lot and doesn't deliver. During our stay there were no painting classes, drawing classes, wine cellar not open, bread nest not open. Very disappointing. Inside the hotel is spotless. Outside more care is needed. Jacuzzi water is murky, cold and full of tree debris - not aromatic and scented as described. Pillows for the pool loungers are a nice touch, unfortunately they are very very grubby. Pool area while nice is generally in need of lot's of TLC. Staff are friendly and helpful, when asked for something. But it is one of those hotels were you have to ask all the time. Especially at breakfast, where a lovely spread is let down by consistently empty platters, running out of eggs, bread etc etc. So it's a bit of hard work being a guest! So if you are prepared to go with the flow, enjoy the quiet countryside then you'll probably enjoy it here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara

Not Just an Oasis in the Mountains

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: room, food, location
Cons: internet
If you're driving in central Sardinia, there's not a lot of choice in the high end hotel market and Su Golgone is a real gem. Room was beautiful but a bit of a trek to as the rooms are layered down the hillside. Handicapped visitors might want to think about this, but then again we found that most of Sardinia was not really wheelchair friendly. Room had a beautiful bed and huge bathroom with lots of local touches. Internet seems to be in lobby only which they might want to upgrade. There's not much choice in restaurants in the area, so it's good the restaurant was excellent, if a little busy. The specialty is suckling pig, roasted on a spit the fireplace there - don't miss that. The antipasti at Euro 15 seemed a bit high. Apparently it was a buffet - which in my blindness I couldn't find. When I did find it after the meal - holy cow - what a spread! You could certainly make a meal of it and skip everything else. The breakfast buffet was in the same location and just as extensive. We only stayed one night and wished we had done longer. There's a lot of day trips and excursions to be done in the mountains there and we barely scratched the surface.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Isolated boutique hotel in Sardinia

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The decoration of the hotel, the views and the dining facilities
Cons: Access for people with reduced mobility
Location: The sea is nearby but this requires a car.
I managed to incur a sprained ankle in the hotel grounds because of a missing tile. I ended up with a cast and crutches. The hotel is not suitable at all for people with reduced mobility because of its endless stairs and steps and uneven tiling, and the absence of any lift.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy & Karen from Bridgnorth UK

fantastic hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Wonderful hotel. View from the ristorante is so beautiful. Staff are extremely helpful. Rooms and environment are outstanding in all ways. We travel a lot with work and stay in lots of hotel and have yet to find somewhere better!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stephen from London, UK

Stunning Hotel

Posted May 7, 2013
A beautiful hotel set in the mountains with stunning views. The hotel was friendly, very clean and the food was very good. Surperb roof top bars and terraces hidden in a cactus garden. We went in early May and we had all use of the facilties (gym etc) to ourselves. You do need a car to stay here as there is nothing else around. Highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jon from East Sussex U.K.

Great hotel for relaxation and local exploration

Posted Aug 17, 2012
Pros: Location, restaurant, pool, character
Cons: Its a bit expensive
Location: A short drive from the west coast, mid Sardiinia. Great location, quiet and scenic.
This is a very good hotel - its situated in the midst of mountains and countryside so ideally you will need a hire car to stay here. Our room (deluxe) was spacious and comfortable, cleaned and tidied every day. We found the staff very helpful e.g. they were happy to lend us towels on days out to the beach. The open air restaurant is delightful, overlooking open countryside and mountains. We were not disappointed by the food, excellent buffet breakfast and generous evening meals. Its not cheap to eat here but it is fulfilling. There's a large swimming pool as well, well maintaned and generally not too crowded bearing in mind we were there in early August. Would recommend going to Cala Gologne, take a boat along the amzing coastline, swim in the clear (bright) blue water. Also visit the Goruppo gorge and remains of bronze age villages whithin easy reach of the hotel though prepare yourself for some interesting drives.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cagliari

Aspettative alte deluse.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Le aspettative erano più alte rispetto a come si è presentato nella realtà. L'hotel dal punto di vista strutturale è molto bello, immerso nel verde, possiede diverse zone diversificate dove ci si può rilassare, dotate di vari cuscini e divani che godono di una vista mozzaffiato. Personalmente ho alloggiato in una junior suite, la camera era abbastanza grande con due bagni dotati di ogni confort, una vasca esterna, divanetti, tavolino ed amaca. Fino a qui nulla da dire. La pecca sta nella poca cura degli ambienti, ragnatele in ogni angolo della stanza e piscina parecchio sporca e quindi per nulla agibile, nonostante le bellissime giornate avrebbero permesso di fare un bel bagno. Purtroppo l'hotel ha prezzi troppo alti rispetto ai servizi che offre; basterebbe avere un po più di attenzione ai dettagli e potrebbe raggiungere l' eccellenza.