Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

good hotel in town

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Dinner.
Cons: Breakfast. English speaking staff at night
good location from the main cathedral and downtown. The staff at lobby is not perfectly nice and it might be my stay is just a day... Good restaurant and the dinner is served very well but breakfast buffet is not really good with fewer items at 10 euro compared to other hotels in other cities in Portugal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by Margarida Gamboa, Hotel Management
Thank you for for your review. We will check each one . Hope to see you soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Cons: Breakfast could be better.
Clean and convenient with helpful staff. Comfortable beds and good location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by Margarida Gamboa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. Hope to see you soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel close to town

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: *closeness to town *good breakfasts *staff polite and helpful
Cons: *Clearer information relating to variations in parking charges of underground car park. *Climate control in rooms
Location: Braga is a beautiful town with many pretty areas to explore. Beyond Braga are the national parks; Porto and the Spanish border isn't far away.
We came here for a 4 night stay. The hotel was clean and staff helpful. The hotel is very well situated for exploring Braga town which is certainly very pretty. We had some issues with parking whilst there there was an inconsistency in the cost of parking shown in the hotel and it wasn't clear that there was an additional charge on Saturday night. Personally I was disappointed about air conditioning in the room. The system appears to be more climate control and at temperatures of 38 degrees wasn't effective so we ended up buying a fan to help. Also on the final day the curtain rail in our room fell down whilst the cleaners cleaned. We were offered an alternative room however turned this down as it was our last night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Braga, Portugal

Nice, clean, good location

Posted May 1, 2016
I will definitely check for Mercure Hotel worldwide locations. We stayed previously in Berlin close to the airport and now I chose this hotel again in Braga , Portugal . All our expectations were met including and excellent buffet breakfast for a reasonable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great shiny new hotel, decent location, rude staff

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: New, clean, decent location, price.
Cons: Friendliness of staff.
Location: Near town center.
Decent location but could have been better. Five minute walk up a moderate hill to get to center of town. Major road out front, so traffic noise. Hotel was GREAT! Brand new, clean, bright. Couldn't ask for more, especially at the price. Hotel staff was rude. Forgot my passport at my parent's place in Lisbon and when I told person at front desk, he rolled his eyes at me. When I was checking out a different front desk person was being very rude to an admittedly difficult customer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cardiff

Great hotel close to centre

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: It's location and modern feel
Cons: Cant think of anything
Location: Close to city centre with attractions and good access to routes to other centres
We had a great time and the staff were friendly and very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sc

Very comfortable

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Lovely clean and modern hotel. Very nice staff. Comfortable room with balcony. Close to shops and central braga. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Pros: large rooms, clean, location
Cons: front desk staff
Location: hotel located downtown
hotel staff seemed a bit stuck up and rude. any requests made were not answered, put on hold for 10 minutes on the phone had to hang up. I asked for the local train schedule or bus schedule, that was like pulling teeth from the lady answering the phone. The general attitude of the front desk staff was rude and unhelpful. Will probably not stay there again, better off taking your business some place where the staff understand their role.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jason from Buckinghamshire, UK

Great value, central hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2012
Pros: Modern minimalist rooms
Cons: Noise from construction work
Location: Central location, no more than 10 minute walk to the centre of Braga and its attractions
Great value for money, perfectly located to explore the city by foot. Ideal for business an pleasure alike and free wifi was a nice touch. Some building work was ongoing outside the hotel at the time of visit which did cause noise from 8am however it didn't really disturb and I genuinely think they tried to locate all guests as far away from the noise as possible.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Amenities not consistent with a 4 star rating

Posted Sep 30, 2010
I stayed in this hotel in mid September 2010. The rooms were large, the staff were generally helpful, although one spoke virtually no English. Another gave me incorrect information on the availability of taxis at a tourist location which ended up in a near disaster because I had no way to get home and it would have been a two hour walk straight down a hill with no sidewalks. There are things that did not warrant a four star rating. First., the breakfast was terrible. I am comparing it to other 4 star hotels in Europe. I know that other reviews have said the opposite, but those reviews are over 2 years old. The coffee was simply awful, and the selection quite poor. I would definitely recommend eating elsewhere. I ate at the hotel restaurant once for dinner and the food was overpriced and nothing special, although the service was good. Secondly, I echo the reviewer who noted that certain things, like shampoo, were not only in the room, they were not available from the front desk. Moroever, the wireless connection did not work in the rooms. They had computers available on the second floor, and the wireless connection worked there. Another point: Because of their energy efficient lighting in the hallways, they were dark. If you travel alone, this may be important to you. The rooms were large but nothing special. Finally, be aware that this hotel is not particularly close to the city center.