Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from herefordshire

Comfortable large hotel, ex colonial style buildin

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Building and garden area
Location: Location quiet and very pleasant. Not near beach for walking access.
Having renovations done, so electric drills and mattresses being brought in during our visit. Otherwise relaxed and friendly staff. Good stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath, uk

Idiosyncratic period property in leafy suburb.

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: The self catering facilities were a bonus. Very central position. Town centre very close and free car parking. Quiet residential area. Good value.
Cons: Update the decor, provide a work surface to prepare food on, empty the rubbish bin,remove the metal coat hangers, clean towels after two days at least
Location: the park, beach, cafes and shops, all within walking distance. The Dune only a short drive away. The town is elegant,vibrant with plenty to see and do
Upon arrival, the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. French windows opened onto a small balcony, overlooking the garden. The whole building had the air of faded gentility. The area itself is in the historic Ville d'Hiver, once the haunt of the fashionably wealthy who came in pursuit of the spa waters and mild climate to improve their health. Sadly, like a Grand old Dame of the Belle Époque, this hotel has seen better days and has lost her youthful lustre. She, too, is in need of a cure, or at least a stylish makeover. Though, renovations have already begun. However, it was a fabulous stay. The ability to self cater was enormously helpful for two Veggies in a town built on oysters. The whole area is amazing, a cross between the Hollywood Hills and a Hammer Horror film set. I loved it. A short stroll through the park and either a lift or steps will lead you directly into the fashionable end of town, full of chic shops, boutiques and cafes, and of course, the golden beach. The location could not be better. And so peaceful at night that you can sleep soundly even with the windows open, if you can tear yourself away from standing on the balcony to count the stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wales

Enjoyable experience

Posted Sep 30, 2010
I imagine in its day this hotel was fabulous. These days it is slightly dated and faded, but it was still a pleasant experience. The staff were friendly and helpful (although they had very little, if any, english). The room was comfortable and clean with a cute kitchenette (hob, fridge/freezer, microwave, dishwasher and cutlery/crockery). Its in a nice leafy location, just a 10-15minute walk from Archachon centre (though a fairly steep hill to walk back to the hotel unless you take the lift in the park - bizarre, but true!). We'd have no problem going back to this hotel in the future, and Archachon itself is lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

A great hotel with self-catering facilties

Posted Sep 7, 2010
We stayed for 2 nights at Villa Regina & it met all our expectations about from the pool temperature, not heated but didn't mind too much after a very hot day in late Aug visiting the beach & the huge dune, a must see! The place was quiet & our room very sunny & HUGE! Bigger than our flat in London and nice to have the ability to make our own food, had just stayed at a place in St Emilion without even a glass so made a nice change. The neighbourhood Villa Regina is located in is lovely with lots of pretty houses worth a good wander around. And don't let the location put you off. We only used the lift to town once & only because I wanted to try it, if you have a good level of fitness you don't even get puffed walking up the hill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Best headquarter for your Arcachon vacation

Posted Nov 4, 2009
The Villa Regina, located in the heart of the only non commercial area of the city of Arcachon, lies still at a short walking distance of the city's center and the beaches. We appreciated the cheerful assistance of the staff and the quietness of our large studio opening on its patio in the garden. We were treated like the royalties who spent their summers among the exotic trees of the Ville d'Hiver. October is a nice time to visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

Faded grandour

Posted Oct 4, 2008
At first sight this is a very impressive hotel and I booked in with some trepidation. The reception staff were very helpful and explained all about the room in very good English. The room consisted of a small kitchen with microwave, 2 rings, fridge/freezer and dishwasher as well as two single beds. The w/c and bathroom were separate. As this is a very old building the ceilings were very high and we had verandah doors that opened onto a small balcony. However the general state of the property was very run down with paint peeling and furnishings worn out. With a lot of money spent on it this could be a very smart hotel but if you need a few days self-catering and don't care about the condition it is good value.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Apparthotel

Posted Sep 24, 2008
This was once a grand hotel - but it has been converted to quite modest self catering rooms. The furniture in the 'living'area is basic, the bedroom small. This is not a home from home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Chris from Southampton

Lovely building, not matched by inside

Posted Sep 15, 2008
It's a wonderful old building as are all the mansions in the Winter Resort area of Arcachon just up from the main town. The lobby and reception areas match the opulence but the rooms and corridors are rather plain. It was functional, comfortable and good value though we weren't too happy with a strict check out/chuck out time of 10am on a Saturday which they wouldn't compromise on. Wouldn't recommend against it if you're stuck for somewhere in Arcachon so you'd do no harm booking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from France

Very Impressed with Villa Regina

Posted Mar 10, 2008
The hotel was extremely clean the owners very polite and helpful. In an ideal location with beach just 10 minutes walk away with a handy free lift making it easy to reach the town of Arachan and the sea front. Bars and restaurants qutie pricey but service very freindly - will defently return to the area in the future but would avoid peak hoilday times as can imagine the whole area is very popular in the summer
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Tarpon Springs, FL

Best Deal in Arcachon

Posted Oct 3, 2007
We loved this hote. and felt like royalty as we arrived. The building is beautiful, the pool excellent and the rooms large, well equipped, and clean. It was wonderful. We recommend it highly.