Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

New hotel, let down by smells in room & corridors

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff
Cons: Sort out the smell in the rooms and corridors
Location: Part of a new out-of-town shopping complex so perfect for shoppers and other restaurants to eat in if you want. Adjacent to tram station into city/
The hotel is part of a modern edge-of-town shopping complex. Looks new and reasonable from walking in. Helpful, bi-lingual staff were friendly but when we got to the room there was a strange smell throughout (very musty, like damp washing is the closest we could think of). We thought we would open the window to freshen the room but after a short while it wasn't getting better so we returned to reception and asked for a different room. The reception staff seemed surprised but quickly gave us another room on a different floor (3rd instead of 6th floor this time) but unfortunately only slightly better and the corridor had a similar smell. We can only assume that they either use a strange cleaning product or the hotel is little used and rooms are always closed and get musty? We stayed the night with my wife spraying perfume on the pillow and the window open as much as possible (not much, but that is as the same with most modern buildings unfortunately in this case). We ate elsewhere but did use the bar - small but friendly barman. Overall, if they could address the smell it would be a perfectly ok hotel but as it stands I wouldn't stay there again nor recommend to anyone else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

Lovely hotel, great food and service/ facilities.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Overnight stop off before travelling further south. Super break with spa and pool, just what we needed to avoid being too uncomfortable for a long journey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hampshire

Ideal for stopover

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Great location for a stop over on the way to Calais. Very clean, great staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Room not prepared well. No wifi

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Unhappy with room. Lights us. Sheets had bottle cap 'welded' to them. No wifi. Empty coffee sachets. Waiter had mobile glued to his ear. limited menu. All in all disappointing for €130.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel not too far from A31

Posted Aug 10, 2015
We chose to stay here enroute to Calais. Family room was great with two double beds. Decent sized rooms with clean bathrooms. Good breakfast. And had good entertainment facilities for the kids as well. So very pleased with choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RWB

Excellent location and value for money

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Location, Swimming Pool
Location: Next to a big shopping mall (including Carrefour), next to tram stop into the old town
Arrived at hotel after a long drive, lovely location (right by a shopping centre :-) and on outskirts so not caught up in traffic but also right on the main tram line into the centre of Dijon. We only had a couple of hours but took the 10 minute trip into the old town - 8Euros for 4 of us with trams running until late. Worth the trip, had a nice meal in town. Hotel had a pool and nice bar. Good breakfast included with the room rate.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too big to be cosy

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: It was ok
Cons: Sort out the wifi or stop advertising it and advise customers it does not work when they arrive. I heard another complaint raised so not just me.
The hotel is ok and not a 4 star experience. No free water in the room or any toiletries, just basic 2 sachets of coffee and squirty soap dispensers. No wifi in my room which was one of the reasons for picking this hotel, very disappointed to have to go down to the lobby/restaurant/bar to use it. Breakfast was average and no more. All in all overpriced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice 4 stars hotel in Dijon

Posted Jan 18, 2015
I stayed in a family room which accomodated without issues 2 adults and 2 kids. It served me very well as a 1 night dormitory in my way back from Switzerland to Paris. It is just beside a shopping center area and also a train station. It is about 10min driving from the city center. Wi-fi worked fine and there are no parking feeds. It was a pleasent experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Holiday Inn Dijon Toison d'Or, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with your family. Did you have the time to visit our brand new kids club? Hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chico, California

Great Property

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Room was excellent and comfortable.
Location: Hotel is attached to a mall--lots of shops and restaurants.
Very nice room--very comfortable. Hotel restaurant is good to excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by HI Dijon, Hotel Management
Dear Robert, Thank you very much for great review! We hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Den Haag

Uitstekende stopplaats op weg van/naar het zuiden

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: De locatie, de kamers, de shopping mall naast de deur, de tram naar het centrum.
Cons: Geen extras in de kamer op de terugweg die er op de heenweg wel waren.
Prima hotel - op weg naar het zuiden kregen we een iets betere kamer dan op de terugweg - de kamer was toen kaler, zonder bodycream/conditioner etc. Ook wat meer koffie, koffiemelk en thee op de kamer zou een grote verbetering zijn. Ontbijt was uitstekend. Personeel was vriendelijk en behulpzaam maar Frans was no. 1 taal.... Mooie shopping mall direct naast de deur, goede verbinding naar het centrum van Dijon,