Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aus

Nice hotel good location bed too hard

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pleasant we had no issues would recommend The hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Southlake, TX

Well-located, nice place to stay when in Dijon

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: The staff were all very warm and welcoming. They were also patient with my poor French skills, which I appreciated!
Cons: Try to rearrange the family room so that the top bunk is safer. It was a great idea, but the way the room is set up made it impossible to use.
As a family of four with two younger children, we struggle at times to find reasonable pricing on hotel rooms in Europe. We travel to Dijon frequently, and this was our first time going the hotel route. Hotel des Ducs was a great place to stay for a few days. The room was billed as a queen bed with two twin beds, which was true, except the twin beds were a converted sofa that turned into a bunk bed. The kids loved the idea, but positioning of the sofa in the room made the top bunk unusable, as one side was completely open to someone falling out (note to the hotel, try to reposition the furniture to account for this). The hotel is nicely updated, rooms are OK, bathrooms are nicely updated. The room lacks and real furniture to hold clothing, so you'll end up living out of your suitcase, which wasn't a big deal for us. The available breakfast is nice, and provides something for everyone. The best aspect of the Ducs is the location. It's right in the heart of where most folks will want to be when visiting Dijon. A few steps in any direction and you have many sights to see. The city bus comes right past the front door. Les Halles is a short walk away. It's truly a fantastic location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Dijon

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Pros: Clean, efficient
Cons: Car parking
Location: Dijon is a pleasant place for a stop over and would probably warrant a longer stay.
Had a very pleasant stop over on way to south of France with 2 adults and 2 children in one room. Kids had a sofa bunk bed which worked well and was set-up before we arrived. The person behind the desk was very friendly and tolerated my bad french.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beirut

Lack of effort to attend our expectations

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Only the location
Cons: Put A.C. in all rooms and try to be more client-friendly
Location: Stroll in rue de la liberté for shopping, and visit the museum in the palais des ducs.
The hotel is well located, near the place de ducs. We came in for an early check in. Ok, I expected some delay, but we had to wait from 9 in the morning to nearly 3 o clock pm, with no effort from the reception to anticipate the entry, given that we had a baby and would stay only for the day. We strolled around, had lunch and when we came back, to our surprise the given room was really an oven, with temperature higher than the already high exterior (30 celsius) and no A.C. whatsoever (only a ventilator with no effect). No point in complaining as the reception said our room rate did not include A.c. Of course, passing the night there would be even worse, so we were happy to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Hotel was in an excellent location in the heart of Dijon. AC worked great, which was a bonus during July.Staff were very polite and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Black Mountain, North Carolina

Great stay, read all fine print

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: It is a beautiful building.
Location: GREAT location. All of the old city is available right outside the front door. We walked for three days... so close to everything.
We arrived in the middle of a heat wave with temps at 100 F. I made an error when I reserved the room as I did not notice the room I reserved was not air conditioned. I immediately notice this once we check-ed in and asked to be moved. They did not have a room with AC so we spent one night in a very hot room with little rest. However, the next day, we were able to switch to an air conditioned room for the remainder of our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW

Nice hotel close to city attractions

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: Helpful staff
Good location to explore central Dijon. Basic comfortable hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Just what I was looking for

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Location, comfort, cleanliness
Cons: No problems
Location: Perfectly located in the center of Dijon, a gem of a city and the capital of Burgundy. Everything is nearby.
This is the third time I have stayed at he Hotel des Ducs. It is is centrally located, it is unpretentious and yet has everything one needs. The beds are great, the maid service quick and discreet, the staff helpful. It won't bowl you over, but will provide all the essentials perfectly. No extra frills.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great hotel in the centre

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: The location was fantastic
Cons: The wifi wouldn't connect on my iPad or my girlfriends iPhone but connected on my Samsung phone but wasn't usable. May have been the thick walls.
Location: Everything you want to visit in this town is near the hotel
Great little friendly hotel very close to the centre restaurants etc etc Wifi didn't really work and for me the bed was too firm but everything else was perfect. Would happily stay here again :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location, good accommodation

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Location: Vist the Musee des Beaux Arts next door and the quirky Museum of Burgundian Life. Some lovely churches too.
This is a smart-looking hotel very conveniently placed for all tourist attractions. The room was large, very clean and with a pleasant balcony. French pillows are never comfortable for English heads, I find, but the bed was good. I found the lack of drawers a little disconcerting - there are shelves, but there's a certain lack of privacy! - and we had to ask for the toilet paper to be replenished, but the staff were pleasant and helpful.