Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Château construit en 1421 !

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Le charme de résider dans un château du 13 ième siècle. À 750 mètres de la mer.
4 out of 5
by Brian from Billericay Essex

Good but need money spent

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
Enjoyed the stay lovely grounds but Sunday evenings is a no no -- No heating,no restaurant, no staff. You have to like old properties and accept them for what they are. Sometimes they need a little help and that costs lots of money. We liked it but the stay was a little uncomfortable due to Sunday evening being old and nothing to eat. Ho well you live a learn Brian
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancaster UK

A few days break.

Posted Sep 22, 2015
A lovely setting although a few miles from nearest village. The chateau not only provides hotel accommodation but also a function suite for weddings. We did not eat here as the menu was quite rich and rather expensive. Breakfast was optional at €12 per person. We prefer to go out and eat in a less formal situation. The room was very nice if a little dark. Typical of French hotels no refreshments are available in your room other than room service. A small indoor pool and spa facilities at extra cost. A nice woodland walk directly from the chateau to the sea.
4 out of 5
by Alison from London

Nice hotel - needs some updating

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel's in a lovely spot and the grounds and overall look of the place are very attractive. The room and the bathroom were large and well equipped and the staff friendly and helpful. There is definitely an air of faded grandeur about the place and the bedding and towels could do with updating. Everything was clean, but rather dated. We ate in the restaurant one night and thought the food was nice but not spectacular for the price. We preferred the mussel restaurant in the bay, 5 minutes drive away, which had a fab ambiance and delicious, reasonably priced food.
4 out of 5
by carlie from USA

Out of the way but worth the trip!

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
This is a fabulous place...once you find it! A little off the beaten path and we got quite lost trying to find it, not to future travelers, the signs read "Domaine" Du Val, not Chateau. Apparently they are the same thing? Once we figured this out we had a wonderful stay. Fabulous food at the restaurant and wonderful service. Thanks Felix!
5 out of 5
by Dawn from Bath

Beautiful chateau to stay in

Posted Aug 5, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely setting, helpful staff and lovely meal (although good perhaps on the pricey side)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Character and charm

Posted May 9, 2015 on Hotels
One night stay while traveling through France. Restaurant was excellent. Breakfast was also good. Room had character but was a little cold. Setting was wooded and lovely. Staff was charming and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from caen

site charmant

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: le charme des lieux, certes les chambres sont kitsch mais sympathiques
Cons: L'accueil et le petit déjeuner qui quand même est à 12€
site agréable mais l'entretien laisse aller. Aucune information sur place pour visiter les alentours. La personne qui s'occupe du petit déjeuner semble rêveuse et peu préoccupée de remplir le buffet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels