Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sun City AZ

Bad neighborhood property looks like a junk yard!

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: The trees and setting with a totally fenced property for security.
Cons: The cleanliness and deferred maintenance of the property and grounds.
Location: Fairly close proximity to town and just off the main highway 89A to Sedona.
This property is in located in the old part of Cottonwood. Upon our arrival up a long unpaved driveway the property has old cars, trucks and motorcycles parked on the grounds. It looks more like a junk yard or wrecking yard opposed to looking like a B&B. However the property in its day was quite charming but the owner has left the property go downhill and refuses to put any money into upkeep and maintenance. The swimming pool was green with algae and full of leaves, the hot tub was not working and the heater cover lid was totally sun rotten. The patio furniture near the pool and spa was quality but unfortunately the cushions were soiled and stained with dry rot from the Arizona intense sun and the steel furniture needs to be painted or replaced. Our room was equipped with a decent king size bed on a stained concrete painted floor with a dirty area rug underneath the bed that needed to be shampooed with a very tiny partial bath including a small sink vanity with 2 burned out lights over the mirror and a toilet with very low water pressure and a toilet seat that was chipped, cracked and worn out. We did not stay for breakfast and had I NOT prepaid this room on Expedia we would have checked out before checking in! Expedia Members be ware they really need to take this property off their directory please SAVE your money do not waste your time on staying at this B&B.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Friendly staff, delicious healthy breakfast, convenient location, comfortable room, basiclly all you need I in a good bed and breakfast
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UT

I Was Traveling Alone and Too Scared To Stay Here

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
You drive through a not so nice neighborhood and so you are already questioning the location then you drive onto the property to see a host of stored/broken down vehicles and unmowed lawn and it didn't look like a B&B it looked like a random house that was renting a room. Between, the exterior and the neighborhood it made me question the validity of the establishment being a real B&B and my safety and the upkeep of what would have been my room. The only positive was the "inn keeper" who did call and text to see when I was arriving. I called Expedia to ask for a refund and explained the situation. The representative stated they talked to the owner and would not refund the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pine, AZ

Wonderful stay, great B&B

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Room was clean and the bed/pillows were very comfortable. The manager, Fiona, was extremely attentive and friendly.
Location: Old Town Cottonwood - totally changed versus a few years ago. Verde Canyon RR - this is a MUST DO if you have the opportunity.
Great B&B! Extremely friendly staff (Fiona) and very comfortable! Just a few minutes from Old Town (Cottonwood). Great value for the $$.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Cons: junky surroundings, carpet, air conditioning
Location: It is fairly close to Sedona which is why we came in the first place.
The pictures of this B&B are very deceiving. The neighborhood is very run down with a junk yard next door. We booked a mid-size room and the Expedia site says "partially open bathroom and shower". I may be naïve, but I didn't realize that meant we had to SHARE a shower with other guests until the morning we left and I was reading some reviews. That being said, I went on Expedia's website and saw they offered a "deluxe" room with a private bath and shower at a price a little lower than the price of our mid-size room. I called Expedia and the girl tried to help me change the rooms out, but was unable to arrange a deal with the hotel. She told me to try to upgrade when I got there. I then texted the staff at the B&B and she said she would ask the owner if we could just simply pay the same price as the mid-size room. However, when we got there, they charged us extra for the room and they charged for our dogs (I was told by an Expedia employee there would be no pet fee). All in all, this room was definitely NOT worth the price we paid. The room was OK -- definitely in need of new carpet and a decent air conditioner. The bathroom was nicer than the bedroom (except for the junkyard view out the window).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B- comfortable and very clean.

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Comfy bed, large room, lovely bathroom and tasty breakfast. Highly recommend if you are going to go to Jerome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Amazing experience!!

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Fiona was amazing and the Desert Rose is beautiful!
Cons: Perfection!
Location: Everything was so close! We loved the Mexican restaurant that was recommended and we had fun playing disc golf.
We loved staying at the Desert Rose and look forward to our next visit!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas,TX

Tear down

Posted Oct 4, 2017
This is an old house next to a huge junk yard. As we were passing the trailer park and junk yard I was becoming concerned. There is a reason it is pay in advance and not refundable. We might was we'll have thrown $400 out the window. We got back in our car and went to Sedona to find a real hotel to stay in. We will also never book through Expedia again. The pictures of this house are deceiving. It is extremely run down and you do not have a private full bathroom. Also, the freezer is broken so bring your own ice. No thanks, it was worth $400 not to stay there!
5 out of 5
by SYAMALA

Business

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
Hospitality
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Close to the event and price
Had a rambling charm about the home. Nothing fancy, just the basics.