Ratings based on 590 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from EG port st lucie flo

Nice

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Food was terrible at the steak house Overall stay was fine
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Good morning. Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to sharing your feedback with the culinary team at RIVA Steak & Seafood. Sincerely, Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Council Bluffs

Casino

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Good restaurant choices.
Cons: Make it all non smoking.
Nice amenities. Good work out room and pool. Board walk on the river is scenic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by Joseph , Hotel Management
Good morning. Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed outstanding amenities and outstanding cuisine during your visit. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again. Sincerely, Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ds

It's okay for a night

Posted Aug 11, 2016
I didn't know they shared a pool with the other hotel. It was crowded @ 4pm. The cigarette smoke was a turn off as well. I'm pretty sure the cleaning lady used my restroom right before I arrived. She was cleaning the room next door and her smell was apparent as soon as I walked in my room. Q
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Good morning. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to sharing the details of your experience with our leadership team. Sincerely, Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KC

Love it here!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Location, amenities, high end room at an affordable price.
Cons: We had everything we needed for our stay.
Location: Close to the zoo, which was our destination and downtown Omaha.
Always enjoy our stay here. Great amenities and close to the zoo. Love the Amerisports sports bar, too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Joseph , Hotel Management
Good afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back for more outstanding amenities, cuisine and service. Sincerely, Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

poor ventilation

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: The bakery staff was friendly.
Cons: The ventilation!
Location: The College World Series was close by. We spent the day at Old Market and crossed the pedestrian bridge. Both activities were fun.
My son, his friend and I were in Omaha to attend the College World Series. When we drove up to the hotel it was impressive looking. Upon entering the hotel, we were overwhelmed by the smell of smoke. I expected smoke in the casino area, but not in the atrium. Our room was non-smoking on the 2nd floor. It also smelled of smoke but less than in the hallway and atrium. My son's friend and I have asthma. He coughed a bit, but I had to use my inhaler and was awake with a reaction from the smoke. During checkout, the front desk lady asked if I had any concerns about my stay. I stated my concerns about the hotel's poor ventilation. She said, "Really?" as if she couldn't imagine such a problem. She offered no apology, explanation or offer of amends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by Joseph , Hotel Management
Good morning. Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to sharing your concerns with our leadership team. Sincerely, Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
5 out of 5
by Alex from Minneapolis

Best weekend ever

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
We were not expecting much just trying to get away after having a baby. The baby did not come with us. We were blown away by the service, the room, the view, and the amazing buffet!!! There room service was amazing as well!! We are for sure going to come back as soon as we can!! Best trip ever so relaxing!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2016 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Good afternoon. Thank you for the five-star review. We are delighted you enjoyed staying at Ameristar and look forward to welcoming you back for more outstanding service and accommodations. Sincerely, Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
1 out of 5
by Shawn from Omaha

Go somewhere else, go anywhere else!

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is a joke! They advertise 4 restaurants in the hotel, they have a buffet and a sportsbar, neither of which is really a restaurant. They have a bakery that's open in the mornings only. I booked a room with a spa, the spa jets didn't work. The "casino" is a small step better than a keno room, with about half a dozen card tables playing blackjack, or a game I'd never heard of, and a massive two floor area of slot machines. No poker at all! Then the real kicker, they charged my card 50 dollars more than the hotels.com listed price! I didn't find out until a few days later when I checked my bank records.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2016 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Good afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are proud to offer outstanding accommodations and amenities for our guests, including RIVA Steak & Seafood, our new steakhouse and Bella's Cafe & Bakery, with counter hours until 11pm or later. As part of our check-in procedures, we place a $50 hold on a credit card for incidental expenses. This hold is returned after check-out. Sincerely, Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
5 out of 5
by becky

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smells like an ashtray.

Posted May 13, 2016
Even the non-smoking rooms smelled bad. Definitely will not return.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2016 by Joseph , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to sharing your experience with our management team.