Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey

5-Star Stay

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Couldn't have been happier with stay. View was amazing, kids enjoyed pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017
Dear Jeffrey, Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review of your visit with me! I am very happy to hear that we were able to provide you with a 5-star experience! We love to hear stories from our guests about what made their stay special and it is great to hear how much you enjoyed the river-views as well as the pool. I will make sure to relay your kind words to our entire staff and congratulate them on a job very well done! Thank you for sharing such great feedback and I sincerely look forward to your next visit! Thank you, Bill Vanderpool General Manager Holiday Inn @ Ameristar
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Attached to casino. Paper thin walls.

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is great in terms of location. In terms of the room the walls are paper thin and the noise level made it impossible to sleep. We stayed on St. Patrick's Day so that probably didn't help.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your visit with me. I sincerely appreciate hearing from our guests both about what they liked as well as what we can do better the next time around. I am very sorry for the noise issues you reported. We know how important it is to provide our guests with a restful night's sleep and I am very sorry that we have let you down. I will make sure to review your feedback with my staff to see if there is anything additional we can do to prevent this type of experience again in the future. We care a great deal about each of our guests and will do our best to make sure things like this do not repeat themselves. Thank you for sharing your feedback with me and I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future! Thank you, Bill Vanderpool General Manager Holiday Inn @ Ameristar
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marion, Ia

Hotel is "ok"

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: It was ok
Cons: Update the rooms and have parking for hotel guests
Hotel is next to a casino - parking was horrible. It's an older hotel and needs some updating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Bill Vanderpool, Hotel Management
Dear Julie, Thank you for sharing your feedback from your visit with us! I sincerely appreciate hearing from our guests both about what we have done well as well as where we can improve for all of our guests in the future. I am very sorry for the difficulties you had with the parking and the overall need of some updates. I am happy to report that we are in the midst of a full renovation that, when complete, will bring all of our guests brand-new guestrooms as well as many of our public spaces. We care a great deal about each of our guests and are always using feedback like yours to improve what we have to offer. Thank you for choosing to spend your time here with us and I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future! Thank you, Bill Vanderpool General Manager
5 out of 5
by Debbie

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017
Thank you, Debbie for sharing a wonderful 5-star review with us! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon! Thank you, Bill Vanderpool General Manager Holiday Inn @ Ameristar
5 out of 5
by Patrisha

Such a wonderful view!

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
We loved our room, we loved the fact that it's connected to the casino and we had such a wonderful view in our upgraded room!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Patrisha, Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review of your visit with us! I am very happy to hear the very nice things you were able to share about your stay. Our location connected to the Ameristar Casino as well as our views of the Missouri River are two of our more unique features and it is great to hear how these things made your time with us more enjoyable. Thank you for sharing such a kind review with us and we sincerely look forward to your next visit! Thank you, Bill Vanderpool General Manager Holiday Inn @ Ameristar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

President Day Weekend

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The location and shuttle service.
Cons: Air conditioner was noisy & made weird noises. My husband complained that the stool lid wouldn't stay up. I am not a sausage eater so breakfast was OK
Location: Casino, Downtown, Event Center
Overall, it was good. We were there for a tournament.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Bill Vanderpool, Hotel Management
Dear C, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your visit with me! I sincerely appreciate hearing from our guests both about what went well as well as where we may be able to improve for all of our guests in the future. I am very happy to hear that our central location as well as our complimentary shuttle service made your time with us more enjoyable. I am very sorry for the issues you mentioned with your room as well as the breakfast. I will make sure that our maintenance staff takes care of those things right away. Thank you for choosing to spend your time here with us and I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon! Thank you, Bill Vanderpool General Manager Holiday Inn @ Ameristar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Clean and close to casino

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Orbitz
Very nice and clean. Good price for hotel next to casinos.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Bill Vanderpool, Hotel Management
Dear Brad, thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review with the entire online community! It is great to hear all of the wonderful things you were able to share about your stay. I am very happy that you found your time here to be a great value considering our location next to Ameristar Casino. I will make sure to relay to our entire staff what and outstanding job they did in ensuring that your room was nice and clean as we know how important this particular area is for our guests. Thank you for sharing your feedback with me and I sincerely hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Bill Vanderpool, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun location off highway

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Clean, comfortable & convenient. It was right off the highway & there was a good amount of stuff to do including the casino and restaurants which are attached to the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Bill Vanderpool, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share such wonderful feedback about your visit with me! I am very happy to hear all of the very nice things you were able to share about your time here with us. Our staff works very hard to provide our guests with a clean and comfortable environment and I will make sure to relay to them what an outstanding job they were able to do in this regard for you. Our central location and our connection with Ameristar Casino are definitely two of our better features and I am very happy that they made your stay more enjoyable. Thank you for sharing such a great review and I hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Bill Vanderpool General Manager Holiday Inn @ Ameristar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Rooms very nice
Cons: Nothing
Location: Did. Not do anything else as on our way to Az.
Great place and excellent breakfast. Was a fun time at the casino, even if I didn't win. Was a bit confusing finding the place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Bill Vanderpool, Hotel Management
Dear joanne, Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review about your visit with the entire Expedia community! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us. I will make sure to let the breakfast staff know what a great job they were able to do for you. I am happy that you had fun during your stay and hope to see you again soon and maybe next time you can have better luck at the casino! Thank you, Bill Vanderpool General Manager Holiday Inn @ Ameristar
3 out of 5
by Brian

Clean but noisy

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Room was comfortable . Pillows were okay could've been better. I was a little sketched out getting ice since they had construction and dry wall dust all over the machine. I understand they are remodeling. Slept pretty good until the house cleaning showed up super early and were extremely noisy. We're members so we asked for a later check out and had the do not disturb sign on the door and yet still was getting our door loudly knocked on. Oh well I suppose who needs sleep right lol.