Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very disappointed

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: cleanliness
We arrived around 11:30pm with reservations for a room with two beds. After some problems with them getting the keycard encoded( which I understand), we were finally able to open our room. Upon opening the room we see an empty case of beer bottles sitting by the trash can. I then entered the room where I found the beds still a mess and wet towels all over the bathroom, at midnight the room had not been touch to clean it. I went back to the check in desk and told the lady about it she said she would get us a different room. we got our stuff and headed to the other room when we were met by the housekeeper and she told us that the second room was also not cleaned. They offered us a Queen bed and a roll-away which we refused and went on to the next town. The cleanliness of the enter hotel was gross the maids cart was in the middle of the hallway overflowing with trash and there was trash bags full of trash in the hallway. the hallway looked like it hadn't been vacuumed in long time. Definitely will never go back there and would never recommend anyone staying there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Makings for a great stay!

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Tree Oak was a lovely space. The room (128) appeared updated, new towels, granite sink top, clean and new looking bathroom fixtures, magnets on the curtains for total darkness and easy access off the freeway. They were replacing the carpet in the hallways. What was troubling was the bed, it was hard hard hard. I ended up sleeping on the arm chair and ottoman with some adjustments. And I didn't figure this out till about 3 am. So all in all a fretful night. The related Diner was even good. So maybe the beds are next? I would call them first and see if the beds were replaced. And if so-then this will be a little jewel of a place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

if you just need a place to sleep

Posted Aug 16, 2016
You check in at the diner next door, the mattress is basic and has no padding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

best in the area

Posted Jul 30, 2016
This is a nice place with a decent bed. The curtains have magnets to hold them together with blackout material. We did not even know daylight had occurred. The pillows need to be bigger to be comfortable. The water is hot and shower is great. Could hear trains at night, but that is in the area. Great diner open 24 hours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great service

Posted May 11, 2016
Had drivin all day, was tired, looking forward to a meal and good night sleep, plus a place to walk my little dog. We found it at the Oak great nights sleep, great meal next door, and a great place to walk my dog.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Nice quiet and clean place. Hot breakfast next door with coupon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2015
This is our go-to hotel whenever we are visiting family in Iowa. The hotel is well maintained and clean. The breakfast included is at the dinner next door and off the menu, which is welcomed after the standard hotelr breakfasts at most hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Hotel is very nice and right off the interstate. You check in at the diner across the parking lot so there is no staff in the hotel itself. I stayed with 2 small children and had plenty of space in the room. The rooms and beds were clean and comfortable. There was a fridge and the bathroom sink was on the outside of the bathroom itself. You hear absolutely no outside noise from the interstate and I never would have known we were just down the street from train tracks if we hadn't driven over them earlier. They give your food coupons for breakfast (or any meal you choose) to the diner and the food is delicious. We would have no problem staying here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Cons: The room was not cleaned at all on Thursday June 19th
The stay was fun. The diner was great. The room not being cleaned on the second day is the only negative.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2015
We were pleased with this hotel. Nothing fancy but very functional for an overnight stay.