Ratings based on 753 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2018
It was good... the room was clean and comfortable...over all a good experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice staff

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Very nice staff.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms were also comfortable and clean. I really enjoyed the fun aesthetic of the hotel in general, definitely filled with KC pride.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Wonderful stay, great location in Westport but still close to the plaza. The room was a good size and very clean. Loved the barn door for the bathroom and all the tile.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Topeka KS

Wouldn't stay again.

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Close to KU Med Hospital. Staff was friendly and professional, hall floors and elevator were dirty. Bathroom countertop not very clean, hair on the decorative piece on bed. Heater was so loud I didn't sleep well and toilet leaked. They moved us to another room which was cleaner, but very small bathroom counter top space. Talked to management and he would not discount our room or if we stayed another night. The manager said we were getting room rates that were lower rated hotels and he couldn't discount us for our inconvenience of having to change rooms and a bad night's sleep. We got the AARP rate. Would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wichita, KS

Fun Experience

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Pros: Convenient location.
Cons: Keep doing what you're doing!
We enjoyed our stay at 816 Hotel very much! It is very close to where we wanted to go in Kansas City and we especially enjoyed the custom made omelet and Bagels for breakfast !!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from odessa mo

Problems no working tv

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Remote to tv didn't work buttons on tv didn't work nothing worked about the tv thermostat had issue if you turned the heat down 1 degree the a.c. cane on & vice versa Room was clean but not that nice missing cobase around the room by carpet patches all over the ceiling & no bathroom fan to keep the mirror from fogging up over all for the price I was really disappointed !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2018 by Krystal L, Hotel Management
I apologize that you had issues with your stay. Would you mind reaching out to me directly so I could find out more details about the room you had so we can correct the issues? All of rooms should have functioning tvs and all of the cove base! I need to know your room # so that I can get with maintenance please. Our thermostats are designed to adjust automatically with the heat or a/c coming on according to the temperature that it is set on versus the temperature in the room. I hope that you will come back and see that this is not our standards and we can do better!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ia

Organization

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: Close to alot of things
Location: lots to do near by location is in good location for the Plaza west port or down town
Very unorganized. Staff not knowledge able about Discounts { AAA, AARP, } Rooms not ready for alot of people at ck in time. Hotel loby and Breakfast area very cold. Free Shuttle very unorganized or not available. Charged my credit card the full amt at ck in instead of ck out. so couldnt pay cash like I usually do. AAA discount not applied.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by Krystal L, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing. We do offer a aaa/aarp discount. There are times where this discount may be more than what we are offering due to various changes in our rates. Our check in time is 4PM. We do try our best to handle early check ins, but do not guarantee them. I wish that you had mentioned the chill in the breakfast room. We did have an issue with our main lobby heater keeping up with the extreme temps for a few days. It just wasn't ready, just like us! It is our company policy to collect payment in full at the time of check in. You can still pay cash at check in. You can also pay cash at check out, but you will have to be patient with the pending hold on your card. If you reach out to me directly I would be happy to correct your rate to the AAA rate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Carpet in the room had stains. Just did not feel clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Krystal L, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your stay. Would you mind giving me a bit more details so we can take a look at the carpet in your room? Sounds like it may be time to get out the shampooer! I hope that you will come back and see that this is not a standard for us and that we do listen to our customer's feedback. Thank you
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Renovations

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Pros: Unfortunately the last thing I did like about it was the location, but that has changed due to the increase in crime in the area.
Cons: Actually finish renovations that were started two years ago. We loved it the first time we stayed in a room that had been updated.
Location: Bar and nightlife area nearby. But the area is in a state of decline & I would recommend taking a ride service instead of walking due to crime issues
We've stayed there twice over the last two years and the hotel has been under renovation both times. The second time we were put into a room that was severely outdated. Tears in the chair, curtains, and mold in the shower were the main issues. Thankfully we were able to switch out to a different room that was updated...two years ago. They only have a handful of rooms that have been updated over the last two years while the rest haven't been touched as of the time we stayed. They may want to find a way to actually update the entire hotel and cease stating that it has been renovated until they finish the job.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

downtown hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: My back sometimes gives me trouble, so the bed was a little uncomfortable
Location: Very central to downtown, you can walk to many different experiences.
Fairly easy to find, when we checked in the first room they gave us had someone already in it, although I really liked the view better than the room we stayed in, it looked at the alley. There was food left in the mini fridge, but everything else was great. Friendly staff, breakfast was very good, comfortable room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2017 by Krystal L, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your stars with us! Beds can be tough to match to everyone. I call it Goldilocks syndrome. Some people love them and some hate them. I wish you could have loved it too. I certainly apologize for the mix up on the room that you were first assigned to! I will surely speak with housekeeping about double checking the refrigerators! I hope that we can take care of you again and I encourage you to ask for our Returning Guest Rate at any of our Area Code family hotels!