Ratings based on 1,379 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Employees were great but the rooms need updated.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: The staff was great. Very welcoming on check-in and helpful during our stay. Great indoor pool area. Evening receptions were great.
Cons: The rooms need updating, mildew on the tub caulking, the carpets showed wear and smelled musty, the tvs were smallish with very few channels.
Location: Although not on the plaza it is with-in walking distance.
My wife and I stayed here for a four day get away. We chose the embassy for the location to the plaza area and we like their cook to order breakfasts. But be aware that on weekends soccer families fill the common area clog the breakfast buffet and play games on the elevators. So grumpy old people stay away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Okay, except for the elevator.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: I liked the layout, the location, and the food.
Cons: Elevator wait time.
Location: Nelson-Adkins Art Museum is very nice, really excellent!
The hotel room as fine, but the elevators are terrible! When it says the elevator is going down, it should go down instead of going up and then down. The elevator would fill up and then stop, but there was no space for anyone. Then a lot of time was wasted. Almost all elevators go down when they say they going down, and do not go up first. In the long run, this saves time. Many people were waiting at the elevators and complaining about the wait. There was an unsightly dark stain on our carpet. The food was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Stolen Phone

Posted Aug 1, 2017
This ES is located very close to a bad part of town. During our stay four teenagers managed to talk their way in to the hotel under the guise of needing some water. Hotel staff and other guests noticed them due to their loud, obnoxious behavior as they then wandered around the lobby area, however no one asked them to leave. Despite the pool being locked, they managed to follow a hotel guest into the pool area. They caught my attention in the pool area because they were hanging around our chairs where we had put our shoes, clothing, and cell phones. When one of them sat on our pile of clothing I knew something was up and proceeded to get out of the pool to confront them. They noticed I was approaching and ran out of the pool area, stealing my sister's cell phone in the process. Several guests then noticed them run out of the building. The hotel did contact local authorities and agreed to file the loss under their insurance, however, my sister is still out a phone. Don't stay here unless you are willing to be hyper vigilant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gardner, KS

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Great cocktail hour and fantastic breakfast. They only thing that I was not crazy about is the $17 parking charge. I didn't see that anywhere prior to booking. I thought that was ridiculous, considering it wasn't valeted and they didn't wash or detail my vehicle for that price. Whoa!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in great Old Westport location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Location: Great location- walked all around. Enjoyed many places in the Old Westport area. We did take an Uber to get bbq that was a little further away.
Easy to find. Had a little trouble at check in because I went thru an outside booker, but it was sorted out quickly. I haven't been to an Embassy in a long time but they always feel comfortable. It could be said that the decor and styles and a bit dated, but they're neutral & fine. The happy hour reception was fun- great bartender. Our room was clean and comfortable. Nice pool area with a 2 level pool and a hot tub. Nice courtier/lobby for sitting/reading/coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chino hills, CA

Friendly staffs

Posted Jul 8, 2017
We were greet by a very friendly bellboy. The staffs in the breakfast area were nice, especially , Davian. The hotel is beautiful . They provide free drinks and snacks very night from 5-7pm, sweet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Nice hotel in quaint Westport neighborhood

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Free shuttle to and from nearby shops and restaurants, the staff in general
Cons: Room balcony access would've been nice, but they seem to have been permanently closed off.
Location: Hop Cat is a wonderful craft beer bar and restaurant with roof top open air seating.
Nice hotel, though probably the smallest Embassy Suites room that I've ever experienced. The staff was fantastic, willing to go out of their way for anything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel downtown.

Posted Jun 27, 2017
We always live staying in the plaza area downtown, it is near everything we need. I liked the Embassy a lot. The staff was good the breakfast great. Love the pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C, Canada

A run down suite

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Cons: Renovations please!
Location: Near the Plaza and a nice park.
The room was in bad shape. Burns and stains on the carpet, a toilet that wouldn't flush, a cracked sink and leaking faucet, and filthy windows! I was very disappointed as the hotel was given a 3.5 star rating. It was maybe a 2.5 star hotel in my view! We had to call 4 times in the first hour as we didn't have robes in our room, only 1 cup for coffee, the safe was locked so we couldn't access it and there was no information about the wifi. On the positive side, the bed was quite comfortable, the breakfast buffet was ok and the evening reception with free drinks was a nice touch. Overall, we would never stay there again. It is definitely a family hotel as there is an indoor pool and hottub. But it was filled with children the whole time, so we did not use it.... The Plaza area is within walking distance so that was the one thing that we loved. The staff were friendly and accomodating. If I hadn't already paid for our 3 nights I would have moved hotels immediately, so if you are looking for a 3 to 4 star hotel, this is NOT the one for you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KS

Beautiful hotel with great amenities!

Posted Jun 24, 2017
The entire staff was kind and helpful, the hotel lobby is gorgeous, the room was spacious and comfortable, the pool was clean and unique, the amenities were top notch! Would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay again!