Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Cons: Parking is very tight in the rear. I'm not sure I would have been able to maneuver my car out if all the spots had been full.
What a lovely B&B. I'm so happy that I came upon this gem and decided to give it a try. My room was nice, the atmosphere was pleasant, the food was delicious. The owners were away on vacation, but the guest hosts were delightful. This may become my go-to when staying in KC.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love this urban oasis.

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
Love this place. Beautiful old Inn within easy walking distance of lovely parks, sculpture gardens, museums, great shopping, and restaurants. A garden oasis within the city. Excellent breakfast. Cordial and helpful owner/hosts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Great place to stay on the Plaza! Staff friendly. The only concern I had it was a bit noisy in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, tx

Bed snob happy at southmoreland

Posted Aug 24, 2017
I travel for work but like to try locally opened establishments when possible. It is hard to find hotels or b&bs that have very comfortable beds with soft sheets and a variety of pillows. Southmoreland has all of these things in the comfort of a beautiful home. Staff is very attentive and the breakfast from the chef and owner was delightful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We are pleased you found the bed and bedding comfortable. Hopefully it resulted in a great night sleep. We hope to serve you again when you come to KC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great ambiance

Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Orbitz
Location: Walkable to many things. Great neutral location.
Owners Mark and Nancy, staff Rebecca and Renee are awesome! Everyone goes out of their way. Food was really good and different. Rooms are nice and outside is beautiful. Will definitely stay there again in the future!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from omaha

Very pampered

Posted Jul 5, 2017
They do a great job of taking care of you, great food, beautiful building
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Management
We are thrilled you felt pampered. Thank you for sharing your Southmoreland experience with other travelers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant but...

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Okay stay. Breakfast was fantastic, outdoor sitting areas are very lovely (and nice to have generally), and the staff is very nice. But it was one of the most intrusive inn's I've stayed in -- I couldn't find a DND sign for my door, you can't control the temperature (and I was freezing the entire time), my room was very small and dark, the staff that would clean my room would move my stuff, or randomly turn lights on or off. These are little things, but I was glad to leave at the end of my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KS

Close to Plaza

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Proximity to The Plaza was nice. Fabulous breakfasts. Lovely grounds. Quaint.
Location: Enjoyed walking to restaurants, theatre and shopping.
Very nice break from the stress and norms of today.
5 out of 5
by Matthew

Wonderful Bed & Breakfast

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
Southmoreland Inn on the Plaza has exceptional breakfast, beautiful views, clean facilities, and wonderful, friendly service! Would definitely go back and highly recommend!
5 out of 5
by Christine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels