Ratings based on 299 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location.

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Walking distance from some of the nicest museums and all the theaters. Very busy, in a good way. Room was smaller than I expected, but nice. The bathroom was downright dangerous! Water leaked onto the bathroom floor whenever I showered due to poor design. The pool was so poorly lit the I was not able to swim laps without almost running into the wall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Channel Islands

Relaxed luxury

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: Mostly everything.
Cons: Doubtless there are always things that can be improved: I do though like the way they do most things at 1 Aldwych.
Location: Its the middle of London. No problem finding all manner of things to do and see!
As a frequent(ish) visitor to the hotel I am always impressed by how it maintains its standards year on year and in particular that happy ambience that combines the luxurious and the relaxed. As ever the staff are helpful and friendly, the fabric of the hotel impeccably maintained (in particular the dressing of the wonderful bar always amazes.....) and the rooms comfortable and quiet. The central location is hard to beat as are the fitness facilities - the pool is a cracker for a keen swimmer. Yes, it is quite expensive but to me at least a stay at 1 Aldwych adds much to a holiday break or business trip and wins pretty much every time over most other comparable establishments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Expensive but worth it.

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Pros: Location, service, very quiet even though in the middle of everything.
Wife and I stayed for 11 nights at One Aldwych and enjoyed nearly every minute. Our Expedia booked room was a bit on the small side, with a shower in the tub. So we upgraded to a room with a king sized bed, two exposures, two nice chairs, a desk, and a shower separate from the tub. It was very comfortable. The service is impeccable. Maid service in the morning left everything absolutely spotless. Turn down service in the evening the same. Complimentary fruit every day. Cookies every now and then. Outstanding lobby bar, with wonderful drinks. Music on some nights. But the best feature was the ability to walk most everywhere. Hardly ever took a taxi. Walked to theater, the best restaurants, underground when needed for excursions, etc. If London theater is your thing, you cannot do better than being at One Aldwych for location. Will stay here again on next trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Very polite staff, very clean, modern, lively facilities including pool and gym. Enjoyed the Lobby Bar but would have liked more food selections. But lovely, well located hotel.
5 out of 5
by Leslie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ella

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worth a splurge.

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
Five star hotel that did not disappoint. Wonderful service and we were there at Hotel.com discount but were treated like VIPs even though we only stayed one nite. Terrific experience. Excellent restaurant at hotel - Eneko and access to hotel guest club room was a big plus since lobby bar is very active.
5 out of 5
by Lana

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Service is responsive to guest requests and professional. Eneko is an exceptional restaurant.
Location: The hotel is near covent garden and not far from Westminster and the theater area.
A great hotel in the Strand area. Exceptional service. Exceptional restaurant Eneko. Will definitely go back at One Aldwych
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent hotel and staff.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Great hotel with great staff in an excellent location.