Ratings based on 513 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Likes and dislikes

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Very clean and loads of hot water and good English breakfast
Cons: Wi-Fi in the rooms and the parking area could do with tidying up the old rubbish from the bins.
Location: Only stay there on a business trip
Rooms nice and clean and loads of hot water and good English breakfast, the only thing I found that wasn't very good was no Wi-Fi in the rooms only in the reception area apart from that it was a nice hotel for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to NEC

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Updating
Location: Location close to N.E.C.
The only thing good about this hotel was its location. 10 minutes from the N.E.C.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a good modernisation

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Cons: good modernisation
Location: good location to Warwick university and good location for Coventry city centre
check-in was quick with pleasant staff. the hotel as a whole was in desperate need of a upgrade and good modernisation. the room was basic and a bit smelly, but you pay for what you get, it done me and a friend for one night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel of last resort

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Check in OK but not friendly. Room dirty bed clean but you would not want to walk on the floor without shoes. Windows so dirty you could hardly see out and frames so old that there were gaps. We did not eat but both the dining room and bar look as if from a 1950s canteen. Only plus my wife smokes and they had smoking rooms.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Over booked when I arrived

Posted Apr 11, 2017
When I arrived the hotel had overbooked so there was no room. It took some time for me to be told as the staff disappeared. Eventually I was moved to their sister hotel the Brittania in Coventry centre. Both hotels are very tired however the rooms are ok if a bit noisy from traffic. Plenty of hot water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I got what I paid for.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Very nice. One of the staff was very helpful to me by explaining to me how to get about.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N

Ok hotel with ample parking

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Room clean but bed was not the best sheets to small and did not cover the bed. Noise of other guests was a bit of an issue but hotel cannot be held accountable for people shouting about. There was a shower in the bathroom but it was not working.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poole, Dorset

Good location

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: comfortable, spacious rooms, pleasant staff, great value for money.
Cons: Car Park and exterior.
Location: Central location for Birmingham NEC, airport & Coventry city.
This hotel does not deserve the bad reviews. It doesn't look very appealing from the outside but it has greatly improved on the inside. Very warm welcome from reception staff, bedroom spacious and clean, bed very comfy. Nice bedding and really good pillows. Bathroom clean, powerful shower, fluffy white towels. The bar is a decent size, has happy hour between 7 & 9 pm and good bar prices outside these hours. I would stay here again. Ongoing improvements are being done.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Hotel was run down thread bare, but clean, staff were great at check in, room was very tired and could do with some repairs. For the money paid can not complain
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton

No wifi says it all

Posted Mar 17, 2017
A very tired premises, as the estate agents might say. No wifi in the rooms - surely a basic requirement nowadays. I stay in youth hostels fairly often and they are way better value than this, and much friendlier.