Ratings based on 665 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Better room maintenance required

Posted Apr 23, 2018
Bathroom in very poor state of repair - toilet lid was completely loose, toilet bowl dirty, sink dirty and cracked and I find it very hard to believe hotel management would not already have been aware of these issues, indicating they simply do not bother to attend to matters of cleanliness and maintenance. Room comfort was adequate and hotel is in a convenient location, but better standards of cleanliness are required before I can say this place is anywhere near worth the money I paid for the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

filthy

Posted Apr 23, 2018
Room was dirty. Chairs with stains and reaped. No insturctions on how to contact helpdesk in the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Lukewarm shower. No VAT receipt.

Posted Apr 20, 2018
This is now the second time in a few months that I stayed at this hotel and there was no hot water to shower. Not great to only have lukewarm water on a day in winter. I tried to get a VAT receipt from both the hotel and from Expedia to claim the cost on expenses, but no luck so far. It's also not clear whether Expedia are just too incompetent to produce a receipt or whether they avoid paying VAT via some loophole. Not great either way!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bare minimum

Posted Apr 19, 2018
It's a run down hotel in need of modernisation. Fine for a night, staff were fine. Just everything is old, tatty and worn out. The feel where everything looks clean but doesn't actually feel it and on closer inspection things are worn and dirty. Carpets dirty. Not worth the money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2018
When we arrived our bathroom was flooded with waste water from the toilet this was moped up using a towel and only when we asked for the floor to be mopped was it
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

City centre hotel.

Posted Apr 8, 2018
Pros: City centre location.
Cons: Room facilities and decor needs updating. The wash basin in the room we stayed in had been replaced but the new one had been inset in the old one.
Hotel OK for a 1-2 night stay but wouldn't want to stay longer. Could do with a makeover looks a bit tired. Staff friendly and helpful. Restaurant open for breakfast and lunch but not apparently during the evening. Free internet access time limited to 20 mins.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from staffordshire

Needs some attention.

Posted Apr 3, 2018
The hotel is like most if the others in this group. Needs a lot of money spending on it. Staff were friendly enough. You get what you pay for I guess, the bed was clean enough, towels washed and tea and coffee making facilities were provided. For such a cheap price £40 for a night we couldn't complain. If you want that extra comfort then you need to open your wallet. We probably wouldn't go back again, but it certainly isn't the worst Britannia hotel we have stayed in.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dubai

Terrible

Posted Apr 1, 2018
Staff cannot give a formal straight answer, the facilities did not work E.G TV and kettle. My bedsheets had stains on them so in result I had to take them off the bed.....and even the quilt and matress was stained. The toliet wasn't flushed, it stunk the windows were moldy...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice & Cosy Room

Posted Mar 10, 2018
No parking in The hotel. Restaurant staff are less friendly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very central location

Posted Mar 10, 2018
Only stayed for the night but it's a solid 4 star place. Big older guy working the night shift was nice and polite but a younger woman at the desk in the morning was a little impatient/curt. Facilities were good but nothing stood out to make it a 5 star, also I expected toothpaste to be there which wasn't. Room was clean and comfortable, although I did feel a little warm trying to sleep. The location is obviously a main benefit. Practically walking distance from Coventry station and had taxis right around the corner. Also a huge benefit is the 24 hour open doors so you can come and check in very late.