Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Near Coventry

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Character
Cons: Update rooms and cleanliness.
Location: Near to Coventry, although difficult to find from the centre.
Interesting place to stay for one night but felt all of it rather needed an update and at least the rooms could have been cleaner. Breakfast was ok but the restaurant meals were very good, although pricey. Would stay there again but only for a one night break?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Medieval Banquet/Overnight stay

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Our party of 17 enjoyed a great night at the Medieval Banquet. All dressed in period costume, as were most people, excellent food and service and the entertainment was fantastic! Lots of humour and singing, but be prepared to join in to get the most out of this experience. Hotel, we were in Park Priory, was spacious and comfortable if a little cold at first. Excellent venue for a special occasion!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wolverhampton

Beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Cons: TV was quite small for the size of the room. Room service hung up when I called through, but I called through reception instead to rectify this.
It was my first stay in this beautiful hotel after many visits to the grounds. Love this place. The only downside was trying to order room service, but a call to reception soon rectified that for us. I would recommend this hotel and look forward to our next visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Coombe abbey experience

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Wow what a fantastic hotel can't wait to book another trip. Can't fault anything about our stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bromley

Unconventional

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Most impressive entrance drive, grounds and building. Has an other-worldly quality about it - a curious mixture of the medieval, religious, aristocratic, ancient Greek and Roman... Unlike any other hotel with which I am familiar. Comfortable room (almost OTT with heavy drapes, bed headboard and bell/lamp pulls). Towels were of excellent quality - and toilet paper too! First class breakfast.
Cons: Cost of dining in restaurant: quality(if not necessarily quantity) of food was good, but price was exorbitant. Bar food, with limited menu, was satisfactory. Duvet, though wonderfully 'fluffy', seemed of an unnecessarily high tog rating - temperatures were not sub-zero. Whether the universally dim lighting is something to like or not is a matter for the individual - murky or romantic?
Location: Seems to be in the middle of nowhere. Even the satnav said we'd arrived when we were almost a mile away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2016
It is a different hotel in decor, excellent dinner, good beer and pleasant staff. Would have liked more time to explore the hotel and grounds, but only stayed one night on business. Will stay again next time i have a meeting in Coventry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great Property - Attention to Details Lacking

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Property and Grounds
Cons: Service, menu, food and amenities do not match the beauty of the property.
We checked in at 2pm and were told our room would not be ready until 3pm. So we went to the bar to have a drink and bar snacks. Service was provided but lacking warmth and connection to any guests. Staff standing around but not connecting or tailoring the service experience to guests needs. A gorgeous property that is not living up to its potential. This property has the potential to become a Relais & Châteaux member but an overhaul is required. Attention to details for service, food, menu and vision are lacking. Rooms lacked 4 star amenities.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GB

Good but expected more

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Nice looking hotel but expected better from a luxury room. Pros - The bed was comfortable. - Nice bathroom and shower facilities. Cons - Lights were too dim, a bright light or 2 is needed in the room and one bulb continually flickered. - No bottles of drinking water were provided. - Room temperature control did not work. - WiFi intermittently disconnected for no apparent reason. - There were only 2 plug sockets available in the entire room which were at the opposite end of the room to the bed. - TV signal continually flickered and had no smart features available. - £5 parking charge for hotel guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Didn't want to leave

Posted Aug 27, 2016
A very special hotel full of quaint touches. Very good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

friendly helpful staff with excellent surrounding

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Beautiful setting, comfortable room, excellent nights sleep