Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vejle, DK

Historical secluded hotel with great service

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Historical items and decoration, location, hotel gardens, breakfast buffet, hotel staff
Cons: wifi signal, maintenance of furniture, noise insulation, hotel shuttle from Coventry train station instead of taxi
Location: Relax in hotel gardens, explore the hotel's many historical artifacts
I stayed at the hotel for business purposes for two nights. My room was on the first floor. The hotel is, overall, great - staff are professional, courteous, and welcoming; buffet breakfast is delicious with a wide selection of traditional British food but also fresh fruit, nuts, bakery products, cold cuts and more; the hotel itself looks like a small museum and there's much to discover; the hotel gardens are well maintained and perfect for relaxation. The only drawbacks I could see were related to slightly broken pieces of furniture, squeaky floors, no noise insulation, weak wifi signal inside my room, no minibar inside the room, too soft bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wirral

perfect hotel if you like historical buildings

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: The historical features and cleanliness of the hotel was excellent and the friendly staff.
Cons: Check out time of 10am is a bit too early 11am would be more practical .
We had an excellent two night stay and found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. Our room was fabulous (room 143) and the breakfast was lovely with many choices of continental and English dishes.. The hotel was very clean and was very authentic with many gothic features. Will definetly return to this wonderful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Beautiful hotel with lovely bedrooms for a perfect get away
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leicester

Wonderful hotel in beautiful countryside

Posted Oct 1, 2017
I had the most wonderful experience at Coombe Abbey..Staff were amazingly helpful from the time I spoke to them on the phone to explain the reason for our stay..A heartfelt thanks to the staff who did their best to offer me and my other half the best service and made our staff the lovely memorable one💖 Everything was perfect from , the reception, the lovely room and whole hotel environment where we stayed, the meals and everything else⚘ Thank you so much to everyone at Coombe Abbey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

The only place to stay in Coventry

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Lush surrounding park with amazing walks, epic breakfast buffet in beautiful garden room, very kind and attentive staff
Absolutely stunning and highly recommended! The only hotel I would stay at when in Coventry
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely period property I'm beautiful grounds

Posted Sep 10, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel, grounds and room were all lovely and the staff were very friendly. Unfortunately the food was quite average though and given the price of the rooms we were appalled to find out there was an additional charge for parking!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Glorious frontage

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: The outside vist is brilliant as you approach.
Cons: The lighting. at my age and eyesight reading in th e public areas proved chalenging
Location: No time for attractions i was working.
The approach made you wonder if the price had been correctly quoted. Inside was dark but still mighty inmpressive. and the price was thankfully not changed. Despite being midweek the restaurant was full which may be great for the hotel but not good for a resident who had spent 4 hrs on the road getting there. Advised best option was room service which turned out OK. Friendly helpful staff added to the enjoyment of the stay. The dark but lovely decor of my room gave a feeling of staying with the Adams family for the night but this did not detract from a most enjoyable stay.The exterior is brilliant as you approach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Coombe Abbey - A unique experience.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Personal attention.
Cons: Parking system.
Very authentic, quality furnishings. Rather dim lighting, but in character with history of building. Breakfast choice and quality surpasses any one might have experienced, attentive staff. All highly professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Great Hotel for Short Break

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Beautiful location. Hotel has maintained it's historical character but with all the necessary mod cons.
Overnight stay with wife on our anniversary. Enjoyed exploring the hotel's history, the grounds and the country park. Restaurant catered for our Vegan diet. Would highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable hotel in impressive surroundings

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Impressive old building and gardens, generous rooms and helpful staff.
Cons: Provide information and advice about tourist attractions in the region. Provide breakfast specials every day.
Location: Just outside Coventry, near enough to Warwick and Stratford to go there for the day.
We stayed for a very enjoyable long weekend. The room was spacious and comfortable, far away from the wedding celebrations so we weren't disturbed. Breakfast was good, although on busy days they don't do specials such as kippers which were very good when available. Parking was not free (£5 per day) but conveniently located. The staff were very helpful, but we thought it strange that there was no information about nearby tourist attractions, even about the park that was the house grounds.