Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Period house with comfortable but worn rooms

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Pros: Staff were very helpful and cheerful and they kept a nice fire going in the main entrance.
Cons: Refit the rooms were appropriate, improve the room plumbing.
Location: Close to the M6 and M69 but far enough away to be nice and quiet. Beautiful old Hall with great views from the Hotel.
The room was well fitted out, but the furniture has seen better days. The bed was comfy and the rooms quiet. However the shower was cold in the morning because the hot water seemed to be in short supply, so I had to use the bath. Lunchtime food was an interesting mix, looked as if the chef had cleared out the kitchen fridge or freezer rather than doing any menu planning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basics need improvement

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Pros: The reception staff were nice and very accommodating. The bed was exceptionally comfy and huge.
Cons: The shower needs sorting and a thorough clean.
We arrived on Christmas Eve expecting a sumptous superior room. Whilst at first glance it looked like it would meet the desired standards, it became evident within minutes that it was not as the website had represented. The shower was cold, with poor pressure and a bit that kept falling off. The grouting was mouldy and not what a superior hotel should accept. The curtains were a bit shabby and full of dust and the windows also in need of some mound treatment. The bed was super comfy though. We had a lovely lie in until housekeeping opened the door on us and giggled hysterically at their gaffe with their colleague. When I showered my boyfriend was told we had to hurry as housekeeping finished within the next half hour. Consequently I rushed to get ready and left for Christmas Day lunch without make up or hair done.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingswiford

Nice stay

Posted Dec 24, 2017
All good except there were newspaper(s)? on my checkout account when I'd said no to them on check in. There wasn't one delivered either! Concierge removed charge but mildly uncomfortable checkout. Apart from that a well priced (though discounted) room, clean and well appointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington Tyne and Wear

Traditional hotel close to motorway

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable, lots of parking, nice outlook onto countryside but minutes from the motorway and easy access into Coventry by car.
Cons: Piped music in all the public areas was a bit naff - classics and more modern songs transcribed for tinkly piano
Lovely property in a nice setting with easy access to M6/M69. The staff were friendly and helpful, managing to sneak me in for an extra night when plans changed. Continental breakfast included many options, everything was fresh and nicely presented. My room was very spacious and comfortable and the bathroom well appointed. It's a traditional, old property and the decor and furnishings reflect that. At price comparable to a modern chain it was well worth the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Forest.

Welcoming hotel with fresh flowers in the lobby.

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Location: Beautiful location - set in its own grounds. Quiet and peaceful.
On this occasion I was travelling alone. The restaurant staff were lovely and chatted to me whilst I waited for the first course of my evening meal. They remembered me from previous stays at this hotel and were friendly and professional. The food was wonderful, well cooked and presented. I was advised by the waiting staff to aim to have breakfast early as they anticipated a busy breakfast service. This enabled me to enjoy breakfast without having to wait for a table to be seated. Overall a fabulous stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hobart Tasmania

Ideal setting

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Its Setting
Cons: No Staff to take bags to and from your room, we arrived in the dark and had to walk around the outside not knowing where to go
Location: about 15 mins from coventry which was about 20 GBP to City centre
We Stayed for about a week which doesn't appear to be the norm, as the Hotel is geared towards Weddings and conferences, however saying that we had a very pleasant stay. Set in the English countryside with gardens and a little church out the back this is a great place to stay not to far from Coventry, but better suited if you have transport (or friends with cars lol)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet hotel, conveniently located

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Front desk staff were very helpful and the rooms were very comfy. Lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room was the only downside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Location,service
Cons: None
Location: Golf
Charming hotel, good service ,good quality room. Highly recommend for short stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful historic main building, but...

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Annex (where our rooms were) was not as impressive. Rooms were run down as in, walls dirty/in need of painting, some black mildew in bathrooms, carpets threadbare in spots, stains/tears on furniture upholstery. But, the linens, both towels and bed, were gorgeous/high quality. Beds were very comfortable. So, I'm torn. Another mixed bag was that the fire alarm went off at 5 am oursecond night (Sunday morning) which was very disruptive. Hotel staff later acknowledged it was because another guest was smoking in a room. On one hand, I'm glad the alarm system worked so well. On the other hand, we had to ask for an explanation and we're offered no comforts--even minor, like free breakfast--for the disruption. Also, no electrical converters available to borrow, which was somewhat disappointing as most good U.K. hotels offer those.
5 out of 5
by Robbie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels