Ratings based on 462 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Close for what we needed
Location: close to the ball stadiums and arena for concerts with plenty of restaurants near by
Quick and friendly check-in experience. The location was great for what we needed (venue for concert was across river). The room was nice and clean. The only problem was with the heating/cooling unit didn't work properly and didn't realize until the middle of the night when our room was close to 80 degrees.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Gus, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving us a review of your experience! I am glad that you found our location to be convenient for your needs, and that you found our team to be hospitable. I have shared your feedback with our maintenance team so that they may address the issue. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future! Best Regards, Gus K. GM
5 out of 5
by David

Great location

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Great location with easy access to public transportation to get to Cincinnati and Newport cheaply. Walking distance to restaurants and bars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi David, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us a 5-star rating and review of your experience! I am glad to hear that you found our Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront location in Covington to be convenient for your needs. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future! Yours in Hospitality, Gus Krimm General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Wouldn't recommend to a homeless person!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Worst hotel experience of my life! Rooms weren't ready, wrong rooms, NO HOT WATER, room service trying to break in while sleeping! Not happy
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Gus, Hotel Management
Hi Shane, I apologize for the unsatisfactory experience. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future as I am confident that your experience will be much improved; yours was neither acceptable nor typical of a stay at our hotel. Best Regards, Gus K. GM
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4-star review!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
Don't stay here. This place is by far the worst in the Covington area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, I apologize that you did not have an enjoyable experience at our property. Unfortunately, without more information it will be difficult for us to improve in whatever areas you felt were lacking. We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future, as your feedback is not typical of the feedback we receive from our guests, so I am confident that your next stay with us will be much improved. Best Regards, Gus K. GM
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and good value

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed for business and the room met my needs. The front desk staff was very friendly and the room was clean. The shower had also been recently updated, which was nice. I did find a spider in the bathroom, but that could happen anywhere and it's the time of year that they start trying to come inside. Overall a good experience, convenient to downtown Cincinnati where I needed to be.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and our newly remodeled bathrooms. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Will E. Assistant General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Experience

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
they did not have our room ready when we got there, told us we could check in later. I asked that they had us down for the king bed and was told yes, no problem. When we got back, they had given out our king to someone else. I had booked and paid for this room 4 months ago as a birthday trip for my fiance. Very frustrating to get bumped from our room after I had already gone to check in. they even had our luggage in the back. The double bed was uncomfortable, causing me to only get about 4 hours sleep. The bathroom looked nice, but is very awkward as the sliding frosted glass door to the bedroom does not lend itself to bathroom privacy. It does not really shut, just slides over leaving a gap at the sides. Its also very bright if someone has to use it in the middle of the night. This would definitely be an issue if I was sharing a double room for work. Also, the description said tub, the room we got only had a shower. They did tell us they would refund our stay. That's all fine and good, but it kind of killed the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Traveller, I am sorry that your experience at our property was not an enjoyable one. I will be reviewing your experience with our front desk team and discussing ways in which we can prevent similar issues from occurring in the future. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future, as I am confident that you will have a much improved experience. Best Regards, Gus K. GM
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
The room was excellent for the reason why we were in Covington.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at Holiday inn Cincinnati Riverfront, and for taking the time to leave us a 5-star rating and review! We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Gus Krimm General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Very pleased with staff and room.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: The staff and the cleanliness of our room.
Cons: The hotel interior was a bit outdated.
Location: It was a great location for us as we were there for a football game at Paul Brown Stadium. $5 Uber ride or 25 minute walk.
The hotel interior was a bit outdated but the room itself was very nice. Seemed very clean and was quite comfortable. The staff was very friendly. We didn't eat in the restaurant/bar but it seemed decent and we would've have tried it out had we had time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Gus, Hotel Management
Hi Nicole, Thanks for choosing to stay with us at Holiday Inn Cincinnati riverfront during your recent visit to the Cincinnati area for a Bengals game! I am glad that you found the room to be comfortable and our team hospitable. I am also happy to report that the next phase of our renovation will begin this winter to upgrade the public space of the hotel. We hope to see you again soon! Yours in Hospitality, Gus Krimm General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4-star review of our Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront location!