Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville, VA

Do not stay here

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: At least you got a free buffet breakfast out of it. The food was average.
Cons: There's only 150 characters, so I'll just answer the question of "what can be improved" by saying: everything
Location: I rented the room for the Greenbrier Classic golf tournament. If I go back next year, I will definitely stay somewhere else.
The room was not clean from the start. There was a lady's nightgown hanging from the back of the bathroom door, so they obviously didn't clean the bathroom. After the 2nd night, I asked for new sheets for my bed because there was a Coca-Cola spill on the sheets. The next day, instead of replacing the sheets, they made the bed real tight looking as if the sheets were replaced. Pitiful
3 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Mark

Pick anywhere but here!

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is way over priced for what you get. This hotel is more in line with an EconoLodge type of room. Very simple room with no amenities in it. The room was definitely lived in hard and it showed this. I would have picked the Econolodge next-door and save half the money if I knew was going to get that type of room. Bed was very lumpy. Clerk put me in a room that was at the exact opposite side of the hotel entrance (where the restaurant was). Right behind the room was the State DOT garage, and since it was snowing that night, they operated all night long with trucks banging and beeping and a learning very loudly. I was awoken at least three or four times throughout the night based on all this noise from them. The restaurant was not open for dinner ( which was another reason I chose the hotel) and the clerk said the owner said Mon nights are slow, so he decided to close Mon nights. Tub/shower drained very slowly, so my shower consisted of standing in water the whole time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
Wasted money
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We're Sorry!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible experience

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Terrible experience- room was dirty, beds uncomfortable, either too hot when heat was running or too cold due to motel style door leading to outside and drafty windows. Received poor customer service when requested a rollaway bed, even after offer to make the bed myself front desk was not eager to assist. We had booked for two nights but left after one, overall one of the worst experiences I've had at a hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review! We are sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory! I can assure you that our Guest Rooms are double checked for Certification before we allow a guest to check into our hotel, which was done for your case as well. We hope that you will consider giving us another try during your next visit to or through Covington, VA Sincerely, Cary L.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Basic and clean...

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Boxy room, decent tv. Bed wasn't bad, fluffy pillows. Huge group staying at the same time as me, but it wasn't too loud. They did use up all of the hot water one morning... The room was quite clean. Fresh sheets. I think it was a little over-priced, but the breakfast is really pretty good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

If only for a few hours....

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Convenient to interstate...convention nearby.....not many choices
Cons: Three different room keys didn't open the door so I did not have a key. My room was opened with an actual key but if I had left the room to go to my car or get ice, etc, I had to leave my room open. I arrived late, it was dark and I was on 2nd floor. Bathroom floor had not been mopped - dirty boots marks on a wet floor at some time. Carpet did not appear to have been vacuumed. Bathroom was ok - just not clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Leaving.
Cons: Staff, room, cleanliness, etc.
Location: Honestly, the location was decent. There were a lot of places to eat very close by and it was close to main roads.
When we first arrived and went to the front desk, the clerk clearly did NOT want to be there. When we went to our room we were greeted outside by a beeping (obviously because it needed repair) smoke detector in the hall outside. The room had a gross, mildewing smell which was caused by the standing water that was sitting in the shower for who knows how long. When we called the desk about it, they said they would send someone up, and they did. The gentlemen fixed whatever the issue was so the water would drain, but the smell remained. Then when we went to put something in the refrigerator we found old food container inside that stunk, thus we didn't use the fridge--we were so fed up at that point that we just decided to go to be so we could wake up and leave the next day. However, we couldn't sleep because the walls are so think you hear everything! When I went to check out, I had to wait several minutes while I listened to who I'm assuming was a manager discuss personnel matters with two workers...they could have easily paused their conversation, checked me out, and then gone back to their conversation. Once someone finally came to check me out, they asked about my stay and I was honest--sitting water, smelly room, food left in fridge, and the person literally looked at me and said oh, well, thanks for your stay, your receipt will be emailed to you. No apologies, no asking how the problems were handled, nothing. The short: do NOT stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels