Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice hotel in a beautiful Town

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: The large room and comfortable beds
Cons: The bathroom had a sour smell but was clean. Maybe the shower curtain needed to be replaced
Location: It was very close to the West Virginia Fair grounds that we attended and had a Great time at.
Nice large clean and comfortable room. Enjoyed playing pool in the lounge with other guest.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reunion in the atea

Posted Aug 23, 2016
I requested first floor since my husband is handicapped we were put on second floor. Horrible shower stood in a foot of water for a shower could not turn off water bed very uncomfortable no blanket the air only worked on very cold we stayed two of three nights planned. Would not recommend or stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The only game in town

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Access to the rooms is outdoors, they have a pool. and breakfast is included.
Cons: They don't have enough help. Repairs are needed in a number of areas. Their bath towels are like sandpaper. Their bed linens are old and bunch up.
If you are going to stay overnight in Covington, this is about the only place worthwhile. There are a couple of other places, but they don't have the amenities of this motel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice old family style hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Very nice old style hotel with great restaurant, bar, pool and super friendly staff. It is so very well maintained and clean. The beautiful view of the mountains is a great plus too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ahoskie, NC

Ok for one night

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: It's location is a gateway to the mountains
Cons: The hotel feels like it could use a refurbishing.
Location: Check out the Cat and Owl steak and seafood restaurant in Low Moor
This hotel is a bit dated and could use an upgrade. It was clean and quiet, but this is a place to sleep for a night and move on. They advertise a hot breakfast. It was breakfast, and it was hot. Enough said.
2 out of 5
by Len from Independence ky

Disappointed

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
One night on way home from vacation. Cost was $115 per night. No where near worth that. Maybe $59 night room at best. Room had musty smell. Damp carpet. Outside stairs rusty and dirty. Very pungent sewage odor outside.
2 out of 5
by John from Virginia

Dated but good food

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
Ok stay. Hotel pictures were about 20 years ago. Very worn, staff friendly, good food!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Acceptable hotel, bad booking experience.

Posted May 26, 2016
Pros: It was conveniently located to what brought me to Covington VA. It's economical and acceptable with a reasonably nice staff.
Cons: Expedia could actually make the reservation with the hotel that was booked with them.
Location: Beautiful location. Mountains standing outside your room door. Beautiful country all around.
The room was clean and fairly comfortable for what was published as the rate on expedia. I wasn't expecting plush carpet and leather recliners so not finding these things wasn't a disappointment. Breakfast is provided with the room and consisted of a reasonably good hot breakfast, not a continental waste land of cold cereals, skim milk muffins and bagels. The only problem I had really was the fact that expeida never communicated the reservation to the hotel. I did not get a king size bed, I wound up in a room with a pair of twin beds and I paid more for the room than quoted. It was quite an ordeal sorting all this out at the front desk upon my arrival. A most unpleasant experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too expensive for an outdated motel

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
This says it is a hotel but it is a motel, very outdated . Was clean though and staff were nice and helpful. The bar was awesome ! Breakfast was good in the restaurant but they need a new server , very slow . We had to leave for work and there was nothing fast about her . Definitely needs updating .
2 out of 5
by lynn from VA

Stay in Lo Moor if you need to some this way

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
The room overall was not the cleanest. Crumbs on the night stand. Still some hairs in the shower/tub area. Took a couple times to reach reception. Cable reception was fuzzy and blurry. There as a cable remote but no TV remote or controls to try to fix TV. The neighborhood has nothing around but at the hotel, there was no parking. Looks like the CSX employees need their own place. We had to park in a restaurant across from the hotel, not as well lit as I would have liked. The room and hotel itself could use some updating. Breakfast was OK but the server was excellent. She was friendly and fast. She came back to check on us. For the price and cleanliness, I would recommend staying in Lo Moor if you have to venture this way. Hotel there was half the price and in better shape.