Ratings based on 299 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Restaurants very accommodating for food allergies.

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Beautiful at the holidays. Lots to do. Take advantage of activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016
It was our first stay at the Homestead and it was absolutely wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Gorgeous Escape in the Mountains

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: It was comfortable, cozy, great staff, gorgeous spa.
Cons: Food could be less strictly timed--if you get up between 10:30 and 11:30 on the weekends, you're out of luck, etc.
Location: We went to the Jefferson Springs, which was my reason for coming up. In the summer I'd love to hike around there.
I found the staff here to be incredibly nice and customer-focused. We had a room in the "newer wing" and as I understand it, it's a little nicer over there. The beds were soft, housekeeping was great. It's expensive, obviously, and everything within the resort is correspondingly expensive--I recommend going elsewhere for food--but the experience itself is fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2016
The hotel was "Magical". The hotel is enchanting and feels as though you are taking a modern day trip back in time. It is exquisitely decorated and clean and crisp. Truly timeless! Can't wait to go back! A very special place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Fun family resort perfect for Thanksgiving

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: The staff were wonderful and planned many event and activities that everyone could enjoy. The Thanksgiving buffet dinner was excellent.
Cons: We had low water pressure in our shower and inconsistent water temperature but the charm of the main building made up for it.
Location: The hotel provided shuttle service to the Jefferson Pools a few miles away. The location in the mountains is stunning with several free hiking trails
Nice getaway destination for a family Thanksgiving with great activities and dining options.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Fantastic overall experience

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Fantastic holiday experience for the entire family. Staff and activities were spectacular
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC Area

Always great to be at the Homestead

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Great ,beautiful area to walk, to see nature. All staff very accommodating, pleasant especially Nina who gave us a lot of information about the hotel. She went out of her way to help us.
Cons: Jefferson pool was closed during the weekday - that's too bad because we really like it. We understand it was out of season.
Location: Golfing, hiking, horse riding, great restaurants, mineral springs. archering, falconry
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing stay with great amenities. Spa experience was outstanding.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampton, VA

Hotel nice, staff nice.. Isolated, expensive.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The room was clean and spacious. The staff was friendly and we enjoyed the 250th anniversary celebrations. The set up for the conference was great also.
Cons: We only had one hot shower the three days we were there. When we told the front desk upon check-out he sort of shrugged and asked if he could help us with anything else. The hot springs aren't on site (you have to shuttle) and is 18$ for an hour in a run-down hut. The restaurants are overpriced but you have no other options as there aren't any stores or restaurants for miles outside the hotel property. If you don't want valet parking, too bad- there is no other option even though the parking lots are close by. (They charge 10$ a night plus an additional 10$ valet fee...)
Location: Scenic and isolated. Nothing to do besides hotel activities and small town with café and some small shops.