Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I am a repeat offender!

Posted Jan 16, 2017
I think this my 8th time here, but not sure. These folks just do a really nice job with everything: rooms are spotless; close to the beach; diving and swimming right across your private bridge. Good restaurant and bar. A little out of town, which is nice to avoid the bad crowds. Extremely helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your preference and your confidence. We make our best effort to do your stay enjoyable and that you feel like you are in home. We look forward to see you again very soon! our best wishes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from idaho

Fabulous, friendly employees! Wifi? Pillows?

Posted Jan 6, 2017
The hotel staff was wonderful. The wifi, you have to pay for, was beyond bad. Pillows were like sleeping on something stuffed with scraps of material. Upon checking in the person said no refrigerators were available in the rooms, but after moving to the room we actually paid for after complaining....it had a refrigerator. Pay $5 a day for not much. Another person I met mention you have to watch bc they will try and down grade your room unless u say something. Not sure if this is true!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, Hotel Management
Dear jolene, Thank you for your valuable time for sharing your review about our property. We received the report about the wifi and it was resolved the next day in the morning. About the pillows we have two kinds of pillows: soft and firm, and some other kind available at front desk. Please note that we have 4 different room categories: standard, superior, ocean view, deluxe cabanas, all these with different amenities. Once again, thank you for your time and for your confidence. Iliana López Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort Public Relations & Customer Service
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Decent for the money

Posted Dec 12, 2016
I have stayed a Casa del Mar a few times and probably will again. If you get a good price on your room and are looking for a centrally located place, you will be ok here. It isn't particularly fancy or very well maintained but it is ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Casa del Mar Cozumel Hotel & Dive Resort, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable time for sharing your review. We make our best effort to make your stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great dive hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Location to the dive shop and the value.
Cons: The food could be improved.
Location: Just south of town and across the street from the ocean and dock.
Had a great time and would recommend for divers. Dive shop and dock is right across the street. Food was the only downside. Pretty average at best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from league city, tx

Nice hotel. Good stay.

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Hotel was clean, staff friendly. Dive boat picked us up at the dock every morning for our two dives. We walked to cozumel city several times, shopping or dinng on the way, and taxi'd back most times. The breakfast buffet was good. we ordered omelettes each day before the dive. Dinner was fine, but most nights we were in cozumel city. We enjoyed a drink and cigar by the pool watching boats go by. The hotel is close enough. We rented mororcycles next door. A convenience store is next door. We had a really good stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Good Value

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Pros: Convenience for diving and value.
Cons: Better pillows and mattresses.
Location: Close to the dive shop an dock.
I went with my son for a diving trip. The hotel was well located for diving. It was clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly and the restaurant was good. It is not a luxury hotel and that is reflected in its pricing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota, USA

Nice reasonably priced place to stay

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Pros: Nice rooms, free parking, pool, hot tub good snorkeling right in front of hotel.
Cons: Nice sandy place on the water with beach chairs although the steps need to be repaired that you use to get into the water
Location: Close to the beach, a road between the hotel and the beach although it has it's own bridge over the road. Near enough that you could walk to town.
Very convenient location although we had a car, without a car you need to take a cab into town. We snorkeled right out in front of the hotel, swam in the pool, sat in the hot tub, enjoyed two for one happy hour drinks, ate very good food in the on site restaurant and enjoyed using the beach club free that is down south.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Charged extra after booking online, when complaining they put us in back of hotel in bad rooms tried to get us to pay more for balcony or patio, won't ever stay here again very upset about my stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from milford mi

Old School, Quaint, Friendly, Helpful, Great Food

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Pros: The food was crazy good. The drinks were made with good liquor. The staff was very helpful and stay there year after year I am told.
Cons: new and softer mattress and pillows. in room wifi
Location: perfect location, walking distance to drug stores, restaurants and boutiques. Across the street from the ocean with over the road access.
I loved this placed. Old school Mexican Hacienda type of hotel. We stayed at a Luxury hotel the week before and I enjoyed the Casa Del Mar just as much. The standard rooms are small, no wifi in the rooms but you can pick it up in the lobby and the pool area. The bed and pillows are hard but the room was very clean. The food is WONDERFUL and much less than the surrounding restaurants. This is a great place for the divers and non divers. If you like the feel of vintage Mexicana this place is it. You can walk 2 blocks south to the business district that caters to the cruise ships or go 1.7 miles north to the center of town. For the price it is a good value and the drinks are not water down like the all inclusive place we stayed at the week before. All premium liquors. We did not take the meal plan because we do not drink a lot or eat breakfast. But at $42.00 a day the meal and drink plan is ok, premium steak, shrimp, pastas, etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Less than expected

Posted Feb 14, 2016
Pros: restaurant, music
Cons: Room fridge. Windows and doors that don't knock back and forth by themselves. Notification that Internet or wifi access is not possible from rooms.
Location: Nice location, nice beach and pool, near by diving, near cruise ship shops, some other restaurants near by.
Booked via Expedia. Whole bill was pre-paid. Desk clerk asked if I was staying more than one night. When I said no, he charged me $5 without explanation. When questioned he mumbled something about amenities, Internet access, ... Other guests said they were being charged $5 dollar a day, and they could get wifi in their room. On check out I talked to the desk clerk about it, and told her that it gave a negative impression of the hotel. She told me that I would have to submit a report to Expedia. I told her that I wasn't the one that would be hurt by such a report. She made a copy of my paperwork, that made no mention of extra fees. Another guest chimed in and said they would tell others and they wouldn't be back. Service people were very courteous and eager to please (in contrast to male manager type at check in).