Ratings based on 525 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing for price but in great location

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Room and service should equal their pricing.
Location: Close to dive shop, shopping and cruise ship port.
No coffeemaker in room as advertised, maintenance was banging at 10-11 p.m., towels and sheets were hard. Didn't get all the towels each day and staff weren't very friendly. Sink was about ready to fall out of vanity and there were stains all over the floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

How Can You Not Love This Hotel.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the water.
Location: It's 10 minutes to the main plaza downtown where the majority of the better restaurants and shops are.
Another trip to La Ceiba with the same results. PERFECTION. The friendly, non-pretentious atmosphere has spoiled us on our other travels, for this is our level of expectation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Andrés Maillard., Hotel Management
Dear Michael, What a lovely review! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time on El Cid La Ceiba Beach, thank you for choosing us again and for sharing your experience through Expedia, It is a pleasure to hear that our staff could met your standards and that we were part of another great experience at Cozumel. We hope to see you once again and continue to be your favorite destination. Until next time! Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good place to stay. 3 miles from town but plenty

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Hotel was nice, staff was nice rooms were fine hotel is only 3 miles from town nice amenities just across the street
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

A well managed beautiful property!

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Reasonable prices, clean, great view from rooms, friendly staff.
Cons: N/A
Location: Lots of nearby restaurants/beer joints to check out within two miles. Cheap taxi fares. Hire a taxi/van for a 4-5 hour tour of island. Use concierge.
We were very satisfied with our five day stay. This resort is doing things right. When was the last time you were greeted with friendly smiles from every staff member on every day? They were intent on assuring our happiness from arrival to departure. We did not have the 'all inclusive' package but were nevertheless surprised at the reasonable prices for food and drink. Adrian the activities guru knows how to keep beach life interesting and as active as you want to be! Once again many Thanks to the entire staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Andrés Maillard., Hotel Management
Dear Scott, Thank you for writing such a lovely review and for choosing El Cid La Ceiba Hotel as your place to spend your last time on Cozumel, I really appreciate your review and it makes me feel very proud of our staff. Thank you for mentioning Adrian, from the Activities area; be sure that his work will be recognized by our team. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the Restaurant’s area. Thank you for sharing you experience! We look forward to seeing you next time your travel brings you here. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Very nice small hotel, it is extremely clean. The staff is exceptional and the restaurant is very good and fairly priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Another wonderful experience.

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: We have always loved the fact that it is a small property with just over 100 rooms and short walks to the beach/ pool area as well as the restaurant.
Cons: The rooms are nicely redone, great bed. Some of us dicussed the lack of robe/towel hooks by some showers. 1BRs lack enough drawers for 2 or more ppl
We have been visiting La Ceiba for for over a dozen years and it never dissappoints. Great location and an exceptional staff are the key reasons for us always choosing to come back a couple times a year. The staff treats you like part of their family and the experience is made even more enjoyable seeing how they support and respect each other. Esther, Roberto B., Jorge, Crisanto and Julietta are big part of the reasons for the La Ceiba's popularity. My feelings are shared by many of the members/guests that we have seen over the years. One thing we discussed was the music playing on the beach andat the pool area. It can be loud and to make it worse, the restaurant plays music that you can hear on oneside of the pool and activities guy puts a speaker 50ft away playing different music.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Andrés Maillard., Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, I am very glad to hear that you decided to come back and visiting us once again, thank you for your fidelity and for writing such a lovely review from your experience in our Hotel, It makes me very happy to learn about of your experience here in El Cid La Ceiba Beach and read that our staff made you feel like part of the family and as I said to many other guests, of course you are, all of our guests are part of our big family. Thank you for mentioning Esther, Roberto, Jorge, Crisanto and Julieta and be sure that their work will be recognized by our team, I appreciate your observations about the pool area and the lack of towels, your comments are very important to us to continue providing our guests the best vacations experiences, thank you for sharing your sharing you opinion. We hope to see you soon, until next time! Sincerely,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

decent hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2016
The staff was friendly and the hotel was clean. The food was decent. The issue was there was major construction going on which was extremely loud. Pounding all day loud. Also the pool was under construction our whole stay-thank gawd we were beach f not though ;)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Above Expectations

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Location, price, friendliness, cleanness
Cons: Put coffee pots in each room. Every room should have free internet not just the lobby.
Location: Everything is nearby.
This is going to be quite lengthy because several things happened during our week visit. When we first signed in Riovo, not sure of this pleasant lady's name, informed us that repairs to the room were not completed so we would have to go to another hotel. She assured us that the taxi would be paid as well as the accommodation for a couple of days. She surprised me by saying that they'd include the all inclusive plan which we hadn't paid for. We enjoyed the surprise food plan and returned in a couple of days. Ms Riovo put us in the penthouse on the 12th floor which surprised us again because we only paid for a studio. She then included a breakfast and dinner for the inconvenience. Once we were on the 12 floor we discovered that to get to the bedroom you had to walk up 9 steps. Usually this wouldn't be a problem but my husband had hurt his back and the steps irritated the back so off I went to request another room. The hotel again with a smile put us in another lovely room without stairs. I am so appreciative of the effort El CID made to make our vacation a success. They went out of there way to welcome us and accommodate. I would recommend this hotel and plan to return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aubrey, United States of America

Good stay

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Swimming pool was being repaired. Noise was terrible. We were not offered and compensations.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels