Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Another wonderful experience.

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: We have always loved the fact that it is a small property with just over 100 rooms and short walks to the beach/ pool area as well as the restaurant.
Cons: The rooms are nicely redone, great bed. Some of us dicussed the lack of robe/towel hooks by some showers. 1BRs lack enough drawers for 2 or more ppl
We have been visiting La Ceiba for for over a dozen years and it never dissappoints. Great location and an exceptional staff are the key reasons for us always choosing to come back a couple times a year. The staff treats you like part of their family and the experience is made even more enjoyable seeing how they support and respect each other. Esther, Roberto B., Jorge, Crisanto and Julietta are big part of the reasons for the La Ceiba's popularity. My feelings are shared by many of the members/guests that we have seen over the years. One thing we discussed was the music playing on the beach andat the pool area. It can be loud and to make it worse, the restaurant plays music that you can hear on oneside of the pool and activities guy puts a speaker 50ft away playing different music.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

decent hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2016
The staff was friendly and the hotel was clean. The food was decent. The issue was there was major construction going on which was extremely loud. Pounding all day loud. Also the pool was under construction our whole stay-thank gawd we were beach f not though ;)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Above Expectations

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Location, price, friendliness, cleanness
Cons: Put coffee pots in each room. Every room should have free internet not just the lobby.
Location: Everything is nearby.
This is going to be quite lengthy because several things happened during our week visit. When we first signed in Riovo, not sure of this pleasant lady's name, informed us that repairs to the room were not completed so we would have to go to another hotel. She assured us that the taxi would be paid as well as the accommodation for a couple of days. She surprised me by saying that they'd include the all inclusive plan which we hadn't paid for. We enjoyed the surprise food plan and returned in a couple of days. Ms Riovo put us in the penthouse on the 12th floor which surprised us again because we only paid for a studio. She then included a breakfast and dinner for the inconvenience. Once we were on the 12 floor we discovered that to get to the bedroom you had to walk up 9 steps. Usually this wouldn't be a problem but my husband had hurt his back and the steps irritated the back so off I went to request another room. The hotel again with a smile put us in another lovely room without stairs. I am so appreciative of the effort El CID made to make our vacation a success. They went out of there way to welcome us and accommodate. I would recommend this hotel and plan to return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aubrey, United States of America

Good stay

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Swimming pool was being repaired. Noise was terrible. We were not offered and compensations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fayetteville Ar

It was a ok hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: not much
Cons: everthing
Location: not much
The restaurant service was very poor at best. The food was ok at best. Very over priced for quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tacoma

Posted Sep 21, 2016
we were lucky to get a room on the 9th (of 12) floors. Great views of the huge tour boats coming in and going out hours later. I note some of the reviews criticized the presence of the boats and noise they made. (1) other than blowing their horn for the people on land to get back on board, there was no noise whatsoever. (2) it was great fun to see them come and go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2016
The we have been staying at the La Ceiba for over 25 years. Always a wonderful experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Accommodations were "okay" but.....

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Air conditioning in room.
Cons: Coffee in room, continental breakfast definition reviewed by management.
Location: Near the cruise ship pier so you get to contend with a couple thousand new friends every day for taxis, and space.
Hotel was okay, but there are a lot of things lacking here. No coffee in room! No internet in room. Continental breakfast comes with a "catch". A little too far from town to walk consistently. My girlfriend's rings were stolen from room. Good: air conditioner worked great in room. ( there is no A/C in the common areas of the hotel). Staff was friendly and smiling even as they told you no to a request. Bad: My girlfriend's rings were stolen from the counter. We assume by room service. They weren't expensive rings, so she didn't bother putting them in the safe. I guess we should have. No internet in the room. You have to go to the lobby or pool/beach, enter a username and password EVERY time you log on or if the screensaver comes on. That got annoying. I wake early and there are no coffee pots in the room. If you want coffee you have to go to the restaurant (when the open) and sit. Coffee is not free. It's a couple of miles to town, restaurants and shopping. It's okay to walk some times but if you want to go eat and not be sweaty when you get there or its raining, it's a cab ride every time. The taxi mafia is a rip off on the island. Constantly trying yo gouge you. We had the "Continental Breakfast Included" in our stay. Sounds great. The first morning we went to the restaurant and got ourselves sweet rolls, fruit, and coffee. When we were done they gave us a bill for the "buffett". We had to argue to have it removed. Continental is brought to you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Key

Posted Jul 25, 2016
We enjoyed this place. When we got there our air condition was broke and the sent us across the street to a all inclusive hotel and took care of everything. The staff was very friendly and always smiling. The only problem we had was there was never any beach towels to use. Other than that I would go back with no problem.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ehh

Posted Jun 27, 2016
The water pressure in the shower was terrible- a steady stream lasted about 30 seconds then it would dwindle to half of the initial burst and shower would stop. Oher than this issue, the room was adequately sized and very clean. Facilities: In the hallway were random furniture pieces and parts of a broken door jam. The hotel provided beach towels were worn thin and dingy looking.