Ratings based on 1,980 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmond, OK

Great Beach/Super Clear Ocean for Snorkeling

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Sits right on a beautiful beach. The water is super clear due to a seawall/pier they built. Lots of fish to see. You can use the snorkel gear there for 1 hour at a time (free). The hotel is older but they keep it very clean, and the grounds are manicured constantly. Food is just okay..if you're coming here for food, don't bother. Come here for the beach, pool and ocean. The beach waitress, Lordes was great. She kept our whole family stocked up with drinks. At airport, go straight to the outside and get a van to hotel. Do not turn right and talk to people in the 'booths', it is a timeshare pitch.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2015
This is not what I have come to expect from an all inclusive hotel stay. There is only 1 restaurant besides the buffet. Their were birds eating off the buffet line. We only had entertainment 1 night out of our 7 night stay. The air condition in the room could not keep it cool. The mosquitos at night were really bad. The beach was very nice. The snorkeling was good but they only let you check out equipment 1 hour at a time. I have been on 4 other all inclusive stays and this was the worst of the 5.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Week long Stay 6-19-15

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: Snorkeling and beach area, pool. Room service. The view is great.
Cons: The food for sure and AC in the lobby and restaurant. Wifi access over the whole property and not just the lobby.
Location: It's on the other end of the island away from most attractions. I would defiantly recommend renting a car versus a taxi.
Had a very nice stay at the resort. The rooms were nice, clean, and quite. Beds are on the firm side, but not bad. Pillows are pretty flat. Beach is great. There is a small area that is sandy beach and a lot of area that is great for snorkeling. Just to the south of the resort along the beach is a great area for snorkeling that most people don't know about. If you walk all the way to the other resort and get in the water at a little inlet, the current will take you right back to the resort. Our biggest complaint would be the food. It's just OK. We spent a lot of money eating out away from the resort. The ala carte dining in the restaurant is better than the buffet, but the AC in the dining room is POOR. Hard to enjoy dinner when your required to wear long pants and sit in a restaurant that had no air movement and was about 84 degrees every day. It was cooler and there was at least a breeze outside. I think room service was the best food we had there all week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ryan S.

Awesome Deal

Posted Jun 26, 2015 on CheapTickets
Came back 10 years later and was super impressed. We toured the island and I believe they have one of the nicest beaches and pool setups as well as the best price. WiFi sucks but I needed to unplug anyway and it got my wife away from her phone so that was a plus in my book. I will come back and I wouldn't go anywhere else in Cozumel. Didn't take kids but totally would.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: All aspects of this hotel
Location: Close to town
Old, out dated, mediocre food, our room had standing water on the floor which I had to clean up myself.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia, MO

Average hotel with great beach and pools

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Great location, great beach, nice pools
Cons: Air conditioning, night life, supplies in the room (towels, water)
This was our 2nd stay at this resort. There are many positives of El Coz. The beach is great, the pools are nice, and the food is good. The staff is kind and very hardworking. The biggest negative is the lack of air conditioning in the resort. Mexico is a hot place, and none of the common areas are air-conditioned well. Even the rooms are not cool. We bought a fan, and it helped in the room. There is also no nightlife on the resort. They did have a band one night, which was great. They also had a show one night, but we didn't attend. The buffet was much better this year than last year. There are still birds flying around, but the resort really tries to keep them out. We were pretty shocked that none of the kitchen staff wore gloves. They were cooking and touching food with their bare hands. Just gross!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carrollton,Mo.

Posted Jun 25, 2015
We just got home from El Cozmolino and we had a great time. My biggest complaint would be the air conditioning in the lobby and the restaurant. Otherwise we love staying there. This was our second time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Culloden, WV

Great beach and snorkeling right at the hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Great time! Friendly staff, beautiful facilities, and only 5 min cab ride to downtown Cozumel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha

One of the best in Cozumel

Posted Jun 22, 2015
The hotel staff is incredible, always working to get you another drink, fix an issue, or trying to remember your name. The beds are a little firm, but still comfy. They also had some issues with the elevators breaking or AC going out while we were there. Those are just typical things that happen on any island we've stayed at. Had a great time with TONS of stuff to do and definitely the best beach on the island.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from r

Mold through the whole hotel

Posted Jun 21, 2015
The staff was amazing..!! The hotel had mold in 50% of the rooms due to the AC not working. We had to look at 5 rooms before the last room finally was acceptable. Overall the staff is what saved the trip..! Friendly and personable people on the island. The private beach was rocky but with amazing fish at your door step.