Ratings based on 1,260 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

wonderful week of sun and fun

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: the staff/food and very very clean
Cons: the TV needs to be updated and the pressure in the shower was nil. Although I was not there to watch TV
Location: just around the corner from the golf course, snorkeling and diving were done on site. Jet Ski's and boats for rent and we went on a great excursion.
we had a great time, the staff was very friendly and fun, the hotel was the cleanest of any hotel we have stayed at. There were daily activities and nightly entertainment. The food choices changed every meal and everyday. When we needed information about the island we always got information about fun things to do. The beach was clean and the pools were very very clean. There were enough beach chairs. We also were given tips about what NOT to do! Someone was always there to get us a taxi and we felt that we were treated very well. The TV needs to be upgraded and the water pressure was nil. There was a leak in the wall and was fixed promptly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jan 16, 2017
We had a wonderful week enjoying good food, kind and attentive staff and snorkeling right off the beach. I will definitely be going back. This was my first time using Expedia and we were delighted with the flights they provided in the package. We arrived and left in sinc with check-in and check- out times so we were able to enjoy every day. Great vacation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Good value

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Location, staff was there to help, and food was good
Cons: Add another specialty dining venue
Location: Close to town, some guests walked, and only another mile or so to the airport
All was good with this hotel except the lack of an additional dining venue. Nevertheless, food was very good and drinks were aplenty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NM

beautiful views

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: the view
Cons: noise and food
Location: location is good, close to airport and town
The view from the balcony was amazing and it was wonderful to sit on the balcony for breakfast or dinner. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was average and mostly the same every day. There is a restaurant but it is difficult to get a reservation unless you want to eat at 900 or 930. Order room service, but the menu is limited. Breakfast off the menu is great. The halls were loud and walls thin, you can hear a lot of outside noise. Not much nightlife. Website needs updating to have more accurate information. WiFi only in hotel lobby. This is a good place for families and children. If you want an adult only trip pick another hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad room

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: There was plenty of alcohol and it was right on the beach.
Cons: The hot tub needs to be hot. Update the older rooms.
Location: There is an awesome lobster resturant with in walking distance.
The older part of the hotel has horrible rooms. Our friends with us were in the new part for the same price as our horrible room. I was there a week and had no where to unpack my clothes. I requested to change rooms and was refused. I do not recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Decent resort on the beach

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Not enough umbrellas and chairs available even if you get up early to save one and either you were in the sun or in shade. Wish to have both
Location: Scuba and snorkeling awesome, high end shopping available, airport is easy to deal with
The resort was all inclusive; it had food and drinks available all day, a nice restaurant requiring reservations with table side service (included), and a doctor available on the property. While staying on property we had access to several pools (cold), 18 hole putt putt, umbrella and lounge chair service on the beach and at pool areas, free snorkel gear and the availability to scuba certify. The ocean was beautiful and warmer than the water in the pools; we were there for Xmas 2016. Most of the people staying there during this time were families, mostly from the US and Canada. Downtown shopping was very good and accessible by $8 cab fare or a 35 min walk along the main beach road where there were other resort properties, beach homes, and areas of beach access as the road parallels the beach. We enjoyed ourselves very much and it was exactly what I expected. Most everyone working there very nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great beach and service

Posted Jan 8, 2017
While the hotel is a little dated, they do an awesome job maintaining it and keeping it in top shape. The beds are a little hard, but not too bad. Every room as a beautiful beach view. The food was pretty delicious and varied. We really enjoyed ordering a la carte, especially when lounging at the beach. Great customer service and location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stillwater, OK

15th Anniversary BLAST!

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: The proximity to the beautiful water - you are right there. The views from the room balcony are lovely. The staff does an amazing job!
Cons: With all of the excellence, the mattresses are not the most comfortable. The longer you stay, the less comfortable they feel. This could be improved.
Location: Right by the beautiful water and not to close to town. Scuba diving is amazing with Plonge Grand Cozumel! Shopping & fool in town are great.
My wife and I travelled to Cozumel for our 15th anniversary. We found the El Cozumeleno Resort. We've never been and were a bit unsure about what to expect. Most of the reviews we read were positive and a friend who stayed there had good things to say. None of the opinions came close! It was WONDERFUL! The water is incredible. The resort staff is diligent, engaging, and looking for opportunities to serve. Overall, this was an amazing experience. If we are ever able to go to Cozumel again, we would be very happy to go to El Cozumeleno!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Posted Jan 1, 2017
All-inclusive food, drink and fun. Wade in, swim, snorkel, dive, jet ski all from the hotel. Great staff!! Few issues with fixtures, faucets and they had a water flow problem one day but the overall value beats it out. We'll be back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver Colorado

Nice advertising not so nice to stay and play

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: The reservation restaurant was awesome we tried to eat there most nights.
Cons: attitude.
Front desk staff very rude. They were not helpful at all after check-in. we paid for 24 hour laundry service that took 4 days. could not get money back period. No matter the question or issue we were having the answer was no. I even asked to borrow a ballpoint pen to write down directions and was told no. The main buffet, all food taste the same. only 2 types of beer at the bar, they advertized all kinds of thing to do, beach snorkeling, putt putt golf, bike riding ect.ect. The problem is the rental place to get gear/toys closes at 5pm. no over night rentals.