Ratings based on 2,037 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, Texas

Excellent staff

Posted Aug 18, 2017
We stayed here for three nights. Check in was easy and quick with a cool punch drink. The air in the rooms isn't very cool if you suffer from hot flashes, but my room was cleaned each day and fresh towels supplied. Ate in the buffet restaurant for most meals, but did eat in the other restaurant one night. Rodrigo and Oscar took excellent care of us. Did not go on the beach, but those who were on the beach seemed to enjoy it. We used the pool and the hot tub. Pool was good, but hot tub was not hot (about same temp as pool). Location is away from downtown so it is a little quieter. Downtown is a short ride away which didn't bother us. The elevator is a little small and they only had one elevator working. Overall a good stay and would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from columbus

Good snorkeling bad food

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Great snorkeling and beach, great water with amazing colors, excellent minigolf, great staff, gym non existent, activities non existent, wifi only in lobby not in the rooms, no air conditioning in lobby where you gather to use wifi, small beds and poor lighting in the rooms where furniture is non sufficient ( one nightstand for two beds), food absolutely horrible, with birds and flies walking on buffet trays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Great Stay

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Pros: The wait staff is friendly with prompt service. The venue is family friendly.
Cons: Better mattresses and more pool towels.
This was our tenth annual family vacation at El Cozumeleno. We went off site for scuba diving, shopping, sightseeing, and a few meals.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beaumont, tx

The beach was great

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: It was clean..The beach was beautiful and very clean. The staff was great.
Cons: Check in could be more organized. More choices on food and update the room at least put in a coffee pot and mini fridge.
The hotel was clean and the staff was nice. Check-in was a nightmare , we didn't get into our room until after 4:00 PM. The rooms are outdated but very clean... The food is my biggest complaint about this hotel. We chose a all inclusive , so we wouldn't have to eat out. We ate out 3 nights in town...It was the same food everyday on the buffet and if you chose to eat at the one restaurant they had it took forever for your food..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Comfort was lacking

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Great beach with snorkeling and very clean. The beds are very hard and we were using the pullout couch with had a horrible matress if it could be called that. The Buffett was very disappointing. Was hoping for some mexican food dishes!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Bed bugs, rooms need to be fumigated !!!

Posted Aug 8, 2017
I read several reviews about bed bugs in rooms. Last review I saw was from February so I thought it would've been taken care of for my trip July 30-Aug 3. Although some that travelled with me did feeling itchy while in bed they didn't get bit like I did. They nurse practitioners I saw gave me some cream to put on the bug bites thank God the itching is finally subsiding and the whelps are starting to go away. The was the third resort/hotel I've stayed at in Cozumel and the first time ever in my life to get eaten up by bed bugs. The check in was a nightmare. Stood in line forever to be moved to another line. They need signs to show where check in and check out is. Checking out wasn't much better. The food was decent better than some all inclusive ive been to. The pools were nice as well as the beach and snorkeling area. First hotel/resort I've ever been to that the staff is so unfriendly so sterile almost robot like. My cousin was going through the buffet line she asked one of the servers for some grilled eggplant. His was response was if you wanted the grilled eggplant she had to give him a tip. When she refused to give him a tip he refused to give her the eggplant. I thought all inclusive meant everything on the buffet was included. The beds were very hard so the four of us didn't sleep while our whole time there. If they had comfortable beds, no bed bugs, more organized and friendly staff I would think about staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Nice beach area!!!

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Check in was a nightmare. Checking out wasn't much better. Beds were hard where sleeping on the floor may have been more comfortable. Food and drinks were great. Didn't do the dinner dining where reservations are required due to the day of you have to be there by 7:30 am to reserve a table. The staff wasn't very friendly unless you were anything else other than white Americans. The room were cleaned every day if you wanted them cleaned. Housekeeping did a great job. No wash clothes were provided. Grounds keep did a great job. Our first day there (July 30) while eating the buffet my cousin asked for some grilled eggplant. The cook told her she could have some if she gave him a tip. When she refused to give him a tip he refused to give her some eggplant. I thought all inclusive meant everything included. Guess grilled eggplant is extra. I saw One of employees at the buffet turn to another employee and roll his eyes at a white lady and my cousin, who knows some Spanish said they were talking about the lady. The beach, pool and snorkeling areas are very nice. The doormen were very nice. I could probably stay there again if the mattresses were changed. Overall it was a great stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas!

Close to beach

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: I liked my room.
Cons: Air condition the lobby!!
Location: Nothing is nearby we had to pay for a taxi everywhere we went.
While the hotel was nice enough, and the rooms were nice and clean enough, the food was nothing special and the main lobby was hotter than anything! Our room was cool and comfortable enough. When we asked for a two hour late checkout, we were told we could do it for $40.00. No thanks and we had to hang out in the HOT lobby!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beautiful beach and excellent service

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Great snorkeling, big rooms but dated, friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Ok place to stay. No problems. Staff was friendly and helpful.