Ratings based on 2,071 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good on a budget

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Stayed here two nights in order to relax after a hectic trip around several other cities and it was well worth it. Very pleasant for a low price. Would come back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shower did not work. No Hot water!!

Posted Nov 14, 2017
No Hot water in Room 1116. Shower did not work properly, no pressure. I would have been better served by bathing in the swimming pool. This is my 3rd stay at El Cozumeleno they are usually a lot better than this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

lots to love, needs some changes too

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: Staff!
Cons: Music, hot water in the hot tub
Location: Bar hop is fun! Fishing, snorkeling, shopping, lots to do
I wrote an extensive review on trip advisor, but not as much space here. Love the hotel and staff! This was our 5th stay and overall a great time. The music at the "fun" pool area has changed to music you hear while riding a carousel. Hated it! Many guests agreed and complained, they are supposed to be changing it back to the great music they had before. The staff are wonderful and friendly, always go out of the way to help. Food is good, never went hungry. No problem ever getting a drink, and they were wonderful. Room was big and always clean. Beach is clean with plenty of chairs and room for guests. Hot tub was never hot or even warm, yikes! Our friends say they don't want to return, but I am on the fence. Love so much about the place, we will see
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small allinclusive hotel with nice pool and beach.

Posted Nov 6, 2017
The staff there was great. There were some things in the rooms that could've been better (has been awhile since any upgrades) but overall was nice and comfortable. We had a great time snorkeling with the hotel's guide (included) and we ended up with a great deal and experience deep sea fishing that we booked out of hotel lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Fantastic as Always!

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Third visit to this place and we fel like family. The staff is Amazing! Fernando, Rusbell, Angel, Gabriel and Yajaira made us feel welcome and kept us entertained! Can’t wait to return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Great food and great service! Had a very comfortable stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

deffinate budget hotel.

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Not very luxurious, but great for the price. Excellent snorkeling at hotel. Limited food options and we got terrible sand fleas. Friendly attentive staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Dated hotel. 15 years ago this was a nice hotel...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Great resort

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Only thing I saw was , pool walls need some attention.
Location: If you like going shopping and dining in town , taxi to town not to expensive 150 pesos or so.
The staff at this resort is awesome, they do everything to make your stay enjoyable. Food was great views were awesome and they clean somewhere all day long. We can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older hotel all inclusive

Posted Sep 24, 2017
we enjoyed are stay!! Great staff! Older facility, but that doesn't matter. We are so blessed and fortunate to even spend time in a resort. Lobster house and key lime pie right down the street!