Ratings based on 1,801 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Staff and ocean view
Cons: Wider food selection on the buffet
Location: plenty of activities, town was fun with vendors willing to bargain, outside restaurants very pricey
We had a good stay at El Cozumelena Beach Resort. The service was excellent. However, the beach and buffet selection was only average. We observed a couple altercations among guests due to excessive drinking, which cleared out the families that were enjoying the pool and adjacent area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just ask for Miguel!

Posted Jul 27, 2016
My husband and I loved our stay! The first day was hard because you are not explained where anything is and just sent to figure out the place on your own. We did have the best waiter (Miguel) throughout our entire trip who made our experience worthwhile and will be the reason we return to this resort!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Snorkel right off the hotel beach

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: It is a comfortable hotel and staff is really good. It's good for families with younger children or groups of friends who don't require much nightlif
Cons: The food has gone downhill quite a bit. It is plentiful but monotonous.
Location: I love the beach at this hotel. Getting to town is easy. Rent a car for a day and drive around the island for a different perspective.
This hotel has nice snorkeling right off it's own beach. Take your own snorkel and mask and maybe a float too if you don't want to be at the mercy of the dive shop hours. Dive shop is only open 10-5 and borrowing gear is only for an hour at a time. I stayed at this hotel years ago and chose it again for it's location. $8 taxi to town, great beach, staff and pool, Unfortunately this time the food was a disappointment. The same items over and over. But if you ask they will make just about anything you request and bring it to you pool/beachside. Drinks aren't great but that's true for most all-inclusives. Small tips go a long way. Just ask your waiter or bartender for exactly what you want in your drink and they are happy to oblige. Staff is wonderful. They aren't expecting tips but it certainly is appreciated. The activities staff do a few simple activities but there wasn't a lot of participation by guests when we were there. Bikes were out of service for the time we were there. Rooms were clean but the beds and pillows were uncomfortable. This review doesn't sound great but for the price this hotel is a good value, just keep expectations on the low end regarding food, bed comfort and activities and enjoy the grounds and location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from st louis missouri

Great snorkeling beach

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Great snorkeling beach and not a lot more. The resort itself is in need of updating! The food was barely tolerable, bar staff ignored us and forget about any internet!! One small corner of the lobby offered it. Staff aeemed bored with their jobs and the guests. Other than convenient location and beach there isn't much to rave about. Very disappointed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 25, 2016
The hotel was nice very close to the beach but overall it was average. They only had one restaurant and you had to make a reservation for it. The other eating place was buffet but the choice was not that great. Also both places closed at 10:00. If you were on an excursion and came back late you didn't have anything to eat. Even the room service was closed by then. The WiFi was awful . You could only get service on the front lobby and no where else.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison, MS

Great resort next to the beach!!!

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach and nice pools.
Cons: Food is not good.
Great trip, very friendly staff. Only thing that I would improve on would be the food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
We had a wonderful time at the resort but the beds were extremely hard and I asked 3 days for them to put cushions on our bed and the only reason I got cushions was because I caught the maid in our room. The food was not that great and my daughter got food poisoning the last day we were there. We did go on the boat and ate at another place so I can't blame where she got it. My husbands phone got stolen in our room so witch only means it had to be the maid. It is sad to say but it is a beautiful place to stay and the employee's are awesome but we will never go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blanco, TX

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Hotel was not well maintained. Room doors not secure (just a pop knob lock), bed was hard, food was not good, and pool was filthy. However, the all-inclusive rate was very reasonable. The best thing about this hotel was the exceptional staff, drinks, and beach. You can tell this was probably a very nice place in the 80's, just needs to be updated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great beach access and service.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Service
Cons: Improve food quality (even if there is less variety) and reduce the price on the rental of the sea doos.
Location: It is far from Cozumel's downtown and you will have to pay 8 dlls. for a taxi to go to town. Things to do: snorkel, parasailing and diving.
The staff at el Cozumeleno strives to provide excellent service. However, the hotel has old, dirty furniture and very poor wireless service. Although there is a variety of dishes served, it all seems to taste the same because it lacks quality. The only thing that I really enjoyed was the fruit smoothies.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blize

Perfect all inclusive experience

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable, super staff, good food, very relaxed.
Cons: It's obvious that it was built before the age of electronics, and everything is manual. This isn't a problem if you want to unplug (which we did).
Location: North of the town on Cozumel. Golf across the street and a quick taxi to town, but you don't really need to go anywhere else.
We found the staff extremely attentive, the food was great, and it is a very comfortable place to stay with enjoyable people, both guests and staff.