Ratings based on 1,230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa

Good Stay, but I don't like all the changes

Posted Sep 27, 2016
We have been celebrating our anniversary at the Coz for many years now. I understand there is new management in place, and when that happens, there is always changes. All the staff that we have grown to love are no-longer working there. Read This, very weird, but the resort no longer supplies wash clothes, so bring yourself a couple. I know that's weird. The food is much better than recent years. There appears to be some re-modeling going on, lots of boarded up portions of the resort, with tons of construction workers, painters, etc. I'm not sure I like all the changes now, but will come again next year to evaluate.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahomq

nice place

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: Air conditioning. Was hot in lobby and restaurant
Location: Close to downtown
Stayed four 6 nights. This is a beautiful Resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay by the beach

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Friendly staff, good facilities if not a bit tired. Lovely food and service. Need to sort out there WIFI service which is poor at best.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chihuahua mexico

Hotel el la playa

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Cómodo, limpio, personal agradable, familiar, playa bonita.y limpia. El único detalle es que el Internet estuvo muy mal durante la estancia
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beautiful property, this was our seventh visit.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Location, rooms and staff.
Cons: More restaurants on the property would be nice.
Location: Snorkeling right off the beach and the pools are beautiful.
Beautiful beach for snorkeling. Wonderful staff and property. We will be back again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Stayed in low season; Good value for the price!

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Good service! Comfortable rooms, beach access on resort.
Cons: Buffet could be much better, but we understood that it was low season. Not a big deal to us, we are not here just to eat!!
Location: In the north hotel area, about 1-2 miles away from downtown. The ferry to Playa Del Carmen is only $8 USD for the taxi, or $80 pesos.
We went late summer for lower cost and there were good & bad things about that. GOOD: quiet, easy to get reservations at the nice restaurant, no prob getting chairs/umbrellas on the beach or to use equipment. BAD: swim-up bar closed, and buffets were minimal --food got cold quickly since less people ate. There is 1 nice indoor restaurant where you made reservationsdaily for dinner that night. Dress code: long pants/sleeved shirts/closed toe shoes for men, and no beach flip flops or shorts for women. The food was very good, service excellent. We enjoyed the piano player! It was also open for casual breakfast. Also very good. The outside restaurant had buffet for breakfast. Lunch and dinner were menu items. Some food was better than others. We enjoyed the snorkeling. The beach access right on the resort is great! We played beach volleyball, bags, mini-golf and there are jet skis, though we didn't rent them. All the staff are very friendly and helpful! Internet in the lobby is free and worked fine. I was surprised that my TMobile 4G worked great in all of Cozumel!! The front desk will print your boarding passes for 10 pesos a page. Rooms are good size, very comfortable. We had a private balcony & in-room safe. In summary, if you are looking for a good value for an All-Inclusive, this is a great place! If you want high end and top of the line food options, then pay for it elsewhere. For a family of 4 w/2 teens we enjoyed staying here!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

3rd Time's A Charm!

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Perfect stay. Better food presentation and service. Exactly what we needed as it was the beginning of the low season after kids were in school so it was quiet and our room 1818 was to die for with its view. The beach snorkeling at this hotel with rocks and 2 walls had eels and octopi and so much more was fabulous to see. Fish galore. Bring scuba gloves to avoid urchin contact. Spent 2-3 hours daily just enjoying snorkeling and brought underwater flashlights for night snorkeling. Also a perfect beach. Excursions on site. Bring 200 one dollar bills to tip a whole week! We will return again next year and this is now an annual trip for us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Enjoyed the stay, clean, staff was excellent,

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The price was good, clean
Cons: food quality,
Location: hotel was too far away from the center of things
Good experience, would stay there again, nice beach area and pool
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Avondale, AZ

It's all about the fish!

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Love the snorkeling right off of the beach. Love that it's off the beaten path. Love that it's not a "spring break" type resort.,
Cons: Well.... We love it anyways.
Location: Cenoyte diving, the cute little submarine, romantic dinner cruises, that crazy water propelled jet pack thingy, daytrip to Playa Del Carmen.
Don't be whiners! It's Mexico. This little place is not a 5 star all inclusive, but it is a really fantastic budget all inclusive. The snorkeling right off of the beach is fantastic! The "dress up" restaurant is superb if you order the special that night. It will not disappoint. No the wifi isn't all that but you're on vacation! It comes and goes, just wait. If you want stronger drinks or premium liquor, just ask. They will remember the rest time you are there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Friendly staff, very good beach BUT.....

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: The staff were great, the beach especially because of snorkeling ease
Cons: Improve food and beverage quality, freshen up the rooms, do something about the heat in the lobby or expand WiFi throughout the property,
Location: There is nothing within walking distance but most all inclusive resorts on the island are in the same situation
Pros: friendly staff, nice beach with good snorkeling, many amenities on property, maid staff really cleans rooms Cons: food and beverage quality are average to below average at best, rooms are old and VERY tired, the lobby keeps it doors shut and the AC does not work, it is cooler outside in the 95 degree heat. WiFi only works in lobby