Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Location location location

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Old, worn out building in a most desirable area of town. I've been staying here for years because it is close to everything and it is extremely diver friendly. Unfortunately they do not make improvements. The No Name Bar poolside out back is legendary and a great hang. The in-house dive company, Dive Paradise, is the best on the island. I can only hope they put some money into the rooms. I've stayed there many times for the aforementioned perks, but this last time was probably the final time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

description completely false

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Orbitz
The only truth about the description listed is the location. Location is walking distance from everything. The rest is completely false! No room service, no coffee shop/cafe, no kitchen or space to spread out for dining as described! The kitchen is a small fridge nothing else not even a coffee maker or microwave. Definitely no mini bar. No pillow top beds, hardest bed I have ever slept in. Free wifi only in the lobby, no mini golf. You can't even lay at the pool unless you buy food or drinks from the restaurant that runs it. Which is separate from the hotel. You also can not lay in the lounge chairs on the patio outside the pool area unless you again buy food or drinks from restaurant. The hotel has rented the whole area to them. Waste of money find a different hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017 by juan, Hotel Management
I HONEST I DONPT KNOW WHY MY ANSWER WAS NOT GOOD FOR YOU.
5 out of 5
by Gregory

Another Great stay at Hotel Barracuda

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
This is my 9th stay at the iconic Barracuda. Basically - still the same hotel (very simple, comfortable place to sleep) on the water in downtown Cozumel. Absolutely walk to everywhere. Perfect location. The beds have been notoriously uncomfortable - but one of the two beds in my room had a new mattress on it. Seems like they are slowly replacing the mattresses. Great news! We only tried to go to the No Name Bar once - and here's why - we sat a table by the pool for lunch, and waited for 10 min then finally asked for menus - then we waited 40 min for the waitress to come back, she walked by a few times but never looked at us, so we left - horrible service at the No Name Bar. They obviously did not want our business (The bar and the pool are separately owned - I bet the owner of the No Name Bar would be mad if he knew that we weren't able to spend $50usd on food and drinks at his establishment for a meal - we walked about 100 feet to the next restaurant down the street and had a great lunch!) (There are dozens of great restaurants within a 5 min walk - you should try El Muelicito - which is upstairs right next door to Ronaldi's).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice hotel close to downtown

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Convenient to Mega store and downtown. Great view of the water from our room.
Cons: Water pressure, provide wash clothes
Location: Great location. Walking distance to markets and restaurants.
Didn't know it was Carnaval time so it was a very busy part of town. All of the locals warned us about being back to the hotel before the parade started. Hotel was OK but wasn't crazy about staying on the 4th floor - 44 steps one way. Definitely got our exercise. Water pressure for the shower was very bad. Took forever to shower and was my hair. Great location for snorkeling and a lot of divers liked the location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by JUAN GUZMAN, Hotel Management
so sorry for inconveniences, probably you got 4th floor because we are full during carnival, ussually we give the room our costumers want by request.thanks for your comments
4 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Convenient

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: Location was great. Pablo was wonderful to work with. He gave us great deals and helped us out. It was nice to walk downstairs and out onto a beach.
Cons: At one point when we walked in, the hotel clerk was watching soft porn on the TV. That was very disturbing. There was a little mold in the shower
Location: Location was great. We were within walking distance of shops and food and the pier. The dive shop was practically next door and that was important.
This is our first stay in a hotel in Cozumel. We usually rent a villa with a group. It was very convenient for us for diving and dining and just sitting and enjoying the sun. However, the food and drink prices were very inflated compared to the restaurant right next door. They did give a 15% discount to hotel patrons, but we still paid much more then next door. That was pretty disappointing. And the MADE you order something. We were staying at the hotel. We should have been allowed to just sit and relax.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated rooms good snorkling

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Close to downtown in the main street Great location for getting of the ferry 10 min's walk Snorkling was amazing from the front of the hotel Rooms were very dated and the showers was moulded in the corners and one day we had no water pressure and the next day was better AC was very noisy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver,Co

Beds hard as a rock

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Rooms are pretty run down. Beds were very uncomfortable. Hard as a rock. I was stiff from sleeping in them the whole time. Is a good location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, Mo.

Great hotel for snorkeling, Snuba or scuba

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Orbitz
Older hotel in immaculate condition. Scuba on premises. Snuba next door at Jeannie's. Great for any meal. 2 blocks from downtown. Food and drinks good but pricey. Lounge chairs needed upgraded. Tables and chairs plentiful with umbrellas.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels