Ratings based on 887 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saskatchewan

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Hotel is ok, horrible beds and pillows, centrally located, close to everything you need
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, AL

Good dive hotel.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Location: Within walking distance to the grocery store and downtown shopping/restaurants.
We came here for the diving. Hotel Cozumel rooms are no frills but adequate for divers. The dive operation is across the street and you get on the boats at the pier across from the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Noisy!

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: The room was okay and clean, convenient location, the bed was comfortable.
Cons: Turn off the music during siesta time and evenings.
Location: Close to San Pedro, scuba, snorkel
The room was okay and clean, convenient location, but the noise from the pool area was awful! There were games, activities and music all day long until 10:00 at night. The volume was so loud, we could not drown it out, even with the loud air conditioning unit. It seems like every room faced the pool area. Won't stay again because of the noise factor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Don't do it.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Room: the room was as pictured. The bed was terribly uncomfortable and the "pool view" was obstructed. Not sure why they gave us a room so out of the way when they're clearly not in season and the hotel was not busy. Amenities: the beach chairs are all made by a very old cloth and are ripping apart at the sides. By midday there is a white gunk that builds up by the edges of the pool on the right side from the entrance. The pool is also not heated. When it goes down to 70° you really need a heated pool. Food: The pool side bar food always looked very old and like they don't control the temperatures. Bartenders were very nice and did try their best. The breakfast buffet included was the best part. Okay food selection and again not always at correct temperatures but their omlete stand was great. They don't offer many alternatives to non-pork eaters. Staff: the only staff you really ever see is front desk, concierge works weird hours and we only saw someone sitting behind the desk twice. We had to ask front desk and they told us someone arrives at 5pm but then they leave at 6. We were only helped in booking one excursion and had to use trip advisor for the others. We waited for 10 minutes for someone to help us get a cab, again front desk had to call someone and 20 mins later and no cab. We finally went out on our own and got a cab within seconds. The reservations manager has no social skills and needs to learn how to talk to guests. Would not reccomend this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

great location and hotel amenities

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Location: Ferry to the mainland close by for day trips to Playa del Carmen and Tulum. Lots of shops nearby.
We just came back from a wonderful 9 day stay at Hotel Cozumel and Resort. We were pleases with the location, walking distance to the town as well as a private beach for relaxation. Though not one of the prime sandy beaches of the south, they built up the shoreline for sunning and snorkelling and boat launches for the avid divers. All were conveniently located. The hotel offered free bike, games, entertainment and water equipment, making again, the stay enjoyable. The hotel staffers were very attentive. Our main concern was the drinking water and upon arrival we saw that there were several free water dispensers with water safe for consumption, replenished regularly. During our stay, they also set up a coffee urn in the lobby for the avid morning coffee drinkers, so we didn't have to go to the dining room across the street. They also had a tunnel which went under the road and connected directly to the dining hall- a great safety feature for families. It was nicely decorated with underwater murals, like the general design of the hotel, especially the lobby which was spacious and inviting. The wifi connection was weak in the rooms but much better in the lobby. We took the breakfast buffet only, but we could purchase drinks and dinner options if we wanted to, and we found the prices very reasonable. However going into town for dinner was a great experience because the food was great and there were many affordable options. We would return. A great deal for our money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel over all.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
It was great experience there is no beach however bit if you take a ride to the east side of the island it's nothing but beautiful waves and huge beaches. Overall great experience for the price. This is 100% a dive resort tho and doesn't matter who you dive with they will pick you up right from the dock right in front of your hotel. I highly recommend dive with Martin however.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel,

Posted Jan 8, 2017
It was a nice stay, in general shot and sweet. Hotel facilities nice and clean. Staff good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great Hotel with private beach access!

Posted Jan 4, 2017
We had a wonderful time: the swimming pool is amazing, the staff is great, shows run every night and the buffet is perfect for various tastes and diets. There is a quick access to the sea from the hotel where you can observe fish without swimming very far. Finally, the hotel is conveniently located close to the main stores if you need to buy anything. The only negative aspect was the location of our room: with two young children, our room was facing the stage where people gather during and way after the evening shows, which made sleeping routine a little difficult.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

Nice hotel close to town but noisy by street

Posted Dec 4, 2016
I'd stay again but not by street. Good dive shop across Street and it's close to town
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Hotel Cozumel

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Decent hotel for the money. We went for an event that was near the property, otherwise we wouldn't have chosen this resort. Staff is over worked and not very friendly, amenities are minimal, etc.