Ratings based on 823 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, Michigan

Quiet, botanical paradise

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: We liked the layout and all of the beautiful vegetation. The exotic and friendly animals add much to the ambiance. We liked the open air dining rooms.
Cons: We would have liked some hooks in the room to hang wet towels and bathing suits. We noticed that the swim up pool bar top could use some repair.
Location: We rented a car a explored all over the island mainly focusing on snorkeling from shore. We spent a day exploring east side beaches.
At first we didn't know what to think because we were used to the hustle and bustle of modern Cancun timeshares. Iberostar Cozumel is set up as a series of huts with 4-8 units per hut. We thought this was strange then grew to love, love, love it. Pathways wind among beautiful landscaping with many animals just hanging out to say "hi". We felt relaxed and marveled at how quiet and peaceful it was. Our favorite bartender, Roger, made special Bushwacker drinks for us each day after coming back from morning snorkeling. In the afternoons we would venture out for a snorkeling session then return to the swim up pool bar which had the most amazing Mojitos. Breakfast, lunch and dinners were fun and amazing. At first we had to get used to all of the variety since we don't eat out much and cook our meals at home. After the first day we felt right at home and each meal was a fun tasting adventure for us. On Sunday evening, we locked ourselves out of our safe and Pedro showed up quickly to help us out. The staff was so courteous and helpful. Alejandra checked in on us to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. The staff cared so much to make us happy and comfortable. Our room was very clean and Mariana made sure we were well stocked each day and did a wonderful job of taking care of us. The resort staff was extremely attentive. We felt safe and happy. We slept deeply each night. The pool is beautiful at night and the stars are great to view from the end of the beach dock.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, tx

Best place to stay in Cozumel

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Awesome service, food, facilities, environment, scuba partner Dressel, and location. Close to dive spots and far from hustle & bustle of cruise ships. Love the flora and fauna too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2017
COMPLETELY AWESOME FACILITY AND STAFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

quiet and relaxing

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Stayed before
Cons: Food Quality- while there is variety, they are skimpy on meats if you are a meat eater.
Location: Ibeostar is in a remote location on the south of the island. Its a great get away. It is close to some of Cozumels best dive sites on the southern end
I have stayed at Iberostar now approx 6 times, As a scuba diver, I love its proximity to some of the best dive spots on CZM. Its quiet, relaxing with very warm staff. If I could say anything negative, it would be after 7days (typical stay due to flight schedules) the food becomes a bit monotinus. Perfect time to head into town and enjoy a night out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from trophy club, texas

Tucked away paradise

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Almost everything.
Cons: Rooms could be a little cleaner. Primarily the grout in the floors need a good scrubbing.
Location: It's isolated and mostly about hanging out and relaxing, or going out on diving or fishing trips from the dock.
Loved the quiet tropical experience with a beautiful setting and resort. Each bungalow has 2-4 units with porches and the entire complex is quiet and private. The restaurants are lovely and the food pleasing. Beachfront is amazing. The beach entry is all coral rocks, however, that's the only negative if you want to frolic at waters edge. Water entry is best done from the steps at the dock, and there is a great dock with multiple dive, fishing and snorkel boats coming in. Easy. Overall, we loved the place and will go back soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from denver co

Dissapointing hotel.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Small rooms, some bugs at times. Food was ok but could only eat at the specialty restaurants 2 times on our 7 day stay. Pool was great. Beach had a lot of rocks and coral. Expensive to take a taxi anywhere. toilets kept plugging and overflowing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fishers, IN

Posted Oct 11, 2017
The food could've been better, but it was a great resort!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your visit and for sharing your review about your recent stay with us. It is good to know that you enjoyed our resort. On the other hand, we have taken your feedback into consideration and we have forwarded your comments to our Food & Beverages Managers. We look forward to have the opportunity of welcoming you once again. Best regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Disappointed This Year - Gotten CHEAP

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Staff were wonderful - Ladies @ front desk Victor,dining rm Gaspar, lobby & pool bar, The Star Friends Alex, Christopher & Talli, and Housekeepers
Cons: Everything this year. Quality of food and the maintenance and care of the pool and grounds. It was not there this trip
My husband and I have been going to the Iberostar in Coz for 12 years and it has never disappointed until this year.They didn't have a room ready even though they had me check-in online 2 days prior and gave the time we would arrive.We didn't get our room until after 4pm. The room was disgusting. It smelled of MOLD and sewerage. My hubby went back to the front desk and they said that they couldn't change us until the next day.Then when we got up in the morning there was water leaking from the ceiling below the AC. Guess that's where the mold was coming from. Now the food-I am not a picky eater at all and have always loved the food there. NOT this time.The quality was terrible and most of what I tried didn't have any flavor. It was like they were using the cheapest cuts of meat and produce. And it was the same "stuff" everyday.The only theme night that was identifiable was the "Asian".And in the Asian restaurant my husband got the " Beef and Sesame Skewers"-they were MEATBALLS rolled in sesame seeds.Now the POOL. They should be ashamed on themselves. It was DISGUSTING -black mold inside and out. I wouldn't even sit at the pool bar because of the slime on it. I have never seen it like that. It was always pristine.I could go on but I don't have enough space-I hope MANAGEMENT reads this because it is obvious that they have cut back and because it is low season is not an EXCUSE - EVERY GUEST SHOULD HAVE THE QUALITY THAT IS EXPECTED FROM IBEROSTAR but it was not there this time
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
On behalf of the Management we would like to thank you for your loyalty towards our resort and for taking the time to share your review. We are glad to read that you really enjoyed the service of our friendly staff, we will share your nice comments with them. In relation to your comment about our rooms, sometimes and especially in this season the humidity can be really high on the island. Our housekeeping team works with some chemical products to eliminate this from the rooms and publics areas, however, we will work on more solutions. Regarding our gastronomy, we are saddened to read it was not of your liking, we are constantly working on maintain and improve our high standards, but we will keep working and moreover we will share your opinion with our Executive Chef. Once again thank you for your visit, we hope to be able to welcome you soon and to improve your last experience. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Most everything.
Location: A nice spot with diving and snorkeling close, not much immediately off shore, but easy to charter a boat trip to drop you on the reef and guide you.
Clean and classy resort. The food was wonderful, Oriental restaurant was A+. So close to amazing diving and snorkel spots. Great pool and everything well-maintained. There were a few mosquitoes in the evening. Bring your water shoes, the beach is nice and sandy but going into the water is rough with coral. Nice swimming access from the dock . A great place to stay, we will be going back. This was our first all-inclusive experience but we traveled with friends who have stayed at others on the island They felt this was the nicest. There is a charge to use the dock if you charter with a boat company other than the one at the resort, so be aware. We heard a lot media hype about how unsafe it is to travel to Mexico but we never once felt unsafe. Oh, and we drank the resort tap water, it is filtered, but they will also give you as many bottles of water as you want.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your kind comments regarding your recent stay, we really appreciate them. We are glad you had a great time with us and enjoyed our beautiful facilities and the friendly service from our staff, they were essential to make of your vacations a wonderful moment. Our team is always willing to assist our guests in every way possible and your words will encourage them to keep doing an excellent job. We hope to see you back for your next vacations. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Best place to stay if scuba diving in Cozumel

Posted Sep 27, 2017
If you are looking for the best scuba diving experience in Cozumel, this is the place to stay. A lot of the rooms are freshly renovated, the room was impeccably cleaned every day, the bar was full, the service was excellent. The only drawback is the rocky entrance in the water, but there is nothing that the hotel can do about that, since Cozumel is a Marine Park, so the hotel cannot touch the water line. Dressel Divers is the scuba diving shop on site and their service is fantastic. Extremely organized, focused on your safety and making sure that you are enjoying the dives no matter of the scuba diving level experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
It is with great pleasure that we receive the feedback about your stay in our beautiful Hotel in Cozumel. We are more than glad to hear that you have enjoyed your vacations. This is one of the most exciting feelings when we read reviews from our guests, letting us know that we succeeded in providing an excellent service, beautiful premises and varied entertainment throughout the day. This is one of the reasons why most travelers choose to spend their holidays with us. Thank you for giving us the opportunity of being your host; it will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future for another great diving experience. Sincerely,