Ratings based on 1,222 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience!

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Enjoyed our stay would definitely return. Food great, staff super friendly and helpful, room and view AMAZING! Maru and Eli were AWESOME among the staff. Location is on North end and less crowded. We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

small hotel beautiful beach

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Beach, pool, grounds. Separate family areas and activities made certain there was something for everyone, including quiet time by the pool/beach
Cons: toilet seats! It sounds petty but every toilet seat I encountered both public and in rooms were cheap plastic "C" shaped that slid & pinched my legs
Location: The resort is on the north side of the island and there is very little nearby. SInce it is all inclusive there is little to leave for except to dive
We stayed over spring break and were concerned about crowds. It was never a problem. the beach was clean and free of debris (except for a couple of very windy days when the seaweed washed ashore). The staff raked the seaweed every morning despite the rough and windy sea washing it back in. The food was good, but not great. Definitely worth the money. The extra cost was also worth it for a beach or pool cabana. The daily wait for a cabana (get there at 8ish or you won't get one when they start taking reservations at 8:30) and the dinner reservation system both seemed like it could have been handled better. The service was great at the bars but they could have used more of them as the pool bar closed at 5:30-6 and the lobby bar then opened. Most liquor served was either call or premium. The lobby area got rather loud and crowded at night so another bar would have helped then too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plano, Texas

Nice hotel and beautiful beach!

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Beach was beautiful and people were nice. Room was clean.
Cons: Make it easier to make a reservation for the specialty restaurant, perhaps the concierge could make the reservation or an phone extension number.
Location: There was an abundance of things to see and do, though we basically stuck to the beach and pool.
Check in was fast but we did not get the king bed we asked for, instead-2 double beds! The room was clean and view of beach, beautiful. One elevator was out when arriving and 3 days later the other went out and we didn't get much response when complaining about having to climb 11 stories to our room! I have had knee surgery and a bad heart, so expected when they said it could be out for a couple days, that they could move us or offer room service. Food selection was great, however, never really very hot! Making a reservation for the Italian restaurant was impossible and if we had wanted to stand in line for that long in order to book it, we would have gone to Disney World! People at the hotel were mainly very friendly. Would we go back, probably not due to not getting the room requested.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from where the anchor drops

Nice hotel on a not-so-nice beach

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: room comfort, cleanliness, staff, service
Cons: the privacy sign is just a light piece of paper that does tend to get blown away; would be nice to have dead-bolt on door
Location: downtown - MXP 95/car one way; water activities are available (jet skis are available for rent) right there; there's shuffle board; gym; tour office
I was staying in the premium view balcony overlooking the adult pool and beach. The room was very comfortable with a whirlpool on the balcony - being on 12th floor the regular noise from downstairs didn't have any affect at all, the only noisy experience was some sort of a piratte boat tour passing by the property a few late evenings but also that was nothing major. The room came with a little kitchenette (microwave, kettle, toaster, fridge) it has both A/C and ceiling fan operated independently. It was very clean. in fact the remote control ("old fashioned" full-remote with a lot of real buttons) was the cleanest i've seen in a hotel in a long time. the room wasn't ready when it was supposed to be, i only got access 30 minutes after advertised check-in time. the staff was very friendly & pleasant. during my whole stay (6 days) the beach (water) couldn't have been described as anything short of a dissapointment (to say the very least) - due to the wind and current (and i guess the concrete pier between melia and cozumeleno didn't help either) the water was constantly dark (!) brown with sea weed. the beach itself and the pool area were nice though, although to have some sort of enforced chair-hogging policy would be nice. Can't say much about food as I somehow always ended up eating elsewhere. there is room service (MXP 200 cover, approx 7-22) - ok breakfast selection, rest of day only fish or chicken fingers, 1 type of salad, soup of day, but they do bring drinks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S. Ohio

Amazing Beach

Posted Feb 26, 2017
The name of the property Melia Cozumel Golf Inclusive is misleading. If you're going exclusively for golf, be prepared to pay more if you don't include it in your package. On the other hand the staff was amazing and friendly. Wish they had more of them to service the beach bars....there was always a line waiting. The food was good, with a nice selection. There was always some kind of activity going on. And the beach was amazing....white sand and clear water!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IOWA

FRIENDLINESS

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: FOOD AND STAFF. BASICLY EVERYTHING!!
Cons: NEED MORE TV STATIONS IN ENGLISH, AND NOT CUTTING IN AND OUT. BUT WE WERE NOT IN THAT MUCH TO CARE TOO MUCH.
Location: WE COULD NOT WALK TO TOWN BECAUSE OF MY KNEE BUT IT WAS A SHORT TAXI RIDE. IF YOU GOLF, WE HEARD IT WAS EXCELLENT!
WE LOVE COMING HERE EVERY YEAR. THE FOOD IS EXCELLENT AND THE STAFF ARE AWESOME! WE REALLY ENJOYED CARLOS AND OTONEIL!!!! FUN WAS HAD BY ALL!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad, not great

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Cons- We ordered a room with a queen bed, ended up getting two twin beds. No waiters coming around taking drink orders. Had to walk to the bar. Reservation system for restaurants was horrible. Pools were just okay. Pros- food was better than other all inclusive resorts that we've stayed at. 5 minutes to downtown. Nice beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Smaller, quiet hotel on a great beach

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Cons: The adult pool was freezing, only went in once.
Location: This is on the north side of the island. There is nothing near it besides other homes and one large resort. Cab ride is $5 US into town.
My husband and I stayed for 5 nights. We loved this place and will be back. The beach is great, the staff is excellent, the views were amazing. Many more Canadians here than Americans. And no young spring breakers. More of an older, fun, not so obnoxious crowd.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice all-inclusive resort.

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Just got back from staying at Melia for a week and had a wonderful time here. Could not ask for a friendlier staff! Ocean view rooms lead right up to the beach which was real nice. Drinks and food were excellent! Only minor complaint would be cooler pool water temps, would be nice if they had heated pools but from what I've heard most resorts on Cozumel don't heat their pools. Bottom line, I will be heading back at some point in the future. Place was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Quality Control, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Dan Please receive our warmest regards from our Meliá Cozumel Golf-All Inclusive. First and foremost thank you very much for having chosen our destination for your vacation and for answering our quality survey. Your comments are highly valued. We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guest experience play a key role in this continuous process towards service excellence. Please know that we had forward your positive rates to all the staff, and on behalf of all of them and the management we are very appreciate and thankful for it. This is an important motivation for us to do our utmost to provide the best service to all our valuable guest at our resort. We will work very hard to improve all those services that did not fulfill your entire expectations. All the information that you provided to us is highly appreciated for our improvement day by day on the path to excellence in all our services. Once again, thank you for your preference and for taking the time to write. We sincerely hope to welcome you again in a near future. Best Regards. Quality Control. Melia Cozumel Golf-All Inclusive
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Something for everyone! Great beach, food, service

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
The staff is amazing, especially deskman Erik, he was really a great help. The hotel offers something for everybody, food is great and a very enjoyable place to stay! Will be back!