Ratings based on 1,238 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: You can rent wave runners on the property which I highly recommend! We also rented a scooter right on property and rode around the island.
Cons: More than 1-2 two bars open at a time and stay open longer.
Location: The hotel is located very close to the airport and a short distance from town.
Older hotel, but was well maintained and seemed to have been updated. Right on the beach. We had read other reviews regarding seaweed, and there was some seaweed but nothing like we were expecting after reading the reviews. There are 4 restaurants. Breakfast buffet was good with excellent made to order omelets. There was an Italian spot that was good, but we ate at Paraiso three times and never made it to the Mexican restaurant. There are 4 bars on the property, but the lobby bar is only open in the evening and the pool bars close early, so basically there are only 1 - 2 bars open at any given time. All of the staff was friendly and helpful with anything we needed. We enjoyed the beach, there were plenty of chairs, hammocks, and palapas. The water was clear emerald green.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Family friendly hotel with a beautiful beach

Posted Jun 24, 2017
My family and I spent a week here and overall came away with the desire to come back again. The strengths of our visit included the beach, the view from our room, and the many opportunities the resort had for entertainment throughout our stay. We have been to other hotels that are on the coast but their "beaches" are very rocky and not very sandy. The entire beach at the Melia is white sand perfect for my youngest daughter who always wanted to build a sand castle and for walking bare feet in the sand. The room was very clean and provided everything we needed when we needed a break including a beverage refrigerator that was stocked daily. Probably the most surprising thing to us was the entertainment provided from live bands to hip hop dancers to water aerobics. There was always something happening to keep you entertained. The opportunities were the food was average and the hotel was being remodeled as we stayed. The food was not good or bad. There are many different places to eat here but it is all very similar to cafeteria food you would find in a lunch room. The menus were not varied so during the week I felt like I wanted to go to town and find something different to eat which really defeats the "all inclusive". As for the remodel, it didn't interfere with my stay too much but to have the banging noises occasionally of a hammer in our room during the day and to have to walk around workers and equipment as we traveled through the resort was slightly annoying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice Hotel close on the Beach

Posted Jun 23, 2017
My daughters (19 & 4) and I really enjoyed our stay at Melia. This resort was smaller than what we are used to but it was really nice (food, comfort). The team in charge of entertainments was great: big shoot out to Otoniel, Nolberto, Mary Jose, Miguel & Carlos, you treated us like princesses (and queen ;). If you stay there make sure to take the ferry for a little trip to Playa del Carmen and other activities (shopping, Cenote, ruins...).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Little Rock

Another great trip!

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Location: Loved the pirate ship with lobster dinner. Our 2nd time to do this, a really fun time and great dinner.
Our 8th stay at the Melia. They are constantly doing upgrades to enhance guest experience. We really enjoyed the beds on the beach that are covered with palapas that can be reserved when you book a grand premium ocean view suite. They have plenty of lounge chairs around these to get sun if you want, but these are great for not being in the direct sun while still enjoying being right on the beach. Also like the addition of the nightly Mexican and Italian dinner areas when what is on the buffet does not appeal to you. Looking forward to when we can start planning our next trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bremen, GA

Love the pool bar and the staff is amazing

Posted May 31, 2017
This was our third year staying at Meliá and we will be back. The staff works very hard and are friendly/helpful. The food is always good but I'm not a picky eater. My favorite meal is breakfast because you can get custom omlets and eggs cooked to order. My husband and I enjoy the adult pool the most. We always meet people [some that we still keep in touch with] and enjoy the convenience of the swim up bar. I just wish it was open longer:)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to relax!

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. Easy to walk to everything.
Cons: Management needs to monitor and deal, with loud, rude, obnoxious people.
Location: Nice beach area. Some seaweed to deal with. $8.00 cab ride to town.
Very nice hotel. Food was good. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Beautiful sunsets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Location - Great Hotel

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Clean and comfortable.
Cons: put up a seawall like the hotel next door for clear water out front if possible, if not, people can walk a short distance for clear water.
Location: simple taxi ride to downtown, easy walk to The Lobster House and Lobster House with great entertainment and food, but truly no need to leave.
We stayed here for a week and LOVED it. Great hotel, nice pool, awesome staff, comfortable beds, clean room, clean facilities, spa was relaxing, wonderful food that was different daily. Only thing was the beach was not clear, but it was still great, you could walk a short distance down the beach to clear beautiful water to swim in. Would stay again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Perfect, quiet location. Amazing staff! Food, meh.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Staff and location.
Cons: More storage in rooms!
We booked a Royal Suite and loved the location. However, when unpacking, realized that there were no drawers! No dresser. Only a couple of tiny shelves in the closet, a tiny drawer in each nightstand and one in the desk. No place to put toiletries except on the counter in the bathroom. So we spent 6 days living out of suitcases. The room itself was very roomy and sparsely decorated. Don't see any reason why a dresser couldn't be added. Buffet food was mediocre, at best. We have been to the island many times and typically eat breakfast, then head to the other side where we'll have lunch, and sometimes an early dinner, so the food isn't a big thing for us. But the breakfast was still reminiscent of a cruise ship. Very bland. If you stick with the freshly prepared omelet station, you are better off. Beware the milk(s) that are left standing all morning with no refrigeration... We never ate at any of the reservation-required restaurants, but heard better reviews of the food served there. Only other downside was the seaweed. That far north on the island, there isn't much to stop it. They still attempted to keep the beach clean and people were swimming anyway. I wouldn't let it keep you from staying here. What absolutely made the stay enjoyable was the staff! Every single person - whether serving, cooking or cleaning - was clearly happy to be doing so and made sure we were happy in the process. Nutshell: property is beautiful, staff is amazing, location is great, food just ok...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

More Than Just a Roof Over Your Head

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Decent facilities, decent flow, decent guest control, and not a bad beach for Cozumel.
Cons: The food. Edible would be a good start.
Location: Beyond scuba, diving and general relaxation, Cozumel is a one trick pony. Shopping is a non-starter. South of the Border actually in Mexico.
On balance, not bad; more than just a roof over your head. The pool is nice, and they do a nice job of keeping kids out of the adult pool. And the beach is not half bad, with the location being out of the way, but not too much. That being said, my expectation of food at an all inclusive is always generally pretty low, and there is never a reason in Mexico to eat on campus given the favorable exchange rate and the quality of food locally, albeit dumbed down to accommodate the cruise ship mentality. Cozumel is certainly not Akumal or Tulum on that front. In this instance, however, the quality of the food beyond basic breakfast was institutional at best and Attica/Lompac at worst. A good place to eat of you are thinking about moving into an assisted living facility; the food here will help you get acclimated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
There was a $400 resort credit included with this booking. However when we checked into the hotel they refused to honor it. They said that it was only for guests who booked a minimum of four nights. I went back and read the fine print and could not find anywhere that stated you had to book a minimum of four nights. All it said was that my reservation included a $400 resort credit.