Ratings based on 1,206 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Loved it after 5 minutes

Posted Jan 6, 2018
We absolutely loved this place. My dad wanted to set up a trip here for next year after about an hour. Every staff member is friendly beyond belief (except for the front desk). The maids, food people, hostesses, bar tenders, activity leaders, even grounds keeper were so friendly it was unbelievable. Our only less friendly experiences were the front desk, but it wasn’t trip ruining. Food was great and the area is even better. The beach on the resort is amazing with plenty of activities. The wildlife adds the perfect touch. We will be back here. Thanks occidental!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Lovely vacation!

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Pros: Clean rooms, friendly staff, beautiful setting
Cons: Variety on food and a more gourmet menu. MORE ICE CREAM! :)) Umbrellas on the beach. Shuttle service.
Location: The center of town wasn't far and great options for dinner ( Del Sur & Sorrisi the best!) . There were other tourists spots not far like Punta Sur.
The hotel was beautiful! Very authentic in its' decor. The gardens were so well cared for and the amount of vegetation made it so tropical, a true paradise! The staff were so polite and helpful, always caring for the guests with a smile on their faces. Specially the pool crew, Jesus, Darwin, Raimundo & Abby! They made the day fun for everyone with lots of activities. We wish they provided umbrellas on the beach though. The food was ok. It was certainly fresh but the lack of variety and at times the presentation wasn't so great. The late night menu was not great. We wish they had light sandwiches and ice cream. The rooms were always clean right away. We would go for breakfast and on our return the room was cleaned and fresh linens were available. We wish the hotel provided a shuttle service to and from the airport, we would've gladly paid for the service if it was available. As well as the restaurants that requested a reservation, We would;d've gladly paid for a more gourmet dinner. All in all, it was a great vacation. Very relaxing in a beautiful setting with great service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Georgia

Paradise

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Nice hotel close to the beach. 100% satisfied. I will come back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel and beach.

Posted Jan 1, 2018
Pros: attractive and well kept. good entertainment
Cons: special restaurants food was not good. buffet was better.
Location: town shopping. lighthouse park. snorkeling was great.
loved all-inclusive. hard working staff. friendly and accommodating. fun activities. great beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth Texas

Very nice Resort, BUT the food is awful.

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Pros: Beautiful Grounds.
Cons: The food really needs a lot of work.
Location: Location is beautiful.
Great place to stay. Beautiful resort. Not enough lounge chairs on the beach. I would really recommend they do something about the food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good All Inclusive Hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: Just the overall location and setting, it was really nice.
Cons: The food could be better. I returned home with multiple insect bites, still trying to determine what they are? I truly hope they are not bed bugs?
My wife and I really like the setting. the resort is located in a protected wildlife area so there are some interesting wildlife that roam the area. The walk to the beach was relaxing and nice. I think the beach is in a great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2017 by Gabriela Gaeta, Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rich, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Occidental Cozumel we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. We do our utmost to ensure that our guests can enjoy an enriching dining experience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Our restaurant team will continue working to surprise you with delicious international and local dishes on your next visit. Thank you for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta area

Thing included we missed elsewhere

Posted Dec 7, 2017
We have been to quite a few of the AI resorts in Cozumel and liked some better than others for various reasons. What we liked about this one that have been missing at others (but still not a dealbreaker): (1) enough clothes hangers and (2) an ice machine. The rooms can be far from the beach, but it's not that bad a walk and for us, we need the walk after eating more than we do at home. Staff was always helpful when we had a question. Check in and check out was smooth and not crowded either time (fortunately). We found the food in the Mediterranean specialty restaurant not very special, the presentation was very nice and there was enough of it, but it wasn't better than what was at the buffet. The buffet was good and had enough variety, but we aren't picky eaters. We were basically in the middle of a jungle and there were no mosquitoes!! I was very surprised considering the area and the humidity. The snorkeling was nothing to write home about -- there were fish but just the general ones that are always around, no butterfly fish, trunk fish, peacock founders, and one juvie French Angelfish. The beach was very nice, easy to get into the water (no rocks and no surf to knock you down -- you can easily walk out deep enough to put your fins on in waist-deep water). Lounge chairs were plentiful and easy to find one where you wanted to be (shade or full sun). We would have liked palapas for a little more shade. We would return here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Gabriela Gaeta, Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kathryn, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental Cozumel hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We also greatly appreciate your highlight on the good value of our All Inclusive type of meal plan, Our team work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dayton, OH

Perfect!!

Posted Dec 6, 2017
More than I ever expected! It was beautiful, very clean, staff were incredible! Beautiful pools, lovely beach, great food and drink! 10 out of 10 for everything!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Gabriela Gaeta, Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear DJ 67 yrs old, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Occidental Cozumel. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from idaho

Great vacation!

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Nice hotel, close to beach, nice rooms. Most staff very friendly and helpful. Activity directors Jesus and Abi were absolutely wonderful. It’s nice to get a little exercise like water aerobics or Zumba even on vacation and nice meeting other guests. A little irritating for the men to have to wear pants to the reservation restaurants, it’s hot! Saw several men in torn jeans or even sweat pants and felt men in dress shorts and nice shirt looked much nicer. Mediterranean restaurant was yummy! The seafood restaurant not so much, very unfriendly staff during that dinner. Diving was good but the head manager could have been a little nicer to all people, noticed several unhelpful interactions. Lucas was great to work with!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Gabriela Gaeta, Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics. We are thrilled you enjoyed the varied entertainment program organized by our professional team and enhanced by their genuine friendliness and enthusiasm to make sure all guests joining into the daily activities are having a memorable moment among us and we will certainly not fail to share your congratulations with the entire team. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware, OH

Clean and nice for family vacation

Posted Dec 3, 2017
First experience at an all inclusive. Picked because it was a sponsor hotel of the Ironman. Not very big but lots to do. Staff very nice and helpful. Roms were clean and comfortable. Had a hard time getting hot water but figured out need to trim sink hot water on first and it helped the shower water to heat up quicker. Would definitely come back. There was nine of us and we all were happy with our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Gabriela Gaeta, Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Laurie, We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Occidental Cozumel was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories. We thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Sincerely, Gabriela Gaeta