Ratings based on 710 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minneapolis, mn

Wonderful week in paradise

Posted Feb 19, 2017
We returned home yesterday and I am already wanting to return. Our flight came in 4 hours before check in so we figured we would try our luck at an early check in, we were greeted with sparkling wine, cool towels and a friendly staff. They held our luggage and had a changing area in the lobby so we could change into swim suits and allowed us to use the facilities while we waited for our room to be ready. After a relaxing first day on the beach we decided to take advantage of the dive ship on site and set up a 2-tank dive for the next day. It was a great experience and everyone was helpful and knowledgeable so we ended up settling up a second day of diving. The second day was wonderful as well and the dive master asked what we hoped to see (we were more interested in marine life) so he took us to an amazing site where we saw eels, sharks and sea turtles. The food on site is good, especially the Mexican restaurant at sun scapes and the French restaurant. There was always something going on at night (from singers to a foam party) so I would HIGHLY recommend paying attention to the sundial newsletter you get delivered each night, this also tells you which restaurants are open so that you can plan accordingly. Although this is all inclusive (which we loved) please make sure to tip the staff a few bucks for meals, drinks, etc.... we brought lots of 1s & 5s with and that's all we really needed. the people are wonderful and work very hard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Arlington, VA

Secrets Aura resort was close to Perfecto!

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Great beach, all-inclusive, adults only, food/drinks, activities, clean and comfortable rooms, great service at the restaurants and bartenders.
Cons: Play more authentic mexican music as opposed to playing beach/club/top 40 music. Some noise control for later time, some people like to sleep on vacay
Location: 15 mins from the town/ferry area, 20 mins from the airport, plenty of snorkeling/scuba/diving/parasailing and other excursions
My wife and I recently stayed at this resort and the most relaxing and wonderful time here. When you first arrive you are greeted with champagne during check in which was a nice touch, especially after the stress of getting out of the airport (being mobbed by the blue shirt folks and a faux "information desk" which had folks from Occidental Travel Club trying to sucker you into a timeshare club - just go straight to the shared van shuttle to pay for a ride to the hotel and do not talk to anyone else - some friendly advice for future travelers). As far as the rest of the trip, it was an amazing time, plenty of pools with swim up bars or plenty of access at the beach which also had drink service as we preferred hanging on the beach as the pools can get a little rowdier for our style. It doesn't hurt that the first drink service is at 11am and they had drinks of the day that were tasty as well as typical beach drinks (coladas, daiquiris, mai tai, margaritas, mojitos...) They had plenty of activities along the beach as well that were free (volleyball, bocce, etc) or pay-for-activities (parasailing, snorkeling, catamaran trips, diving/scuba) that you could easily sign up for at the front desk area or there were a hut along the beach you could sign up as well. The restaurants offered a variety of choices and however we did not get to try them all, we really enjoyed Bordeaux, Windows, and Oceana/Barefoot Grill. We did room service for breakfast and lunch once which was great too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta. GA

Not for the discerning traveller

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: French restaurant, good bed.
Cons: Food, service, room furnishing and quality, coffee pot.
Our greeting was pleasant and grateful for the upgrade. As soon as we got there they start with the sales pitch BEWARE, Room very basic with awful uncomfortable patio chairs. Quality of rooms differ greatly from disgusting, (friends)average (ours) and great (people we met there). Where you are in the resort really matters. The food at best OK to bad, French restaurant very good. Wednesday night beach bbq very good. Buffet terrible and shared with the next door hotel, very small, and very limited horrid options. Surrounded by groups drinking heavily ALL day. Noise level at 1 and 2 am from drunken groups very annoying, shouting, profanity doors slamming. The name of the game is drink as much as you can and then I guess nothing else matters. Secrets TV advertising shows this classy and elegant environment, this was far from it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from indianapolis

great hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Same as above.
Location: Just stayed on the resort. No reason to leave.
We come to this resort annually. Love the location on the beach many restaurants to choose from and the pools are wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2017
My wife and I were there to celebrate our 32nd marriage anniversary also it was her birthday had a wonderful time very relaxing excellent drinks excellent service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Beautiful setting. Room led out to beach.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Atmosphere was perfect for relaxing. For an all inclusive resort the choices of food and drink did fall below other experiences of all inclusive resorts. Service was intermittent and at times didn't seem to have the customers satisfaction in mind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Perfect location for snoring,relaxing in the sun with your favorite beverage .excellent beach service, preferred section is a must totally worth the price .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gretna NE

Omaha NE

Posted Feb 2, 2017
This is the 3rd time we have visited and have not been disappointed. Staff is terrific and rooms and service are great. Food is wonderful and resort is clean and beach is fantastic. We lover how happy and helpful the staff are and the security of the location. Easy to take a cab downtown for shopping and excursions. Definitely will return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Neenah, Wi

Highly recommended

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, excellent food, great amenities, very comfortable bed
Cons: I can't think of anything!
Location: Rented jeeps right from the resort. Had 4 couples tour the island and stop at the small bars on the other side of the island.
We have stayed at several Secrets resorts and this is by far our favorite. Very friendly staff that goes out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Plenty of live entertainment and events that make it even more fun. We were there during the Packers/Falcons game and they put on a tailgate party for the many Packers fans that were staying at the resort. The best venue for enjoying a drink and the sunset was the Sky Bar. An excellent setting on the roof top where you can enjoy sushi as a snack before going to dinner. There are many pool options and the food is second to none - didn't have one bad meal. All of the water sports you need are included with many excursion options. We rented jeeps and toured the island, which is a recommended excursion as well. You won't be disappointed at this resort! By far the best value for the money!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2017
OK food, not good...Pools were cold but OK, No real entertainment and the daily activities are not well planned or organized compared to other all inclusives we've gone to The ocean and the view was the best part