Ratings based on 906 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Fees days in cozumel

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Air conditioning in the room was loud.
Enjoyed our time in Cozumel. Booked the preferred section of the hotel. We enjoyed or 3 nights in the island and at the resort. People are nice, and hard working, mostly all are friendly. Food is decent, drinks are good you can call just about any liquor you want but they only carry a couple of beers. Great snorkeling on the hotel beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Web site photo's are misleading

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Cozumel is awesome and the diving is amazing. I highly recommend Dive House for your dive needs.
The web site photo's make the resort look Hyatt like. The report is NOT, it's about half as nice as the photo's lead you to believe. Great resort for diving. Dive House picks up dock side. The food is sub par. Our room as half cleaned daily and they always forgot to bring new towels. After calling and speaking with the front desk I searched for the housekeeping storage room and collect our own towels daily. Also, if you stay in the JR suite that walks into the pool be very careful. very slippery. My wife and I both slipped and fell as well as out neighbors in the room next door. Everyone on the island will tell toy this is the best report on the island. I find that hard to believe. We will try another location for our next trip.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Misleading photos on website & resort credit scam

Posted Oct 9, 2016
We booked the "Preferred Ocean View Junior Suite" and we were given a room that was not a suite & had no ocean view, tiny TV, bad picture, dark room. Our view was mostly a pool & trees (photo attached). The "Preferred" section appears to formerly be another resort & is substandard to what is shown on their site & Expedia's site. The "preferred section" was full of loud occupants, where the main Secrets Resort seemed virtually empty. It was really confusing & disappointing. When I approached the front desk for a room change, I was met with denial & debate. I showed the front desk pictures of what is shown on Expedia's site (also on their own site) compared to actual. A clear mismatch, he seemed to do his best acting job to not admit what was clearly a bait & switch. He blamed the Expedia marketing team, but I also checked their site & knew they were the same misleading photos for the "suite" that we booked. I'm an Expedia Gold member & when I contacted Expedia to show them the photos & complain about our situation, they were impressively accommodating. They contacted the hotel manager & we were upgraded to a "Full Oceanfront" room. We heard two other guests complaining about similar misrepresentation. The hotel is aware! SO BEWARE! The food was subpar. Sushi was nearly inedible, not fresh or tasty. We are sushi junkies & we left with our plates full. We were happy to leave to get great food in Tulum! The resort credit is misleading. We didn't use any of it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2016 by Management area, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review. We are very concerned to know that your experience did not live up to our usual level of service offered at Secrets Aura Cozumel. We are vrifying our web page to do the ncssary action to avoid this incidents. We sincerely hope to welcome you to Secrets Aura Cozumel on a future occasion so we can have the opportunity to redeem ourselves providing you with the service you deserve. Warm regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Vacationed Oct. 1-7, 2016

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Our room was really very nice. We were in the preferred section. Spacious room, comfy King-sized bed, large bathroom with soaker tub and a separate toilet room. Easy access to pool and beach area. Overall a good place to stay. Room was stocked with soda, beer, water, etc. My husband drinks a lot of soda during the day. He went the the Coke pretty quickly but we had a hard time getting it restocked. We called and were told they were out. The very next morning, the stock cart went by loaded with Coke. He asked for more but still couldn't get any. He ended up going into town and buying his own. Some days we could get a couple, other days we couldn't get any. We understand they may have a limit (which we were not notified of) but we were even given the option to possibly pay for extras, which we might have done. We would also recommend movies in the room, or the possibility of buying movies. I realize we're at the beach and there is a lot to do, but one or two lazy nights in the room would have been better with a good movie.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views, great activities, good food

Posted Oct 6, 2016
My wife and I have been here twice now and continue to love this resort. This time, we really enjoyed the activities at the resort led by the Entertainment Team. I have to make a call out to Aaron from the team for his awesome attitude! The food was very good with multiple restaurant options. Its easy to just stay at the resort and be busy with snorkeling right at the beach, sailing the hobby cat, pool volleyball, evening activities, paddle boarding, and food and drink. And, the resort offers many options to go on excursions right from the lobby or pier.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 3, 2016
No hot water in room . Never rectified, on site Expedia rep never seemed to follow through. Incorrect info on excursion missed meeting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by Management area, Hotel Management
Helllo We are concerns about the situation with the hot water. we are taking the necesarry actions to aviod this in the future. Please accept our apologies it is certainly not our intention to disappoint our guests. I remain at your service Eduardo Betancourt
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Great Cozumel Resort

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Loved the hotel, staff, and location. It was a paradise like I hadn't experienced before in my previous 3 trips to Mexico.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Large resort with great service

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The food is really good and it is very quiet after dinner. The WIFI is very strong all over the resort and cell phone service is good.
Location: The resort is south of town so it takes a taxi to get to any non-resort priced shopping. Take the ferry to Playa Del Carmen for better shopping.
Good beach with great service. The staff is warm, friendly and helpfull. The timeshare pitch is the only bad thing, they are just as bad as the people at the airport.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016
ビーチ、プールが近く楽しみました。 カヤック、シュノーケリングもりょうきんにふくまれていてよかった レストランも最高でした
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't listen to all of the negative reviews

Posted Sep 19, 2016
We got here and were welcomed in a very warm way. The staff is great, you have free things like snorkeling, paddle board, etc. The food is average plus, could be a little worked on. All in all it was a great experience, would definitely recommend!!