Ratings based on 1,393 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Paradise for a week

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Location: Highly recommend Tulum... snorkeling, go to coconuts... so much to do
If you want to feel like you are in Mexico, this is the hotel for you, we have stayed here 3 different times and really enjoy it. The staff cannot do enough to help you, the bars are awesome, the food is good you have plenty of choices, the pools are great and the beach is amazing, we had a junior suite ocean view ... highly recommended... for me the only thing that could be better was the bed ... a little firm for me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Needs updated

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Staff was great
Cons: Comfort Food could be better
Location: Great location
Room decor is the same as when I was there 10 years ago Mattress was terrible
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hoffman Estates, IL

Not the Ritz

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Location: Out of the way place with boat pickup for Diving, Snorkeling or Fishing
Not the Ritz but clean and comfy. Food was excellent for a mid price resort. My only rub is that the fixtures in room need upgrading. They were working on some rooms closed off to customers so maybe they have started the upgrade process. Staff as always very pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, United States of America

great hotel.eve Great hotel.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
every thing was great, food, beach, pool room. water view was great, we could see the sunset from our room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place ,great service

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was enjoyable with friendly service. Checking in does seem to take forever and will not let you go to your room till 4:00, had to sit at the bar in my travel clothes for an hour, but enjoyed a few drinks and snacks so no worries. We thought the food was good as well as the drinks. There are some time share people but we managed to avoid them all week. Bring water shoes because 3 feet into the water it is difficult to get around without them. There is decent snorkeling in front of the resort. Pay extra and get an ocean front room, its really worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Pool and ocean
Cons: Bar hours
Location: Lots
Very nice view was the best lots of pool stuff to do. And ocean toys.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Several tours available on the island and the ferry to Playa Del Carmen on the mainland only $16 RT pp plus taxi to pier $30 RT. Pirate Ship great!!
Service on the beach or poolside very nice! Most restaurant service and food was really good. Scheduled hotel events not always prompt, but relax it's vacation! Could offer more snorkel gear, not a busy season and still had to wait for other guests to return gear. Snorkeling at the resort was very good, saw octopus, rays, trigger fish, and many more beautiful fish. Water is clear and warm. Room was comfortable, clean and good plumbing/water pressure. Could use more electrical outlets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Many of the restaurants would've not been open when we would've liked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by Management area, Hotel Management
Hello Thank you for sharing your review with us. as you can imagine we rotate the opening times of restaurants and bars, but you are able to see the open and close restaurants on the sundial. I remain at your service. Eduardo Betancourt
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland Texas

I love Sunscape Sabor. The staff is very friendly

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pros: Friendly helpful staff.
Cons: The food menu needs to include seafood.
Location: Mr. Sancho's resort horse back riding was awesome.
We went to Mr. Sanchez and rode horses on the beach for my birthday took a Jeep expedition. Swam on Caribbean side. Was busy the whole time seeing sites. Already planning next trip in May 2017.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Shower water would back up and come out of floor drain.t.v. Sounded like electricity was coming thru it some times. That's after paying for the upgraded room. First time I stayed there I got sick, this time the wife got sick, thought we would give it another try, my fault
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Management area, Hotel Management
Hello We appreciate the time that you have invested on writing an overview of your stay with us. There seems to have been a number of deficiencies encountered which are very atypical and not reflective of our brand experience; if this stay was marred by irregular circumstances, we can only renew our apologies and assure you that we have in the meantime briefed the team at great length of your comments. We are working on a daily basis to exceed our guest’s expectations and would love to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future to offer you a remarkable stay. I remain at your service. Eduardo Betancourt