Ratings based on 1,437 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thornton CO

Posted Jul 15, 2017
This was a great hotel!! Close to the beach and staff was great!! Always some kind of entertainment in the evenings!! Definitely would recommend!! About 15 minutes from town but the location was perfect!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MO

It is old and very run down, needs a lot of repair

Posted Jul 8, 2017
For the price I was disappointed. Second time to Cozumel. Beach is very rocky, make sure to have water shoes. Our room was a family room, which is two rooms with ajoining door. It has not been updated in 20 years. AC leaked. Had to call multiple times to have room fridge filled. Food was average and menu options did not change. Found a small white worm in water glass at the pizza and pasta restaurant on the resort .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice medium priced All-Inclusive hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: A nice pier in front of the hotel that dive operators can pick you up for no charge. Being able to get food at about any time of the night or day.
Cons: Somehow keep the birds from getting into the fruit when they have the buffet outside--lots of birds stealing food, even off your plate if you sat out
Location: Hotel is far from town but many water tours will pick you up at the pier in front of the hotel--dive reefs are close by.
I came to Cozumel to dive so I didn't take advantage of all the hotel had to offer. Pros: Decent room size--I stayed in the standard room with balcony. Good a/c, good hot water all the time--no problems. Water pressure was excellent. Plenty of towels, replaced everyday if used. Liquid and bar soap, shampoo, and skin lotion. Bed was a little hard but not bad--slept fine. Coffee maker in room with good coffee--only problem there were no coffee cups--had to go down to the lobby the first morning where they had a coffee maker set up and grabbed several paper coffee cups to use each day. Wish they had a way to hang wet things instead of just hanging them on the balcony rails to dry. Food was good--you can always find something to eat. The Italian restaurant was closed for renovation until July 19th. Good buffet breakfast at the Mexican restaurant each morning or you could order ala carte at the Seaside Grill. The pizza place was always full but they let me order carry-out and take back to the room--pizzas are small so I should have ordered two. Nice main pool--full of kids, the other pool was quieter with mostly adults--but right now is summertime so expect lots of kids. Nice beach with plenty of beach chairs and also a nice towel service. Check-in and out was fast and painless--never once was I approached by someone trying to sell time shares. They do have a little strip type mall to buy things you might have forgotten--right across from the lobby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Very nice for a middle of the road resort!

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Great for families and teenagers. The food and drinks are typical middle of the road resort food, not terrible not great. Rooms are very cool and comfortable. The only negative was the longer your there the worse the service gets in the restaurants. Overall we pretty much got exactly what we paid for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MO

Our room opened onto the beach.

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: We liked the overall ambiance, certainly the hard-working and friendly staff, and the facilities themselves. We definitely hope to be back.
Cons: It took about five-ten minutes for the hot water to make it down to our room, so we learned to let the water run while preparing to shower.
Location: There are a couple of other hotels but no other real shopping, etc., but the hotel offers many things to do and a number of them were free.
Maybe our best trip ever; the room was a good size, the ocean temperature was quite comfortable and gentle for unsure swimmers like myself. We ate mostly at the Portofino buffet and enjoyed their selections. Their dinner buffet was buffet for salad and dessert only, and the waiter would bring your selection hot from the kitchen. The restaurant staff all were very friendly and helpful in making small selections to the menus. The free wifi service is only in the hotel lobby itself, however, so it is up to another visitor whether they want it for $45/week or not. I did not find it necessary as I could check my phone at night in the lobby and enjoy the day without being bothered. There is the usual outfit promoting not timeshares but hotel options. We didn't buy, got our promised money, and our Expedia agent at the hotel honored our "funny money" for a tour. We greatly appreciated that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017
We love this place. It's been our 45th stay and will recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Great hotel close to beach

Posted May 19, 2017
Our overall experience at this hotel....excellent!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, ca

Not the Barcelo resort, but actually better!

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere, landscape, beach, food, and STAFF :)
Cons: Room furniture
Location: Directly on beautiful beach!
Recently stayed and the Barcelo Maya Caribe MEGA (luxury) resort, which was fantastic. Huge property (2500) rooms, etc. Sunscape Sabor Cozumel is the opposite, only 219 rooms. The room furnishings were only 3 stars. However, the facilities, staff, and beautiful grounds were 5 star.!!! Authentic feel, complete relaxation, and great food, although only a few restaurants/buffets to choose from. I have reserved the Barcelo return trip in December but am going to cancel and return to the Sunscape Cozumel in stead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful quaint resort.

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: The grounds, location.
Cons: The rooms need remodeling, especially the bathrooms.
Location: The location is on the beach a 15 min cab ride to town.
A beautiful family resort located on the beach. The grounds are beautiful, and has 2 nice pools. It is an older hotel and the rooms needs some renovation. The porch posts on our balcony broke and our bathroom could use some remodeling. Our ocean view suite was very large and our view was perfect. The restaurants were ok, but the El Patio mexican restaurant was superb. Realizing this is not a five-star and knowing my expectations, I would definitely come back to Sunscape.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Location to beach.
Cons: Food quality and options. Why do you not have chicken nuggets for snacks ?
Poor food choices. BBQ was awful. Pork was hard as rock. Not good value for food portion of stay. Mattress in room was uncomfortably hard.