Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

A hotel that can make any visitor to Cozumel happy

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: See the comments just above.
Location: It is well located for divers with two dive services next door and a very, very fine Italian restaurant, That's Amore, across the street.
All was ready on our arrival. Our stay was comfortable and accommodating. The management and staff are polished and professional in all respects. The restaurant is very good. The gardens and grounds are exceedingly lovely and well kept.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, convenient for diving, friendly staff

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Close to dive operators, shore-dive/snorkeling location, convenient to both downtown and southern parts of island. Friendly staff, nice landscaping, beautiful iguanas!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel across from the ocean. great for divers

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: location. close to downtown without being downtown and great location for diving
Location: you can walk downtown but no veed to. there are restaurants and watersports immediately across thre street.
We have been staying at villa Blanca for 10 years. we love it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

I wouldnt recommend this hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: The pool was very nice. The grounds were just beautiful. All the flowering plants, walks, & trees were very peaceful. Several areas to sit.
Cons: handrails in the shower, along with steps to get out of the tub. I had to leave the bathroom door open so I could use the handle to help myself out.
Location: Dive shop and Italian dinning across the street. There is a dining place next door but I did not go so cannot comment.
Upon first arriving to the hotel grounds are beautiful. You had to let the water in the shower run for 5-10 minutes to get hot water then while you showered it turned scalding then ice cold. The shower itself was a hole in the ground about 2 feet deep, about the size of a bath tub. No handrails, no ladder. I fell twice trying to get out of it. This hotel is smack dab in the middle of the run from the North Cruise port and the South Cruise ports. If you dont have a car its a long walk to get to the shopping districts. The drinks from the bar were not very strong. I cannot comment on the food in the restaurant as I only had the coffee. They keep three peacocks tied to a branch behind the restaurant. They had to be told that the birds were tangled and could not move. Some of the management in the office did not understand English so it was difficult to communicate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice dive hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: close to town, across the street from ocean, big rooms
Cons: clean pool multiple times thru out the day
Location: good location close to town
the place is very basic but if you upgrade to the superior room you will get a nice big room with a fridge and ocean view. we had a few maintenance issues but they were taken care of fairly quickly. we had a good time and worth the stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

Great Location and wonderful price!!

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Pros: Location and price!
Cons: Hot tub should be hotter. Drinking water should be in each room and a coffee maker too!
Location: This hotel is close to many great restaurants. You can snorkel and scuba dive right across the street.
We love staying at the Villa Blanca. This was our 2nd stay here. The place is clean and the grounds are well kept. Just wish the hot tub was hotter!! The location is excellent, we walked to eateries and shopping, across the street is wonderful snorkeling. We will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet well kept hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2016
It's not flashy, but it's clean and comfortable. The location is excellent, close to town but not in it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gatineau Quebec

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Location: not much to do
This hotel is a nice hotel but it is located in Progresso. Progresso is a very poor town lots of dogs, garbage and quite poor. The beach is ruff. The staff was excellent, the room very clean and big pool was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL USA

Beautiful place, close to the ocean.

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Pros: The staff is very nice. The grounds are beautiful. The proximity to the things we wanted to do was great.
Cons: The bed is so hard! So uncomfortable. :( Slept poorly.
Location: Close to scuba diving, great places to eat, shopping.
We have stayed at Villa Blanca three times. The staff is always lovely. The grounds are beautiful. The room is spacious. There was plenty of hot water for showering. The bed was so uncomfortable this time. That is the only thing that was not pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2015
I have stayed at Villablanca a couple of times before. While this review will mostly be about this trip & room S11, it's also kind of reflective of all of my visits. I'd agree that this place could be a lot better if the staff was better. It's the little details, that are usually free, that bring customers back. Just because the hotel isn't 5-Star resort it doesn't mean you can't be treated like you're at a 5-Star resort. That said, I'd still stay there again. The Bad - A/C was quite noisy. - Mini 'fridge had a loud pop when it turned on and off. - No potable water in the room, there's should have been a 5 gallon jug with a pump. I inquired at the front desk the evening of my arrival, the guy told me "he'd see if he could find one", I guess he never did. Based on other reviews, this seems to be a problem. I bought a couple of extra bottles at dinner and put them in the mini 'fridge. - Phone system trouble, no fun when your phone rings at 4 AM for no reason. Front desk told me to unplug it.