Ratings based on 350 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Decent hotel, great location.

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Location. Staff. Water refills. Balcony.
Cons: Room updated. More soundproofing to street. More variety at breakfast.
Location: Great location. Much to do within walking distance.
Hotel room a bit shabby. Torn curtain, smell from shower. Just old. Noisy if on street side. Breakfast was strictly starch and liquids. Staff wonderful. Location right downtown. Have all the bottled water you want, a real plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Clean well kept hotel with kind and friendly staff

Posted Dec 17, 2016
I was upgraded to a larger room with outside covered balcony. Balcony was adjacent to large air conditioning units which make the area quite loud. I suspect little can be done to change this aspect. I did not pay for an oceanside view. But the room was quiet, clean, and safe. There was a small safe in the room as well as a small refrigerator. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and I would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome little gem in the middle of EVERYTHING.

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
We didn't stay long, unfortunately, because we were there for the world triathlon, but we cannot wait to go back and stay here again when we have more time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind of words , always we will try to do the best for our guest , they are like a family :) We are looking to hosting you again in a future !!! Sunny regards, Maidalid (at the front desk )
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin Tx

What a view!

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: location and friendliness of the staff.
Cons: I think the windows could be a little more noise insulating but again it wasn't that bad to keep us from going back
Location: A lot going on with restaurants and shops
Vista is right across the street from the ocean and all the activity that goes on. I would take some ear plugs next time but overall it was a very pleasant experience and we will go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Maidalid, Hotel Management
Hi Jim thank you very much for letting us , we know the ocean side it is a little beat noise , also we will try to fix , but unfortunately we are in downtown and the anticiclone cortain doesn’t help . We are really sorry for the inconvenience. We are looking to hosting you again in a future :) Regards, Maidalid (front desk)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Like going home to family every april

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: The employees .proximity to downtown.watching the cruise ships come in.Cleanliness.
Cons: Ice trays in the fridge or the availability of ice.
Location: Perfect down town location .close to the airport,Megamart,all the shops.Great people watching.New bar downstairs with good food called Mar y Juana.
Mai who runs the place is excellent.Equally helpful is Adam.Housekeeping excellent.Cute towel presentation every day.This was our third stay and we will be back.
5 out of 5
by Kathryn from Houston

Simple, clean, well located hotel on the seawall

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed at Vista del Mar several times. It is well located and clean. No frills, just simple, cost effective hotel option with wonderful views of the ocean. The service is always excellent. They stay out of your way, but are there when you need them. I always look forward to the coffee and pastries each morning. We sit on the balcony sipping coffee, looking at the water and watch the cruise ships roll in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Location a bit noisy

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Cons: Bed linens and towels were clean but very grey!!
Location: Location is central and only a couple of blocks from beautiful square and much quieter restaurants. Nice museum. Car rental for round the island.
Location a bit noisy during the day and occasionally at night but overall we enjoyed it. We had a room on the front with balcony and were able to watch cruiseships come and go. There is no beach in this area but a very nice malecon along the waterfront on the other side of road from shops all offering free gifts and the deal of a lifetime! The pool in the hotel is under repair and out of use all the time we were there. If a pool is important to you, this is not a great choice as it is a very small area..only two lounges. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly. Room was well cared for by Maria. Bottled water available every day and refills on main floor. Waterfront restaurants are a bit commercialized but we found some very good places only a couple of blocks back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elgin IL

Good location, basic no frills hotel, needs TLC

Posted Feb 26, 2016
We have stayed at Vista del Mar multiple times over the last 10 years and unfortunately the hotel is starting to show a lot of wear. Some of the nice touches such as robes in the room and water bottles replaced each day are no longer available but when we asked for some basic things to be resolved, the staff did help e.g. providing a hairdryer and some extra pillows. The room was not clean when we arrived. The bed linens had either not been changed or were really old and stained yellow with sunscreen. We noticed that it seemed better on our second day with fresh sheets, cleaner floor and surfaces. Positives: We love the location on the seafront right in town, the bed itself is comfortable and there is good water pressure. The staff are generally very friendly. Some basic maintenance, new bed linens and a fresh coat of paint would make the world of difference at this hotel. I would be less likely to recommend it to my friends and family based on the current state of maintenance but if your expectations are not super high and you want an ocean front location conveniently located in town it is a good option.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cute little boutique hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
we just had an overnight waiting for a flight but enjoyed the balcony and chairs overlooking the ocean. The unit wasn't fancy but very clean and quite large. Lots of eating and shopping steps away.
5 out of 5
by Dave from Bristol Uk

Great Stay in San Miguel

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here a lot and for a group of divers who want to be in town it's ideal. Good staff