Ratings based on 1,214 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Location

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Location and spacious rooms.
Cons: Thin walls. Need a luggage holder.
Although a bit pricey, it's in a great location in the Cradle Mountain. The room is great and has a little balcony for you to see the wildlife that come to visit. Hotel walls are a bit thin as you could hear conversations in the hall from your room. Reception staff could be a bit more engaging and interested in what they are doing. Restaurant staff seem to be mostly on working holiday - friendly but not very experienced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice hotel, good location, excellent service

Posted Feb 7, 2017
The front desk staff were excellent, very professional and helpful. Rooms were clean, relatively modern, bed was comfortable and bathroom was okay. Wallaby came straight to our balcony when we arrived which was a cute aurprise. Internal laundry was a good price. The hotel restaurant was excellent and I'd recommend the buffet. There are a few fireplaces inside which are a lovely spot to relax with a book, also nice decks with chairs to sit with a cup of tea.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel set in an idyllic location

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Location, menu, quality of food, service of receptionist
Cons: Think some of the wait staff need training on service, not sure if there us a high turnover there.
Location: Plenty of walks in a beautiful setting and seeing the Tasmanian devil's feeding at the sanctuary is a must.
Great location on Cable Mountain in one of the most surreal locations. Rooms were clean and comfortable but a bit dated. We enjoyed the food although we had issues with our meal when our order was given to someone else so we ended up waiting almost an hour. It was rectified with them taking the wine of the bill but by the time the food came out we were no longer hungry which was a shame as the flavours and quality of food were great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room is noisy, expensive, not very worthy

Posted Jan 21, 2017
I can hear showering next door, very noisy, I can't sleep well. Thinking about the price they charge, it's not worthy to stay. And they didn't respect your choice, even if you chose 2 double beds in booking, they still gave you one bed. Just can't understand why they let you choose but not follow
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Wrong guest booking info

Posted Jan 20, 2017
I booked 3 guests & requested 1 queen bed + 1 single bed for my 6 years daughter. However the staff told us there were only 2 guest booking record. & there was no other rooms. The hotel staff told us that is wrong info from expedia. Finally three of us slept in one bed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted Jan 10, 2017
The room we stayed in had very poor sound insulation and we could hear next door's babies crying and adult conversations all night long. The location was pretty good and staff were friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Good location, but too much noises

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Put quiet signs at the education room, this area is not supposed to be used as an informal social gathering or bar.
Location: Very easy to access to the information center and other facilities.
Had room 38 next to the hot water system/spa pump? Stayed for two nights, first night could not sleep at all as the noises from the ?water pump next door and a group of guests loudly chating in the education room just outside of my room. The second night waken up every hour by the noises from the hot water system/spa pump, literally the wall and bed were shaken by the vibration of the pump. Approached the front desk staff who was sympathetic, but could do nothing. This room should have never been used for guest room, but store room due to the level of noises.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely Hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Great walk around the hotel grounds and you can see wombats and wallabys!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nicely upgraded hotel.

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Wotif
Cons: Meals.
We found the hotel staff and rooms very good. However the sad lettuce with our light snack and the inedible pork belly which was like a piece of old leather at dinner was not up to the standard most people who can afford the prices would expect. Would bring our own food in future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albury

Friendly helpful staff but dated rooms

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Reception staff Cleanliness
Cons: Room and bathroom
Location: At the edge of the park. The other major hotel offered better activities nearby
Very helpful reception staff. Room was dated especially bathrooms. Overpriced for what you got. Comfy mattress and pillows.