Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire

Nice old coaching inn

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Convenient town centre location and an interesting old building
Cons: Room cleaning
Location: Interesting old town with small shops, museum and windmill (not open all year)
A coaching inn, now a hotel with a bit of character. We needed to make a sharpish turn to get into the car park; but if the coach drivers did it, you should be able to manage it with a car. A bit tight on turning and parking spaces but we managed. A friendly greeting in the bar and we were directed to reception. We enjoyed a sandwich in the bar before being shown to our room, which was comfortable and had slightly uneven floors as you might expect in an older inn. The only minor detractor was that the floor was not clean; the previous occupants had been eating Pringles I think.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Room cleanliness
Cons: none
Location: town centre
Good location and fantastic facility. Clean room. Very good modern bathroom
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gu125er

Hotel in centre of small town

Posted Nov 6, 2017
The only grumble was that there weren't a lot of eating options on the Sunday night we stayed in cranbrook. It was either a kebab shop, an Indian or eat at our hotel. The white horse might also have done food but it looked rough and empty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't pay in advance or have number 9 room

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
We were very unhappy with the George Hotel, mainly because we had Room 9 The Pewter room. The is was an extremely hot, noisy and cramped room because of being on the top of the kitchen generator. The fumes of the kitchen were in the room which also make it like a sauna, the actual room was vibrating, let alone the noise. We asked to change the room but the staff were very unhelpful said that it was not possible. This of course was because we booked on the internet and paid in full weeks before, so there was no excuse for giving us that room. We definitely got the worse room in the hotel although I believe No 10 is not much better. The condition of the bathroom was tacky even though it was new. The decoration of the room was good and so was the breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Helpfulness

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: The welcome. The food.
Cons: A little light near the back door to the car park would be helpful when it's dark and no staff on duty. But this did not take our enjoyment of the hot
Location: Good location for visiting Beniden hospital
We had an unexpected emergency. The staff who were on duty acted well beyond our expectations,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cosy friendly and a great team of people there.

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: The staff, location and its charm.
Cons: Nothing, other then I hope he staff get the recognition they deserve.
Location: Location great, nice shops along the high street, beautiful countryside around and tourist locations like Leeds castle.
We went to the hotel under difficult circumstances and were overwhelmed by the staff at the pub. Friendly, kind and could not help you enough. Fraser the manager has a slick run ship, supported by a wonderful team. Caroline in particular was just outstanding. She is a credit to the company. So much so that we have also booked to stay there New Year's Eve to lap up the atmosphere again. The team at a joy to be around and the staff are people who have that extra thing that you can't train it's a natural warmth and kindness that only certain people possess. I can not recommend this place enough, for a coffee, lunch, glass of wine or a sleep over its worth it's weight in gold.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel staff lovely but restaurant disappointing so much not available on the menu. Like many have said before room right next to the kitchen extractor fans ...so noisy
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Bed Bugs

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Staff was friendly and breakfast was great.
Cons: Please take complaints seriously and hire a professional to get rid of the bed bugs. This is a matter of health for many people who have allergies.
Location: We had a rental car so we did visit many places. Loved Dover Cliff and if you have chance visit Dover Castle.
Travelled from Canada. Stayed at the from July 11-13, 2017. Booked two rooms as we are a family of four. We had room 11 and 12. My daughter and I stayed in Room 12. Asking for a refund for the three nights in room 12. First night a couple of bites on the leg and I thought it was mosquito bites (the Hotel keeps all the window and doors open throughout the day and night). Second more bites on the leg. On the way to London covered in bites (arms, legs and back) and since I am allergic, I was swollen. As for my daughter her bites did not affect her as much. I have sent a text to the hotel. Expedia has contacted the hotel numerous times asking for a refund on my behalf. My last remaining 4 nights in London was ruined - doing more Laundry and seeing a Chemist to get medication and creams. It seems health is not important to this hotel. Do not stay at this hotel and it was rated high on the website.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

lovely old hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: felt relaxed & comfortable
Cons: bigger menu choice
Location: just down the road from Sissinghurst Castle. Also close by is Batemans at Burwash, home of Rudyard Kipling.
very welcoming. Very friendly. Lovely old room. Just what we wanted
5 out of 5
by caroline

Great find

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
The only thing I would complain about is the size of the meal, I only eat around a cup of food so my husband and I share a meal the meal I had on my own was just enough to feed me and it was not worth the price I paid for it, but other wise the room was fantastic for being a 1300 inn well worth a stay