Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

The lovely George Hotel.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Loved the bed, the people and the food.
Cons: A bit more information about local travel would be handy, eg bus timetables & maps
Location: Beautiful location in the Garden of England. Hotel is prominent in centre of town easy access to shops and restaurants.
We loved the George, it had heaps of character, bed was comfy and there was a bath which was so relaxing. Excellent position in Cranbrook and close to buses. Breakfasts were delicious with lots of choice. Food in the restaurant was great too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Hotel, is easy to find and has off road parking available. Friendly atmosphere and comfortable rooms. WiFi is through Cloud so if required be prepared to receive marketing information.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay spoilt by noisy drinkers

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
The George is a lovely property, with good dining for dinner and breakfast. What spoilt our stay (on a Wednesday night) was bad luck in having a room directly over the outside bar area on the ground floor. A noisy group continued to make a racket until well after 11.30pm, despite our calls to reception to seek their intervention to quell the din. By all means closely consider a stay there, but seek a room that is not sensitive to the noise of drinkers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Camberley

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable hotel with lots of character.
Location: Very central for National Trust properties in the area.
Very friendly staff. Food excellent. Very comfortable room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Salisbury, Wiltshire

Sissinghurst visit

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The staff were very friendly and keen to help. The room was extremely spacious and comfortable.
Cons: The hot water system and supply to the bathroom was faulty. We were told that this was partly due to the age of the building, which was no doubt true.
Location: Our visit was primarily to see the gardens of Sissinghurst. No doubt there were other things in this locality.
Parking was provided at the back of the hotel with a limited number of spaces. Our room was upgraded at no extra cost, however there was a problem with the hot water supply in the bathroom. We had to boil a kettle to wash properly. The staff were very apologetic and gave us our evening meal for free as compensation. Very good. We would certainly consider staying again as the location was ideal for a visit to Sissinghurst Gardens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2016
We booked this hotel because we were visiting Sissinghurst and Great Dixter and it was within easy driving distance of both. Book in was no problem. Staff were very friendly. The room was clean and comfortable and well appointed. The food was a highlight. The bar and restaurant menu had a good range and our experience (we stayed two nights) was that it was consistently good quality. Breakfasts were also well cooked and provided a lot of choice. All in all a lovely stay and if we are ever in the area again we will definitely re book!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Food good. Staff friendly and efficient. Room comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Ian from Hockley

Great Hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel, made to feel very welcome by the staff, room was very clean and quite, bar area very nice, first class breakfast. Cranbrook nice village but not many restaurants or pubs if that's your thing. Went mountain biking at Bedgebury during the day so perfect location for that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good for Sissinghurst

Posted May 4, 2016
Excellent food and most pleasant and helpful staff