Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Kent

Our stay at the George Hotel.

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Location: The hotel is in the town and there are some nice shops and cafes. Hawkhurst and Sissinghurst Castle are nearby and Hastings is only a short drive.
We had never stayed at this hotel before and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel itself is an interesting building and I believe it was built in the 1300's. We stayed in a spa room- room 3 - and the room itself was beamed, well decorated and very clean. The spa bathroom was large and spotlessly clean. We both enjoyed the spa. We booked the a la carte restaurant for our dinner, as against the brasserie menu ( in the bar area) and the food and service were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Overall a very enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by LESLEY from Bristol

Beautiful Kent Hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
friendly, helpful staff. Cosy atmosphere in reception/lounge. Plan to go back one day soon as hotel was everything we had wished for and more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Miss S A C from London

Absolutely lovely place

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
An absolutely charming place. So much character and a very comfortable room. The place has so much history and character (and one of the most impressive staircases I have ever seen). I have multiple food intolerances and was able to have a meal made for me in the restaurant which they handled brilliantly. Their breakfast menu looked very impressive as well. The town is so cute and the hotel fits right in. It was very clean and loved the unique but charming way they'd decorated the room (no bog standard hotel interior). The only thing that could be improved would be to put in a small shelf in the bathroom, as there was nowhere to put your toiletries. Would definitely recommend to any of my friends to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Warwickshire

Ideal for people who like to visit gardens

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Helpful, courteous staff. Good choice of breakfasts. Nice restaurant and a fair range of meals available.
Cons: Car parking facilities.
Location: Lots of places of interest, National Trust properties, gardens, the coast.
Easy reach to many places of interest, National Trust properties,gardens, the coast. Very few places in the town to eat though. The hotel food was good, but quite expensive. Pub across the road OK for drinking. Indian restaurant OK. Would have to drive out really to get a good quality meal if not eating at hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colchester

Short stay in Kent

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Very friendly hotel. Excellent welcome, nice room, delicious dinner and good breakfast. Convenient for local sights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mary from Godmanchester

Enjoyable stay

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Food very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Bente from Svendborg, DK Denmark

Godt hotel for udgangspunkt til havebesøg

Posted Aug 8, 2015 on Hotels
personalet var meget venlig og imødekommende. Smukt gammelt hotel med god atmosfære. Nemt at komme til i bil. Gode parkeringsforhold. Det kan varmt anbefales.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lynda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

A gathering of 10 cousins

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: half timber rooms at rear, grand Georgian ones at front.
Cons: Curtains looked slightly stained by rain?
Location: Centre of small town, shops, windmill, church. Very pretty lots of character.
I stayed here because of a family reunion. Attractive central location.