Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from coulsdon

Lovely spa

Posted Feb 10, 2018
Pros: Nice atmosphere
Cons: Steaks
Friendly staff evening meal a little disappointing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Good spa and facilities

Posted Feb 8, 2018
No room upgrade although many rooms empty. Alan and Annabelle give excellent classes. Good overpriced go to Tulleys farm for lunch
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Very British luxury

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Lovely hotel set near a village. Spa is massive can get a bit busy - go early. Rooms are modern and well appointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by thin, Hotel Management
Thank you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, But let down by Lift

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Personal Service
Cons: Lift!!!
Great Hotel and room experience and we really enjoyed it, loved the spa experiece. and the food in the restaurant was certainly good for purpose (if not amazing). Had a great stay x
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing room and over-crowded spa

Posted Nov 6, 2017 on Hotels
The room up in the eves was disappointing and in need of updating - the stair carpet up to the room was in need of replacement. Not what you expect for a five star hotel. The most disappointing element was the spa, which was overcrowded, with nowhere to sit. You had to pounce on any space you spotted in the hot tub and sauna. Not the relaxing stay we (and others we spoke with) had hoped for. Especially not for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leicestershire

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: The gardens looked lovely
Cons: QRoom okay apart from tatty carpet that the bed rested on ,dangerous as the underlay was sticking out all round.A real trip hazard.
We had a very poor experience when booking in from the manager on duty that evening.Which soured the experience .He reguested we pay a further. £200 on top of what was agreed with Expedia.He wanted us to stay the night in a "cozy attic room, but that our dogs which were discussed on booking,to stay in the car I don't think so.qwe eventually came to an agreement ,by which time I wanted to go home .we had room service which was duly served ,with no cutlery.we were really looking forward to staying but we're bitterly dissapointed.A mistake not to be repeated .The initial price the manager requested was more than we paid to stay at the Ritz.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Not A 5 Star Hotel !!

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Dirty and old spa !! Smelly pools half empty very dirty. Poor breakfast staff not profession. Great sorroundings I won’t come back ! Rooms are ok !
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight only

Posted Oct 27, 2017
I have been in many hotels which I thought were disappointing but this one takes the prize. The room was tiny tucked away at the top of the house - we had trouble finding it. Arrived 9pm so too late for anything to eat except room service. We had a very average but nonetheless expensive snack in this tiny attic room which then smelled of food!
5 out of 5
by Mark

Outstanding Hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2017 on Hotels
Fabulous hotel, amazing facilities, wonderful staff and great location. Just superb!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Felt conned by the room advertised

Posted Oct 18, 2017
I have just returned from my visit to Alexander Hotel. Let me start with the positives, the staff were lovely, the Spa and pool facilities were all clean and beautiful. I also had a wonderful massage that was relaxing. However the room advertised made no mention of the fact it is an attic Room and the picture attached shows a regular room. In reality every time I walked around the bed I needed to bend down or risk bashing my head. The bathroom is extremely old and it took 15 minutes for the water to warm up which I feel is unacceptable for a five star hotel. Feel Really let down especially as when I checked in they mentioned that the hotel was not full at all, I would have expected a normal room.