Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Felt conned by the room advertised

Posted Oct 18, 2017
I have just returned from my visit to Alexander Hotel. Let me start with the positives, the staff were lovely, the Spa and pool facilities were all clean and beautiful. I also had a wonderful massage that was relaxing. However the room advertised made no mention of the fact it is an attic Room and the picture attached shows a regular room. In reality every time I walked around the bed I needed to bend down or risk bashing my head. The bathroom is extremely old and it took 15 minutes for the water to warm up which I feel is unacceptable for a five star hotel. Feel Really let down especially as when I checked in they mentioned that the hotel was not full at all, I would have expected a normal room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely hotel and grounds with fantastic spa

Posted Aug 29, 2017
The room we were allocated had a very low ceiling and was extremely warm. We were given 2 fans to try to cool the room but it didn't make much difference so made for an uncomfortable night's sleep
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lONDON

Fantastic

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: Nothing
AMAZING... slightly pricey for us but well worth it. I lost my ray-bans at the hotel and they were never handed in :(
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey

Disappointing

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Good sized rooms very clean Fantastic bathroom and best shower ever. Extremely comfortable beds and lovely bedding Beautiful setting excellent food
Cons: Check in process and timings. Some staff need customer service training Manager should welcome parties for functions and make feel valued
Location: Beautiful gardens and grounds We stayed only at the hotel
We had 9 rooms booked in total and were staying for a private dinner at the hotel that evening for 30 people. My booking through Expedia could not be found for 45 very anxious minutes. Not good enough when you are paying over £350 for a room. No check in until 3pm, unless you pay for early checkin. The hotel had run out of 3 types of champagne (wanted 5 bottles for a toast) They expected a dinner in a private room starting at 7 30 to have been finished by 10pm, although they did allow us to stay later. My room had broken lamp balanced against a wall, broken iron, no mirror in the room for hair or makeup, and gripper rod pins sticking up through carpet. Slow and awkward reception system
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london.

Nice hotel in beautiful countryside.

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Great hotel, good atmosphere. Nice Spa and very friendly staff. Even went for a nice walk in the country from the hotel. Highly recommend it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Ebookers
Terrible management and rude staff! Very uncomfortable bed. I needed room service one night but nobody replied my call. Certainly not a 5 star hotel!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel and staff. Slightly let down by the spa treatment. Advertised as an hour, lasted 30 minutes. When we asked why the response was 'because the person doing it is quick' which was slightly odd. Sent an email post the visit, pending a response. Hotel itself is lovely, good staff, lovely grounds etc.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was lovely, only negative would be that the shower in our room barely got warm. This was in the Windsor room
5 out of 5
by Jack

Amazing

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing service yet again. Only mentioned in passing it was the night before we flew off on honeymoon and we got back to our room and the bed was decorated with petals and candles around the room. Small attention to detail meant so much. Food is amazing as are the cocktails.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Posted Jun 3, 2017
A wonderful place for rest and relaxation. Amazing spa that wasn't overly busy. A little piece of paradise.